Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#3545868 - 03/27/12 09:37 AM Lift theory. Were we wrong all along???  
AD Offline
Hotshot
AD  Offline
Hotshot

South East Asia
This may not be news to some of the rivet counters that inhabit these parts, but apparently the generally accepted theory of lift (using the bernoulli principle) is a complete fallacy.

Don't take my word for it. NASA says so.

http://www.grc.nasa.gov/WWW/K-12/airplane/wrong1.html

As I (don't) understand things, it seems that flow turning (is this the same as the coanda effect??) is now considered the accepted theory for how an aerodynamic surface creates lift. Or is NASA going crackers? As a teacher I HATE teaching the wrong thing, and teaching my students the various theories is out of the question.

Cheers

Judge, jury and executioner of Tricubic's art department.

Follow Combat Helo's development on Facebook
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#3545873 - 03/27/12 10:17 AM Re: Lift theory. Were we wrong all along??? [Re: AD]  
Speedo Offline
Hotshot
Speedo  Offline
Hotshot

NC USA
I don't think they're saying that Bernoulli's principle is wrong. Really all Bernoulli's principle says is that increasing the speed of a fluid decrease's its pressure.

I read it as taking issue with texts that claim airfoils generate lift by having the top surface longer than the bottom surface. They're pointing out symmetrical airfoils (same length top and bottom) can generate lift as well as designs where the bottom surface is longer.

Of course, I'm still half asleep right now, so I could be misreading something. reading

#3545875 - 03/27/12 10:23 AM Re: Lift theory. Were we wrong all along??? [Re: AD]  
AD Offline
Hotshot
AD  Offline
Hotshot

South East Asia