Forums » SimHQ Community » Screenshot & Video Gallery » Prepare3d Active Topics You are not logged in. [Log In] [Register User]
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
Hop to:
#3489155 - 01/06/12 07:03 PM Prepare3d
Scoobe Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 12/23/08
Posts: 2701

I Spent the last day or so installing Lockheed Martin's Prepar3d and trying out some of my FSX addons with it. So far, I only installed a handfull of things with it,(PMDG NGX, FSDT scenery and Megascenery) But I really like it. Textures seem very sharp and FPS are slightly better than FSX for me. No blurries and its seems smoother overall. but that may change once I have all the addons installed. I also like the interface, which takes a little getting used to, but seems more professional looking.

Its stable and hasn't crashed yet, but does crash when I exit the program. That started happening after I havd to edit some .xml files to get the PMDG NGX hud to work with it.

Until developers fully support it, there is some hacking or editing to do to get everything to work well or install at all. Once Im done with it, I may take some time to compile a list of addons that work and dont work with it and what you have to do to get it to work. Its not for everone, unless you like to play around with this stuff and find a challenge to be fun. If, not, stick with FSX for now.

I can't say for sure if its a keeper, until I spend more time with it. Its $10 a month and I spend more than that on coffe each day, so its not a big deal. Im willing to pay for it if it works well. Once V2 with DX11 support comes out, I think it will be amazing.

Rob




















_________________________
Intel Core i7-3770K
GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 2000 (PC3 16000)
ASUS GeForce GTX 660 Ti

Top
#3489237 - 01/06/12 09:15 PM Re: Prepare3d [Re: Scoobe]
Coot Online   content
Rabbit Hole Traveler
Hotshot

Registered: 08/30/05
Posts: 7275
Loc: !!USA!!
What is Lockheed Martin's Prepar3d? I've never heard of it.
_________________________
" Without morals a republic cannot subsist any length of time; they therefore who are decrying the Christian religion, whose morality is so sublime and pure...are undermining the solid foundation of morals, the best security for the duration of free governments." Charles Carroll - signer of the Declaration of Independence

Intel Core i7-4790K (4X 4.0 GHz/8MB L3 Cache)
Asetek 510LC Liquid CPU Cooling System
16GB DDR3-1866 G.SKILL RipjawsX
Nvidia GTX 970 4GB
ASUS Z97-A
Windows7 Home 64bit

wave

Top
#3489247 - 01/06/12 09:42 PM Re: Prepare3d [Re: Scoobe]
SkateZilla Online   tunes
Skate Zilla HD Studios
Veteran

Registered: 11/24/04
Posts: 15307
Loc: Virginia Beach, VA
Prepar3d is a Lockheed Martin Complete Re-Build of FSX that they use to train pilots.
_________________________
HAF922, Corsair RM850 80Plus Gold, ASRock Fata1ity 990FX Pro,
Corsair H100, AMD FX8350 @ 5.15GHz, 16GB G.SKILL Sniper@DDR2133,
2x R7970 Lightnings Crossfired @ 1.1/6.0GHz, Creative XFi Fata1ity Platinum Champ.,
ASUS VS248HP 24" LEDx3, Acer AL2002W 1680x1050, 7440x1080 Total Resolution.
CH Fighterstick, Pro Throttle, Pro Pedals, Fanatec CSR Wheel, Elite Pedals, CSR Shifter,
Intensity Pro 10-Bit, Kinect For Windows, TrackIR 4 Pro, WD Black 1.5TB, WD Black 640GB,

Top
#3489250 - 01/06/12 09:49 PM Re: Prepare3d [Re: Coot]
Scoobe Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 12/23/08
Posts: 2701
Lockheed Martin bought ESP, a Commercial version of FSX from Microsoft about 2 years ago. They also hired a few of the original aces programmers who worked for MS on FSX along with new people and are continuing the development of the code to fix bugs, update it and give it better optimizations for Win 7 and todays hardware (such as DX11 support).

Itís not meant as a consumer product since it cost $500 for a single license. However, they also offer a monthly subscription for developers at $10 a month. The thing is anyone can say they are a developer and download it as long as you pay $10 a month or $500 once. According to their agreement with Microsoft they are not allowed to sell it in stores or market it as a commercial product, but at the same time they encourage anyone to try it. It gets a little confusing and People get worried they will get in trouble for using it, but Lockheed has been very supportive of it and wants to see developers jump in and make their FSX add-ons work with P3D.

http://www.prepar3d.com/

They have a website for it and forum, and are very supportive. They always ask for feedback and work with people and take suggestions on new features or help to work out bugs or issues anyone is having with it. Way more than Microsoft ever did.

Some add-on companies like Orbx have already struck partnerships with LM to develop add-ons for it. Orbx has already announced that all their existing and future add-ons will work with P3d. FSDT has already made all their installers P3d aware and installing their scenery is a breeze. For other add-ons it requires copying files over or pointing p3d to use the directories already installed under FSX. Itís not that hard, just time consuming at the moment.

I would recommend to anyone interested to hold off until V2 comes out soon with DX11 support. Then it will really be worth the effort. Unless youíre like me and like to tinker a lot. mycomputer

Rob


Edited by Scoobe (01/06/12 09:53 PM)
_________________________
Intel Core i7-3770K
GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 2000 (PC3 16000)
ASUS GeForce GTX 660 Ti

Top
#3489255 - 01/06/12 09:56 PM Re: Prepare3d [Re: Scoobe]
SkateZilla Online   tunes
Skate Zilla HD Studios
Veteran

Registered: 11/24/04
Posts: 15307
Loc: Virginia Beach, VA
last i heard MS was about to let them go retail (online only) with it.
_________________________
HAF922, Corsair RM850 80Plus Gold, ASRock Fata1ity 990FX Pro,
Corsair H100, AMD FX8350 @ 5.15GHz, 16GB G.SKILL Sniper@DDR2133,
2x R7970 Lightnings Crossfired @ 1.1/6.0GHz, Creative XFi Fata1ity Platinum Champ.,
ASUS VS248HP 24" LEDx3, Acer AL2002W 1680x1050, 7440x1080 Total Resolution.
CH Fighterstick, Pro Throttle, Pro Pedals, Fanatec CSR Wheel, Elite Pedals, CSR Shifter,
Intensity Pro 10-Bit, Kinect For Windows, TrackIR 4 Pro, WD Black 1.5TB, WD Black 640GB,

Top
#3489272 - 01/06/12 10:33 PM Re: Prepare3d [Re: Scoobe]
kludger Online   content
Hotshot

Registered: 02/25/07
Posts: 7045
Loc: Seattle,USA
Great shots Scoobe, and good info on Prepar3D, I look forward to trying it once the 2.0 release comes out.

Hopefully now that Flight info is out and it is obvious MS is not targetting the same hardcore sim market, hopefully they will allow Prepar3D to grow and fill the FSX evolution market.

PS. Just received my 737NGX DVD package from Aerosoft today and look forward to learning how to fly this, I have a lot to learn.
_________________________
i5-2500k@4.5ghz, Asus P8Z68-V Pro/Gen3,GTX670/4GB
PSN/XBL/Steam/EA/ProjectCARS/MWO:Kludger

Top
#3489281 - 01/06/12 10:55 PM Re: Prepare3d [Re: Scoobe]
Plainsman Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 04/03/02
Posts: 3482
Loc: In a Blue state, thank God
So, if you pay our 10 bucks a month to play, is the whole world immediately available just like FSX?
_________________________
Banned for expressing LIBERAL political views!

Top
#3489295 - 01/06/12 11:31 PM Re: Prepare3d [Re: Scoobe]
AggressorBLUE Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 12/15/09
Posts: 2725
Loc: Jerz
There are two amazing things I took away from that first post Scoobe:

1. Your screen-shots. Sweeeeeet.

2. The fact that you spend more than $300 a month on Coffee.

I'm pretty sure you're putting some starbucks managers kids through college!



BTW, @ Skatezilla, where did you hear about retail prepar3d? (also, it's not a complete rebuild yet, but it pretty much will be soon. The orbx guys were saying that the event-horizon includes shifting a lot of work to GPU, making FSX capable PC cheaper to build. Obviously an advantage from the commercial side, as deploying the sim is now more affordable.)

Originally Posted By: Plainsman
So, if you pay our 10 bucks a month to play, is the whole world immediately available just like FSX?


Yes, it's the whole of FSX but with some awesome-sauce poured on top (with MUCH more still to come). It lacks some of the stock FSX planes, but gives you a very nice model of the LM Constellation. Fair trade IMHO. It also features a lightly redone Norfolk area to fly out of as your default runway.

I'd gladly pay $20 a month for what boils down to FSX with an active and aggressive dev team behind it, constantly evolving the software.


Edited by AggressorBLUE (01/06/12 11:46 PM)
_________________________
My Rig:i5-3570k @ 4.2 GHZ With Corsair Hydro H110 Cooler / Asus Sabertooth Z77 Mobo / EVGA GTX 660 SuperClocked / 8 Gigs DDR3 1600 G.skills Ram / A couple SSDs, and a Bunch of HDDs / All held together by: Corsair C70 Case

Other Assets Deployed:
HOTAS: Logitech G940 frown Thrustmaster Warthog SN#22621/CH Throttle Quad/MFG Crosswind Pedals SN#0004 smile
TrackIR biggrin
Simpit: ETA Q2 2014
Wheel: ETA Q4 2014

Top
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
Hop to:

Moderator:  EinsteinEP, RacerGT 
 
Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
What the heck just happened here????
by Kodiak
Yesterday at 10:22 PM
Okay, it's official. I suck and need help!
by - Ice
Yesterday at 10:08 PM
Dogs of War this Sunday
by Asid
Yesterday at 09:36 PM
Interesting Nvidia turf software
by Chivas
Yesterday at 08:44 PM
Interesting Nvidia turf software
by Chivas
Yesterday at 08:35 PM
The extra planes....
by - Ice
Yesterday at 06:58 PM
Impressive!
by peppergomez
Yesterday at 03:21 PM
PMDG News - P3D2
by Pielstick
Yesterday at 02:08 PM
Will there be a SimHQ review now it's officially out?
by the Dutchman
Yesterday at 01:58 PM
4k video around the Matterhorn, Swiss Alps
by JimK
Yesterday at 12:59 PM
 

Forum Use Agreement | Privacy Statement
Copyright 1997-2014, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.