Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#3523344 - 02/21/12 01:25 PM RoF benefit from more video RAM???  
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,256
Bandy Offline
Member
Bandy  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,256
Wishing I was in the La Cloche
Hello, hopefully a quick question...

Looking to order a new system and picking out the GPU. Is choosing more video RAM a benefit in the long run with RoF?
The video RAM is for handling textures etc right? Or is it for more screen realestate? I have a 26" 1920 x 1200, and won't be upgrading monitor any time soon unfortunately...

So, if I go with a GTX 560 2 GB card now will I be using the 2 GB?? I figure on doubling up with SLI down the road when the price comes down on the same card.

Or should I just go for a speedier card now, though already pushing my budget? The specs on a GTX 560 Ti do not seem to be all that different: core clock is 810 versus 822, and shader clock 1620 vs 1644, all else is the same... GTX 570 is $150 dollars more... too much frown .

Good advice sincerely appreciated!

EDIT: intersting take on 560 vs. 560 Ti

Last edited by Bandy; 02/21/12 02:02 PM.

4x2.66 GHz Xeons, XFX 4870 1 GB, 11 GB DDR2 RAM, Win7 Pro x64, 120 GB OCZ Vertex2 (MLC, Sandforce)
26" VIZIO 1920x1200, Logitech FF 3D Pro, CH pedals, Track IR4
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#3523390 - 02/21/12 02:50 PM Re: RoF benefit from more video RAM??? [Re: Bandy]  
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 154
no105_mfu Offline
Member
no105_mfu  Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 154
Dover, New Hampshire
I can't really speak to performance, since my current computer is an entirely new build but, on my old computer, with 2 1 GB GTX 280s in SLI, I could not max out the video settings in RoF without using 100%+ of my VRAM (I think 103% to be exact). The game wasn't playable at those settings but, other factors were certainly involved. As has been mentioned elsewhere, a game is only going to see the VRAM of one card in SLI (I either didn't catch the explanation for this or couldn't follow it but, this seems to reflect my experience). Now I'm running a GTX 580 with a 3 GB frame buffer. With everything maxed out I'm only utilizing 37% of my VRAM. That has to help.


Moderated by  Avimimus, RacerGT, Wklink 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
A problem with your pheune?
by Li'lJugs. 06/23/17 07:20 PM
Your favorite "weird" movies?
by PanzerMeyer. 06/23/17 07:10 PM
Thunderbirds mishap
by DaBBQ. 06/23/17 06:07 PM
Am I stupid but...,
by Sluggish Controls. 06/23/17 04:40 PM
Political summit
by DaBBQ. 06/22/17 10:51 PM
Ghost Goose
by Jayhawk. 06/22/17 09:20 PM
Steam Summer Sale
by Bib4Tuna. 06/22/17 05:10 PM
Got to drive one of my dream cars today
by semmern. 06/22/17 03:44 PM
Canadian JTF2 sniper kills ISIS fighter 2 miles away
by WangoTango. 06/22/17 03:27 PM
When John Wick plays NERF
by Bill_Grant. 06/22/17 01:40 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0