Forums » Air Combat & Civil Aviation » EECH / EEAH » Thinking about getting back EEAH after many years Active Topics You are not logged in. [Log In] [Register User]
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
Hop to:
#3523408 - 02/21/12 10:14 AM Thinking about getting back EEAH after many years
Genbrien Offline
Stick to the plan man!
Member

Registered: 05/01/09
Posts: 1168
Loc: Quebec, Canada
Hi

I just(I know it's a bit late rolleyes) saw EEAH on GoG, and it's bringing back so much memories.

I tought about buying it back but I have some questions;

1- is it possible to run EEAH combine with EECH ?
2- how should i proceed for the installation/patching/modding ?
3- does it run well on win7?
4- back in time my rudder was my twisting stick. Now that I have a Saytek rudder, does it works well with HOTAS+rudder?
5- I don't remember well how ''simulation'' it was. How is it, let say, compare to DCS BS2?

Thx
_________________________
XBL/PSN/others: genbrien
Mobo: Asus P8P67 deluxe Monitor: Lg 22'' 1920*1080
CPU: i7 2600k@ 4.8Ghz Keyboard: Logitech G15
GPU:AMD R9-290Mouse: Sidewinder X8
PSU: Corsair TX750w Gaming Devices: Saytek X52, TrackIr5
RAM: Mushkin 2x4gb ddr2 9-9-9-24 @1600mhz
Case: Cooler Master 690 SSD: Intel X25m 80gb

Top
#3523450 - 02/21/12 11:17 AM Re: Thinking about getting back EEAH after many years [Re: Genbrien]
messyhead Offline
Member

Registered: 12/16/10
Posts: 639
Originally Posted By: Genbrien
Hi

I just(I know it's a bit late rolleyes) saw EEAH on GoG, and it's bringing back so much memories.

I tought about buying it back but I have some questions;

1- is it possible to run EEAH combine with EECH ?
2- how should i proceed for the installation/patching/modding ?
3- does it run well on win7?
4- back in time my rudder was my twisting stick. Now that I have a Saytek rudder, does it works well with HOTAS+rudder?
5- I don't remember well how ''simulation'' it was. How is it, let say, compare to DCS BS2?

Thx


You should get back into it. I did last year, and forgot how much I liked it. To answer your points;

1- is it possible to run EEAH combine with EECH ?

Yes. Although the only real benefit (after installing the latest patch) is working dials for the Havoc and Apache A. A 3D cockpit for the Longbow Apache was added in 1.13. So I would suggest just getting EECH. Although if you want all the dials for the Havoc, then you'll need EEAH - although I think Soczien is working on a cockpit for the Havoc (correct me if I'm wrong)

2- how should i proceed for the installation/patching/modding ?

There's a guide here - http://simhq.com/forum/ubbthreads.php/topics/3420872/1_14_0_is_out.html#Post3420872

3- does it run well on win7?

Some problems have been reported. I've not tried it myself, but there are quite a few threads on the forums about running it on Win7. Have a read of those before deciding.

4- back in time my rudder was my twisting stick. Now that I have a Saytek rudder, does it works well with HOTAS+rudder?

Again, not tried this. But there was a recent thread here http://simhq.com/forum/ubbthreads.php/topics/3497598/Warthog_HOTAS_in_EECH.html#Post3497598

5- I don't remember well how ''simulation'' it was. How is it, let say, compare to DCS BS2?

It's probably gotten a lot better since you played the original as the excellent community developers have done numerous tweaks to flight models and dynamics. It might not compare to something as modern as DCS:BS2, but it's still pretty good for it's age and still very enjoyable. For example, the manual startup on some of the helo's adds an extra realism element that wasn't in the original.

Top
#3523499 - 02/21/12 12:14 PM Re: Thinking about getting back EEAH after many years [Re: Genbrien]
Genbrien Offline
Stick to the plan man!
Member

Registered: 05/01/09
Posts: 1168
Loc: Quebec, Canada
nice thx alot. Will buy EECH to start. thumbsup
_________________________
XBL/PSN/others: genbrien
Mobo: Asus P8P67 deluxe Monitor: Lg 22'' 1920*1080
CPU: i7 2600k@ 4.8Ghz Keyboard: Logitech G15
GPU:AMD R9-290Mouse: Sidewinder X8
PSU: Corsair TX750w Gaming Devices: Saytek X52, TrackIr5
RAM: Mushkin 2x4gb ddr2 9-9-9-24 @1600mhz
Case: Cooler Master 690 SSD: Intel X25m 80gb

Top
#3523810 - 02/21/12 07:57 PM Re: Thinking about getting back EEAH after many years [Re: Genbrien]
Genbrien Offline
Stick to the plan man!
Member

Registered: 05/01/09
Posts: 1168
Loc: Quebec, Canada
just bought EECH

LOLL @ the game is 180mb but mods are 6x bigger(still downloading) santa
can't wait to launch the game, thx for your help again
_________________________
XBL/PSN/others: genbrien
Mobo: Asus P8P67 deluxe Monitor: Lg 22'' 1920*1080
CPU: i7 2600k@ 4.8Ghz Keyboard: Logitech G15
GPU:AMD R9-290Mouse: Sidewinder X8
PSU: Corsair TX750w Gaming Devices: Saytek X52, TrackIr5
RAM: Mushkin 2x4gb ddr2 9-9-9-24 @1600mhz
Case: Cooler Master 690 SSD: Intel X25m 80gb

Top
#3523833 - 02/21/12 08:40 PM Re: Thinking about getting back EEAH after many years [Re: Genbrien]
HerrKaputt Offline
Member

Registered: 04/13/10
Posts: 102
Originally Posted By: Genbrien
Hi

I just(I know it's a bit late rolleyes) saw EEAH on GoG, and it's bringing back so much memories.

I tought about buying it back but I have some questions;

1- is it possible to run EEAH combine with EECH ?
2- how should i proceed for the installation/patching/modding ?
3- does it run well on win7?
4- back in time my rudder was my twisting stick. Now that I have a Saytek rudder, does it works well with HOTAS+rudder?
5- I don't remember well how ''simulation'' it was. How is it, let say, compare to DCS BS2?

Thx


My own answers:

1) Yes.
2) Follow the link given above.
3) For me, yes. It runs both on my laptop and on my desktop. Both have Win 7 64-bit. No performance issues, instability, or any problem whatsoever.
4) Can't tell, I still use a twisting stick.
5) From what I've seen from DCS:

DCS beats EEAH/EECH on realism regarding your helicopter (avionics, flight model, damage model, etc). The modders have made considerable improvements to these aspects, so the difference isn't that great, but there is a difference.
EEAH/EECH beats DCS on fun, for two reasons: it has a dynamic campaign (DCS has pre-made missions only) and there are multiple helicopters to choose from.

Top
#3523857 - 02/21/12 09:20 PM Re: Thinking about getting back EEAH after many years [Re: Genbrien]
Genbrien Offline
Stick to the plan man!
Member

Registered: 05/01/09
Posts: 1168
Loc: Quebec, Canada
I just finished downloading and installing all. Was able to start and play but I have a problem with my joystick. I seem to be able to assign the correct axis but ingame nothing happens
_________________________
XBL/PSN/others: genbrien
Mobo: Asus P8P67 deluxe Monitor: Lg 22'' 1920*1080
CPU: i7 2600k@ 4.8Ghz Keyboard: Logitech G15
GPU:AMD R9-290Mouse: Sidewinder X8
PSU: Corsair TX750w Gaming Devices: Saytek X52, TrackIr5
RAM: Mushkin 2x4gb ddr2 9-9-9-24 @1600mhz
Case: Cooler Master 690 SSD: Intel X25m 80gb

Top
#3523964 - 02/22/12 03:21 AM Re: Thinking about getting back EEAH after many years [Re: Genbrien]
messyhead Offline
Member

Registered: 12/16/10
Posts: 639
Originally Posted By: Genbrien
I just finished downloading and installing all. Was able to start and play but I have a problem with my joystick. I seem to be able to assign the correct axis but ingame nothing happens


Have you gone in to the options in game and changed the various axis there?

Top
#3524032 - 02/22/12 08:10 AM Re: Thinking about getting back EEAH after many years [Re: messyhead]
Genbrien Offline
Stick to the plan man!
Member

Registered: 05/01/09
Posts: 1168
Loc: Quebec, Canada
Originally Posted By: messyhead
Originally Posted By: Genbrien
I just finished downloading and installing all. Was able to start and play but I have a problem with my joystick. I seem to be able to assign the correct axis but ingame nothing happens


Have you gone in to the options in game and changed the various axis there?


yes, that's what I meant by ''able to assign the correct axis''
sorry if it was not clear sigh
_________________________
XBL/PSN/others: genbrien
Mobo: Asus P8P67 deluxe Monitor: Lg 22'' 1920*1080
CPU: i7 2600k@ 4.8Ghz Keyboard: Logitech G15
GPU:AMD R9-290Mouse: Sidewinder X8
PSU: Corsair TX750w Gaming Devices: Saytek X52, TrackIr5
RAM: Mushkin 2x4gb ddr2 9-9-9-24 @1600mhz
Case: Cooler Master 690 SSD: Intel X25m 80gb

Top
#3524080 - 02/22/12 09:54 AM Re: Thinking about getting back EEAH after many years [Re: Genbrien]
jskibo Offline
Member

Registered: 05/30/09
Posts: 177
Loc: Grand Rapids, MI
Just bought a copy for $5 off ebay, looking forward to trying this game again.

Anyone know if it works with a triple screen setup? (5760 x 1080)

Top
#3524104 - 02/22/12 10:19 AM Re: Thinking about getting back EEAH after many years [Re: jskibo]
arneh Offline
Member

Registered: 06/18/06
Posts: 2278
Loc: Oslo, Norway
Originally Posted By: jskibo
Anyone know if it works with a triple screen setup? (5760 x 1080)


It doesn't. It uses directx7 which only supports resolutions up to 2048 in any direction.

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
Hop to:

Moderator:  RacerGT 
 
Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
20 of the Bravest Military Dogs in History
by Linebacker
Yesterday at 08:01 PM
SonyGate should be a movie
by Blade_RJ
Yesterday at 07:03 PM
DayZ Ddos attack
by Stormtrooper
Yesterday at 04:47 PM
The dominat life forms in the Universe are...
by Desert Eagle
Yesterday at 03:01 PM
Post Modern Jukebox
by Jedi Master
Yesterday at 11:52 AM
Aircrew doing their utmost
by FlatSpinMan
Yesterday at 10:28 AM
Any Runners Here?
by Weasel_Keeper
Yesterday at 07:13 AM
Walter Is At It Again
by Haggart
12/18/14 10:20 PM
Hide your wallets..Steam Holiday Sale is on
by Executed
12/18/14 07:06 PM
New American Sniper Trailer
by bonchie
12/18/14 05:58 PM
 

Forum Use Agreement | Privacy Statement
Copyright 1997-2014, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.