Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#3493169 - 01/12/12 02:10 PM Comanche Gold on Windows Vista/7 - fixed!  
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,341
Flyboy Offline
Senior Member
Flyboy  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,341
England, UK
Yes, it has finally been done!

Just yesterday, out of the blue, I got an e-mail from someone who I've never heard from before. The guy sent me some files and instructions on how to get Comanche Gold to run natively on Windows Vista and 7. After sifting through the rather lengthy and unsorted development notes he made, I was able to figure out what to do.

I tried it. It worked!

As some of you know, DavidC99 and myself tried to conquer this issue but never quite figured it out. I am currently hoping for the guy to reply back to my latest e-mail telling him of MY success with his fix, and then I can hopefully release it.

I did encounter a few issues with the fix, but I was able to figure out solutions and will write an easy-to-understand readme file to include.

Great news! Stay tuned!

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#3493351 - 01/12/12 06:26 PM Re: Comanche Gold on Windows Vista/7 - fixed! [Re: Flyboy]  
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 307
ufolev Online content
Member
ufolev  Online Content
Member

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 307
I knew it - This game will NEVER die !!!

ufo :-)

Last edited by ufolev; 07/25/12 08:16 PM.
#3493520 - 01/12/12 09:48 PM Re: Comanche Gold on Windows Vista/7 - fixed! [Re: Flyboy]  
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 12
Rolim Offline
Junior Member
Rolim  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 12
Brazil
Release it! Release it! Release it! Release it! Release it!
Pleeeeeeeeaaaaaaase!
Release it! Release it! Release it! Release it! Release it!
copter

#3494021 - 01/13/12 02:33 PM Re: Comanche Gold on Windows Vista/7 - fixed! [Re: Flyboy]  
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,341
Flyboy Offline
Senior Member
Flyboy  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,341
England, UK
Hi Rolim, I haven't seen your name on here before!

Hopefully I will get full authority to release the fix from the author. I think he did intend for me to kind of release it on his behalf, but I would rather get confirmation first. However, if, after a couple of weeks I don't hear back from him, then I will probably release it anyway.

Just hold in there a bit longer! neaner

#3495016 - 01/15/12 12:37 AM Re: Comanche Gold on Windows Vista/7 - fixed! [Re: Flyboy]  
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 12
Rolim Offline
Junior Member
Rolim  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 12
Brazil
We will stay tuned!
I have the Comanche 2 CD-Rom also. That was really crazy.
I don't post here every month, but I read this forum (Sim HQ) every week for a long time. And your site also!

#3495162 - 01/15/12 06:28 AM Re: Comanche Gold on Windows Vista/7 - fixed! [Re: Rolim]  
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 307
ufolev Online content
Member
ufolev  Online Content
Member

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 307
Hi FLYBOY,

I think that you must to offer the administrator/moderator/ of the SimHQ forum to
create a separated thread for Novalgic's Comanche series games
because the fans activity and custom development of the CG game have gone so far and
the innovations are enough big that this process deserves more attention.
All topics about the Comanche series games posted in SimHQ forum until now
and the future topics deserve to be in one place.

Are you agree with me ?


ufo :-)

Last edited by ufolev; 01/15/12 08:04 AM.
#3495247 - 01/15/12 12:04 PM Re: Comanche Gold on Windows Vista/7 - fixed! [Re: Flyboy]  
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,341
Flyboy Offline
Senior Member
Flyboy  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,341
England, UK
I guess I do agree, ufolev, but I'm not sure that the Comanche series has a big enough following on THIS forum to warrant a separate sub-forum for it. As you know, this forum has recently had an overhaul and even some more popular sim sub-forums on THIS forum have been merged.

Further note about the fix. I thought about it and have decided to release a 'bundle' fix where I will include the Windows Vista/7 fix, graphics mod and my new Comanche engine/rotor sounds. They will come in one package but they will be usable separately, so you can decide what to install. I could also add your campaign, ufolev?

#3495279 - 01/15/12 01:31 PM Re: Comanche Gold on Windows Vista/7 - fixed! [Re: Flyboy]  
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 307
ufolev Online content
Member
ufolev  Online Content
Member

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 307
Accept :-)
as you know More of the Comanche Gold innovations are created or assisted from you!

ufo

#3495391 - 01/15/12 04:56 PM Re: Comanche Gold on Windows Vista/7 - fixed! [Re: Flyboy]  
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,341
Flyboy Offline
Senior Member
Flyboy  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,341
England, UK
Cool! I'll add your campaign as well!

#3501548 - 01/23/12 01:26 PM Re: Comanche Gold on Windows Vista/7 - fixed! [Re: Flyboy]  
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,341
Flyboy Offline
Senior Member
Flyboy  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,341
England, UK
I will try to release the CG Windows Vista/7 Fix by the end of the week.

#3502273 - 01/24/12 06:28 AM Re: Comanche Gold on Windows Vista/7 - fixed! [Re: Flyboy]  
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 330
RuhRoh Offline
Member
RuhRoh  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 330
Central Coast, CA
Originally Posted By: Flyboy
Just yesterday, out of the blue, I got an e-mail from someone who I've never heard from before. The guy sent me some files and instructions on how to get Comanche Gold to run natively on Windows Vista and 7. After sifting through the rather lengthy and unsorted development notes he made, I was able to figure out what to do.

I tried it. It worked!


Plus, now his computer is reporting all his activity to an obscure server in Romania! WinkNGrin

#3502419 - 01/24/12 02:19 PM Re: Comanche Gold on Windows Vista/7 - fixed! [Re: Flyboy]  
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,341
Flyboy Offline
Senior Member
Flyboy  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,341
England, UK
Here it is!

I've included the fix in a new download I've put together called 'Comanche Gold Bundle (2012)'. Find all the details on the News page of my Comanche Gold website, and find the file on the Downloads page.

http://digitality.comyr.com/flyboy/cg/

Be sure to read each readme file for each mod in the bundle. smile

RuhRoh - The sender did in fact have an e-mail address that you get with a well-known British internet service provider. wink

#3502437 - 01/24/12 02:42 PM Re: Comanche Gold on Windows Vista/7 - fixed! [Re: Flyboy]  
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 307
ufolev Online content
Member
ufolev  Online Content
Member

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 307
THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU !!!

ufo :-)

#3503574 - 01/25/12 11:13 PM Re: Comanche Gold on Windows Vista/7 - fixed! [Re: Flyboy]  
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 330
RuhRoh Offline
Member
RuhRoh  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 330
Central Coast, CA
Just to be clear, my previous post was meant as a joke . . . thus the WinkNGrin

#3504634 - 01/27/12 12:52 PM Re: Comanche Gold on Windows Vista/7 - fixed! [Re: Flyboy]  
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,341
Flyboy Offline
Senior Member
Flyboy  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,341
England, UK
So was mine... thus the wink

#3505270 - 01/27/12 11:53 PM Re: Comanche Gold on Windows Vista/7 - fixed! [Re: Flyboy]  
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 12
Rolim Offline
Junior Member
Rolim  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 12
Brazil
Thank you! Veeeeryy muuuuch!
Already playing now!
copter

#3506261 - 01/29/12 12:37 PM Re: Comanche Gold on Windows Vista/7 - fixed! [Re: Flyboy]  
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,341
Flyboy Offline
Senior Member
Flyboy  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,341
England, UK
Good news, Rolim!

Did you find my instructions clear enough?

#3506644 - 01/29/12 10:23 PM Re: Comanche Gold on Windows Vista/7 - fixed! [Re: Flyboy]  
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 12
Rolim Offline
Junior Member
Rolim  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 12
Brazil


Originally Posted By: Flyboy
Good news, Rolim!

Did you find my instructions clear enough?


Very clear and concise.
No doubts.
Thanks again!

#3506991 - 01/30/12 01:15 PM Re: Comanche Gold on Windows Vista/7 - fixed! [Re: Flyboy]  
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,341
Flyboy Offline
Senior Member
Flyboy  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,341
England, UK
Thanks for the feedback, Rolim.

#3524933 - 02/23/12 08:55 PM Re: Comanche Gold on Windows Vista/7 - fixed! [Re: Flyboy]  
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 307
ufolev Online content
Member
ufolev  Online Content
Member

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 307
hello Flyboy ,

the MOD works on windows98 too and here
in the training flights appears a new option named HIDDEN TRAINING



leading to removed mission file




ufo :-)

Last edited by ufolev; 02/23/12 09:18 PM.
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
What a difference 10 days makes....
by F4UDash4. 12/09/17 11:00 PM
I awoke to the sound of kids screaming outside
by Raw Kryptonite. 12/08/17 02:23 PM
Anyone oil painting?
by VF9_Longbow. 12/08/17 10:13 AM
Another WW2 veteran gone
by KraziKanuK. 12/08/17 12:17 AM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0