Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#3477628 - 12/20/11 03:18 PM Sometimes it really is the plane  
PatrickAWilson Offline
PatrickAWilson  Offline

Tx
One of the things that folks are fond of saying is that it's not the plane, it's the pilot. No doubt true to some degree, but not always.

I was watching an interview/recreation on the history channel. The subject was the introduction of the Hellcat,and the story centered around a combat between a Japanese ace and the Hellcat pilot being interviewed. The scenario goes like this:

Hellcat and Zero are fighting largely in the horizontal. The Zero has scored some hits but without great effect. At this point the Zero goes vertical. The Hellcat pilot thinks he has an absolute newbie on his hands. He goes vertical with the Zero, pulls through the arc and easily shoots the Zero down.

Turns out the Zero pilot was not a newbie at all. He was an ace with nine victories using a tried and true tactic ... against Wildcats. A Wildcat would have stalled, allowing the Zero to come over the top and hammer the now helpless airplane (remember, getting nailed by a plane with its nose pointed straight up in a full stall only happens in RoF :)).

The Zero pilot's second to last thought must have been "Where is he?". His last,of course, would be "Oh sh..!".

Sometimes it is the plane smile.

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#3477721 - 12/20/11 05:27 PM Re: Sometimes it really is the plane [Re: PatrickAWilson]  
RoFfan Offline
RoFfan  Offline

Dogfights is hardly the most credible depiction of air combat, but it is true that "it's the pilot, not the plane" is a very overblown bit of propaganda. Otherwise there would be no justification for introducing newer, higher performance aircraft.

#3477730 - 12/20/11 05:52 PM Re: Sometimes it really is the plane [Re: PatrickAWilson]  
Catfish Offline
Catfish  Offline

Where the ocean meets the sky
Originally Posted By: PatrickAWilson