Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#3427623 - 11/06/11 08:05 PM Collective not working with HOTAS?  
Aero Offline
Aero  Offline

Milwaukee, USA
I'm new to BS(1 or 2) and heliopter sims in general, so I might be just fundamentally misunderstanding something, but I can't make my HOTAS control the collective. I have a G940, and I have the left throttle mapped to throttle, and the right throttle mapped to collective. It registers the input when I map it, and the axis themselves are working, but moving the collective control on my HOTAS has no effect in the sim (collective graphic doesn't even move), but I can adjust the collective via the keyboard.

Maybe there is a button to release the brake on the collective handle or something?

The throttle control (right throttle lever on the G940) works.

reason for edit: If you make an L with your hand, and it's pointing the right way, that's your left hand. screwy

edit2: Question for people who know more about rotorwing flight:

As I understand it, the throttle is something you manipulate relatively infrequently, whereas the collective is something you're fiddling with constantly. Might I be better off mapping the throttle to a wheel or slider? It's a little awkward to use the two (HOTAS) throttle halves for totally independent things. I'm thinking maybe I'm better off not using the split throttle, the whole thing just controlling collective.

Last edited by Aero; 11/06/11 08:13 PM.
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#3427630 - 11/06/11 08:11 PM Re: Collective not working with HOTAS? [Re: Aero]  
EtherealN Offline
EtherealN  Offline

Have you transplanted a profile from BS1?

If so: http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2223284

It has a LUA hack you can do.

Alternatively, delete the contents of
C:\Users\XXXX\SavedGames\BlackShark 2\Config\Input

Then re-start the game and re-map manually.

Last edited by EtherealN; 11/06/11 08:12 PM.