Forums » Technology » Flight Sim Controllers » Any TM Cougar MFD troubleshooting tips? Active Topics You are not logged in. [Log In] [Register User]
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
Hop to:
#3419927 - 10/27/11 05:46 PM Any TM Cougar MFD troubleshooting tips?
- Ice Offline
Veteran

Registered: 06/23/05
Posts: 11375
Loc: Philippines / North East UK
I just plugged in my gear tonight for a flight and noticed my left MFD isn't working. After a few unplug/re-plug, it still doesn't work. The right one works just fine.

My MFDs are screwed onto my front console dash, and all my gear (TIR, TM Warthog, Saitek pedals, MFDs) go into a powered USB port so it's just one USB from the port itself to my PC.

Any way to try to fix this, or should I just go straight to TM support?
_________________________
- Ice

Top
#3419956 - 10/27/11 06:15 PM Re: Any TM Cougar MFD troubleshooting tips? [Re: - Ice]
Wrecking Crew Offline
Smooth Operator
Hotshot

Registered: 03/04/07
Posts: 5111
Loc: Colorado
I had the same problem and initiated a support request.

Before I heard back I calibrated my Warthog, including the microswitch - the MFCD problem went right away and no issues with them since.

And the microswitch worked a lot better, too smile

WC
_________________________
"Your ballroom days are over, baby"

Find my DCS World missions at Wrecking Crew Projects. All released missions are free to download, modify and publicly host -- enjoy!

Top
#3420214 - 10/28/11 06:30 AM Re: Any TM Cougar MFD troubleshooting tips? [Re: - Ice]
- Ice Offline
Veteran

Registered: 06/23/05
Posts: 11375
Loc: Philippines / North East UK
So, how did you "calibrate" the microswitch exactly?
_________________________
- Ice

Top
#3420238 - 10/28/11 07:43 AM Re: Any TM Cougar MFD troubleshooting tips? [Re: - Ice]
Bluedeath Offline
BS 62 "Pegasus" CAG
Member

Registered: 01/12/11
Posts: 653
Maybe warthog has some de-bouncer in the software? i would suggest not to put too much stuff in the same hub is not only a power issue you have to consider the bandwidth too, USB hubs usually set themselves to the bandwidth/speed of the less hungry devices so all other devices have to adapt try to plug them in different ports.
_________________________
"When you plan revenge best dig two graves" Confucius
"They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety" Benjamin Franklin

Top
#3420298 - 10/28/11 09:42 AM Re: Any TM Cougar MFD troubleshooting tips? [Re: - Ice]
- Ice Offline
Veteran

Registered: 06/23/05
Posts: 11375
Loc: Philippines / North East UK
Really? Been using this powered USB for over a year now, and the MFDs were on it as well since they arrived around January this year. No problems until this one.

I'll try plugging the errant MFD straight to the PC to see if that works.
_________________________
- Ice

Top
#3420442 - 10/28/11 01:11 PM Re: Any TM Cougar MFD troubleshooting tips? [Re: - Ice]
Wrecking Crew Offline
Smooth Operator
Hotshot

Registered: 03/04/07
Posts: 5111
Loc: Colorado
I just used the Windows Control Panel link to the Warthog for the calibration.

Also, I have two 'flight decks' - for my two Warthogs and MFCDs and KB and mouse - both decks have a powered 7-port hub and all of these devices are plugged into them - no issues.

WC

_________________________
"Your ballroom days are over, baby"

Find my DCS World missions at Wrecking Crew Projects. All released missions are free to download, modify and publicly host -- enjoy!

Top
#3423785 - 11/02/11 10:14 AM Re: Any TM Cougar MFD troubleshooting tips? [Re: - Ice]
coolts Offline
Member

Registered: 03/11/09
Posts: 227
Loc: Bristol, England
Ice - try connecting direct to your PC. That will rule out your hub as an issue.

If that fails, uninstall the driver, (rt-click in device mamanger), reboot and let windows re-install.
_________________________
i7 6700k | 16gb DDR4|Geforce GTX980|M2 SSD |27” & 2 x 24” | TrackIR 5| HOTAS WARTHOG (SERIAL 0273)| CH PRO Pedals USB |2 x Cougar MFD’s and a partridge in a pear tree

Top
#3423821 - 11/02/11 11:35 AM Re: Any TM Cougar MFD troubleshooting tips? [Re: - Ice]
Bluedeath Offline
BS 62 "Pegasus" CAG
Member

Registered: 01/12/11
Posts: 653
I used the Cougar MFD without drivers, about my statement "normally" bandwidth using an hub is not a big deal, as long as all devices are the same USB revision, otherwise the faster ones will have to adapt to slower ones speed, I had this kind of problems a lot in the past especially with HDDs connected on the same hub where USB1.0 devices were connected.
_________________________
"When you plan revenge best dig two graves" Confucius
"They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety" Benjamin Franklin

Top
#3423922 - 11/02/11 02:10 PM Re: Any TM Cougar MFD troubleshooting tips? [Re: - Ice]
- Ice Offline
Veteran

Registered: 06/23/05
Posts: 11375
Loc: Philippines / North East UK
Nope, still no luck on a straight-to-PC plug. And I've also re-formatted and reinstalled a clean copy of Win7. No joy, but the right MFD works straight away, even through the USB hub.

Emailing TM Support now.
_________________________
- Ice

Top
#3424051 - 11/02/11 04:56 PM Re: Any TM Cougar MFD troubleshooting tips? [Re: - Ice]
kylania Offline
Member

Registered: 10/30/10
Posts: 102
Mine keep turning off then back on again. It's usually the right one, but occasionally the left. Very rarely they'll shut off and not come back on again. Very annoying. No errors show up anywhere though.

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
Hop to:

Moderator:  RacerGT 
 
Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
House Explosion
by Linebacker
10:48 PM
440th last flight out of Ft. Bragg
by piper
10:09 PM
Netflix Canada – Oh, how the tables have turned ...
by Linebacker
09:38 PM
One for the drones
by WileECoyote
07:45 PM
Charity rip-offs
by marko1231123
03:15 PM
Withdraw Euros from Paypal if in UK
by Tigerwulf
02:20 PM
AMD brings VR to the masses..... except in Canada
by BlueHeron
12:20 PM
Building a PC for Video editing and Media, need help
by KRT_Bong
10:51 AM
System Shock Remake Kickstarter - with Demo
by Bib4Tuna
06/28/16 06:50 PM
AI for the win
by Crane Hunter
06/28/16 05:52 PM
 

Forum Use Agreement | Privacy Statement
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.