Forums » SimHQ Community » Event Photography & Video » GoPro HD Hero2 Active Topics You are not logged in. [Log In] [Register User]
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
Hop to:
#3516174 - 02/10/12 09:29 PM GoPro HD Hero2
Sluggish Controls Offline
Member

Registered: 06/21/05
Posts: 1312
Loc: Hong Kong
As any simHQer got one?
http://gopro.com/

I may need a couple of those for some upcoming video projects produced in-house for a Client.
Shopping for a rugged and portable hd cam, able to withstand a beating, and yet able to deliver real crisp footages for an action-packed fashion-shoot. The Hero2 could be it, no?
Looks like a great little piece of equipment at a very reasonable price tag.

Yes,no? Any other suggestions?
Appreciated

Cheers,
Slug
_________________________
"Major Burns isn't saying much of anything, Sir. I think he's formulating the answer..." - Radar - M*A*S*H

Top
#3516276 - 02/11/12 02:04 AM Re: GoPro HD Hero2 [Re: Sluggish Controls]
BeachAV8R Online   cool
Lifer

Registered: 01/22/01
Posts: 23920
Loc: KCLT
Yeah..I've got one. I've only used it to record some fly fishing and some flying I've done. Can't wait to mount it to my windsurfer this spring.. It is simple, durable (so far as I can tell) and the video quality is great.

I mean..check out the video quality.. wink



thumbsup

BeachAV8R
_________________________
Subscribe to PC Pilot! - I write for them!

Top
#3516292 - 02/11/12 02:43 AM Re: GoPro HD Hero2 [Re: Sluggish Controls]
Magnum Offline
Lifer

Registered: 01/27/03
Posts: 27383
Loc: Naples, Florida
got 1 for training.
_________________________
Magnum

"Waiting for SimHQ.com"



Top
#3516447 - 02/11/12 10:46 AM Re: GoPro HD Hero2 [Re: Sluggish Controls]
Dervish Offline
Hotshot

Registered: 10/24/99
Posts: 9947
Why didn't they just put the camera in the changing room?
_________________________
FTX Global

Top
#3516495 - 02/11/12 12:14 PM Re: GoPro HD Hero2 [Re: Sluggish Controls]
Coutie Offline
Member

Registered: 07/14/06
Posts: 941
Loc: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
I have the hd hero 1, but it's pretty good. I've had it fall off of my dirt bike(twice) while I was going pretty fast and it was fine. It's not very good in low light though. The mic is pretty bad, but I think the hero2 has a mic input.


Top
#3516517 - 02/11/12 01:04 PM Re: GoPro HD Hero2 [Re: Sluggish Controls]
JAMF Offline
Frugalite & P-38 fan
Senior Member

Registered: 05/29/10
Posts: 3809
Loc: The Netherlands
I wonder how it compares to the similar speced model of ContourHD cameras, from VholdR?

Top
#3518433 - 02/14/12 11:16 AM Re: GoPro HD Hero2 [Re: Sluggish Controls]
EagleEye[GER] Offline
Member

Registered: 09/27/06
Posts: 1061
Loc: Germany
I chosed Drift Innovations HD 170 (not that new model Stealth) back then, because it have a external mic input, the linse can be rotated and it have a remote controler. And it was quite cheaper than the GoPro. I may would chose the new GoPro2 now.
Some videos I made with the Drift (flying the Robinson R22)(check HD options)(Quality is a little bit better without YT compression):



EDIT:
Drift contra: Poor in low light conditions (inhouse, living rooms). (There is a night mode, never tested it though.)


Edited by EagleEye[GER] (02/14/12 11:26 AM)
_________________________
Love flying DCS Copter`s!

IntelC2Q9650|AsusP5QSE|4GB RAM|ZOTAC GTX570|Win7 64bit|TrackIR5|TM HOTAS Warthog (04671)/Saitek Pro Pedals

Top
#3522835 - 02/20/12 01:27 PM Re: GoPro HD Hero2 [Re: Sluggish Controls]
RCAF Arrow Offline
Member

Registered: 03/30/02
Posts: 1384
Loc: some star trek town. CANADA!
been thinking of getting one and putting it on my semi when i go though the mountians.
_________________________
Arrow Photographics. since 2003.

Top
#3524001 - 02/22/12 05:41 AM Re: GoPro HD Hero2 [Re: Sluggish Controls]
Sluggish Controls Offline
Member

Registered: 06/21/05
Posts: 1312
Loc: Hong Kong
Finally bought 4 of them, all OUTDOOR version. Haven't tested them yet.
Will have some snowboarding and paragliding in the film, should be good.

Cheers & thx All,
Slug
_________________________
"Major Burns isn't saying much of anything, Sir. I think he's formulating the answer..." - Radar - M*A*S*H

Top
#3534453 - 03/07/12 05:30 PM Re: GoPro HD Hero2 [Re: Sluggish Controls]
specialksl Offline
Member

Registered: 10/15/99
Posts: 986
Loc: Baltimore, MD USA
Fely like I was flying in MS Flight with Track IR ENABLED!
_________________________
ASUS P8Z77 - Intel I7 3770K OC to 4.4GHZ - Thermaltake Water2.0 Pro
EVGA GTX 770 Classified with 4GB
16 Gig G.Skill Ares DDR3
Intel 520 Series SSD 180GB
Plenty of storage
Windows 7 64bit
Thrustmaster Warthog - Saitek Combat Rudder Pedals

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
Hop to:

Moderator:  EinsteinEP, RacerGT 
 
Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Avro Lancaster Pair
by Mauld
02:04 AM
Lock on gold disc in windows 7
by tmdgm
12:22 AM
Getting back into IL2
by tmdgm
12:18 AM
Elite: Dangerous (v2.02)
by Brennus
11:40 PM
Really? Should have called me
by Timothy
11:26 PM
FH2 intense Rally Race (video)
by Magnum
08:19 PM
computer not playing 1080 video properly
by peppergomez
08:13 PM
FS: Fanatec CS Steering Wheel Round1
by Patrocles
06:57 PM
FC3 Training Missions Question
by Bucksnort
06:17 PM
Visually Stunning, Norway in 4k
by JimK
06:01 PM
 

Forum Use Agreement | Privacy Statement
Copyright 1997-2014, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.