Forums » SimHQ Community » Event Photography & Video » GoPro HD Hero2 Active Topics You are not logged in. [Log In] [Register User]
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
Hop to:
#3516174 - 02/10/12 09:29 PM GoPro HD Hero2
Sluggish Controls Offline
Member

Registered: 06/21/05
Posts: 1649
Loc: Hong Kong
As any simHQer got one?
http://gopro.com/

I may need a couple of those for some upcoming video projects produced in-house for a Client.
Shopping for a rugged and portable hd cam, able to withstand a beating, and yet able to deliver real crisp footages for an action-packed fashion-shoot. The Hero2 could be it, no?
Looks like a great little piece of equipment at a very reasonable price tag.

Yes,no? Any other suggestions?
Appreciated

Cheers,
Slug
_________________________
"Major Burns isn't saying much of anything, Sir. I think he's formulating the answer..." - Radar - M*A*S*H

Top
#3516276 - 02/11/12 02:04 AM Re: GoPro HD Hero2 [Re: Sluggish Controls]
BeachAV8R Offline
Lifer

Registered: 01/22/01
Posts: 24314
Loc: KCLT
Yeah..I've got one. I've only used it to record some fly fishing and some flying I've done. Can't wait to mount it to my windsurfer this spring.. It is simple, durable (so far as I can tell) and the video quality is great.

I mean..check out the video quality.. wink



thumbsup

BeachAV8R
_________________________


Top
#3516292 - 02/11/12 02:43 AM Re: GoPro HD Hero2 [Re: Sluggish Controls]
Magnum Offline
Lifer

Registered: 01/27/03
Posts: 28244
Loc: Naples, Florida
got 1 for training.
_________________________
Magnum

We stand between chaos and order, evil and good, despair and hope - we are the Thin Blue Line, and we will never be broken.



Top
#3516447 - 02/11/12 10:46 AM Re: GoPro HD Hero2 [Re: Sluggish Controls]
Dervish Offline
Hotshot

Registered: 10/24/99
Posts: 9947
Why didn't they just put the camera in the changing room?
_________________________
FTX Global

Top
#3516495 - 02/11/12 12:14 PM Re: GoPro HD Hero2 [Re: Sluggish Controls]
Coutie Offline
Member

Registered: 07/14/06
Posts: 941
Loc: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
I have the hd hero 1, but it's pretty good. I've had it fall off of my dirt bike(twice) while I was going pretty fast and it was fine. It's not very good in low light though. The mic is pretty bad, but I think the hero2 has a mic input.


Top
#3516517 - 02/11/12 01:04 PM Re: GoPro HD Hero2 [Re: Sluggish Controls]
JAMF Offline
Frugalite & P-38 fan
Senior Member

Registered: 05/29/10
Posts: 3812
Loc: The Netherlands
I wonder how it compares to the similar speced model of ContourHD cameras, from VholdR?

Top
#3518433 - 02/14/12 11:16 AM Re: GoPro HD Hero2 [Re: Sluggish Controls]
EagleEye[GER] Offline
Member

Registered: 09/27/06
Posts: 1104
Loc: Germany
I chosed Drift Innovations HD 170 (not that new model Stealth) back then, because it have a external mic input, the linse can be rotated and it have a remote controler. And it was quite cheaper than the GoPro. I may would chose the new GoPro2 now.
Some videos I made with the Drift (flying the Robinson R22)(check HD options)(Quality is a little bit better without YT compression):



EDIT:
Drift contra: Poor in low light conditions (inhouse, living rooms). (There is a night mode, never tested it though.)


Edited by EagleEye[GER] (02/14/12 11:26 AM)
_________________________
SYS: Inteli7-4790K @4GHz|GA-Z97X-SLI|16GB RAM|PALIT GTX970|Win764bitHome|TrackIR5|TM Warthog/Saitek Pro Pedals

Top
#3522835 - 02/20/12 01:27 PM Re: GoPro HD Hero2 [Re: Sluggish Controls]
RCAF Arrow Offline
Member

Registered: 03/30/02
Posts: 1384
Loc: some star trek town. CANADA!
been thinking of getting one and putting it on my semi when i go though the mountians.
_________________________
Arrow Photographics. since 2003.

Top
#3524001 - 02/22/12 05:41 AM Re: GoPro HD Hero2 [Re: Sluggish Controls]
Sluggish Controls Offline
Member

Registered: 06/21/05
Posts: 1649
Loc: Hong Kong
Finally bought 4 of them, all OUTDOOR version. Haven't tested them yet.
Will have some snowboarding and paragliding in the film, should be good.

Cheers & thx All,
Slug
_________________________
"Major Burns isn't saying much of anything, Sir. I think he's formulating the answer..." - Radar - M*A*S*H

Top
#3534453 - 03/07/12 05:30 PM Re: GoPro HD Hero2 [Re: Sluggish Controls]
specialksl Offline
Member

Registered: 10/15/99
Posts: 1146
Loc: Baltimore, MD USA
Fely like I was flying in MS Flight with Track IR ENABLED!
_________________________
ASUS P8Z77 - Intel I7 3770K OC to 4.4GHZ - Thermaltake Water2.0 Pro
2 EVGA GTX 770 Classifieds with 4GB each in SLI
16 Gig G.Skill Ares DDR3
Samsung EVO SSD 500GB
Plenty of storage
Windows 7 64bit
Thrustmaster Warthog - Saitek Combat Rudder Pedals
ASUS PB278Q @ 2560x1440

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
Hop to:

Moderator:  RacerGT 
 
Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
RIP Mr. Garibaldi...Jerry Doyle died today at 60
by Raw Kryptonite
02:47 PM
A-26 Gear Failure at Oshkosh
by KRT_Bong
10:40 AM
Guess who this is....
by Stewie
09:41 AM
Semi pulls a U turn on a 4 lane highway
by KraziKanuK
06:47 AM
Reminder about Windows 10 Free upgrade.
by CyBerkut
01:10 AM
Sam Wheeler fatal crash at salt flats
by Warbirds
09:40 PM
Parents try to teach baby to say mama but it's the dog who says it instead.
by Desert Eagle
05:23 PM
Marco Polo on Netflix
by TerribleTwo
12:06 PM
Languages in historical films
by PanzerMeyer
08:29 AM
Hauling Goats...in WHAT?
by Jedi Master
08:11 AM
 

Forum Use Agreement | Privacy Statement
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.