Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#3525203 - 02/24/12 10:39 AM Reflections on Multi-player  
Bandy Offline
Bandy  Offline

Wishing I was in the La Cloche
Well I finally took the MP plunge and have zero regrets, but on reflection some concerns. What is on your 'pro and con' list for multiplayer?

Pros:
1) Unrivaled jaw dropping, adrenalin pumping, A2A combat with real people! thumbsup
2) In most cases a good selection of buses and crates.
3) Dozens of servers to choose from.

Cons:
1) Some of those 'real' people! There are b@stards everywhere pitchafit , and we will always have to put up with them.
2) When the server rotates, or you change servers, you might have to change your bus/crate, which can be a big adjustment that can embarrass you rolleyes
3) Nobody on 95% of the dozens of servers... WTF?
4) My hand turns into a claw (a la George Costanza) after a mighty session...
5) Occasional disconnects, but I'm a newbie, so not sure if this is sampling bias from my few experiences.

I'm sure I'll add to my list as I reflect more, and get back to more MP. See you in the sky, hopefully before you see me!

4x2.66 GHz Xeons, XFX 4870 1 GB, 11 GB DDR2 RAM, Win7 Pro x64, 120 GB OCZ Vertex2 (MLC, Sandforce)
26" VIZIO 1920x1200, Logitech FF 3D Pro, CH pedals, Track IR4
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#3525205 - 02/24/12 11:03 AM Re: Reflections on Multi-player [Re: Bandy]  
redpiano Offline
redpiano  Offline

CONS

1. Low level dogfights/recon planes/bombers

2. Use of comms, teamspeak/ventrilo

3. Inconvenient, like you said nobody is online in 95% of the servers.

4. Constant disconnects, happens to everyone it's a ROF thing, apparently ROF.exe crashes are also common in MP.

PROS

1. Real people pose a better challenge, human error and cooperation using real combat tactics.

2. More excitement and feeling of fear when you're at risk of being shot down.