Forums » Land & Armor Combat » ARMA Series » Arma 2 CO Minimizes and can't be restored Active Topics You are not logged in. [Log In] [Register User]
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
Hop to:
#3412908 - 10/18/11 10:44 AM Arma 2 CO Minimizes and can't be restored
DrEvil Offline
Evil Genius, Outlaw Pilot
Junior Member

Registered: 01/31/09
Posts: 32
Hey folks. Anyone familiar with this problem? I bought Arma 2 and OA seperately, and used the trick from the BI forums to combine them. Anyhoo,every so often, particularly when the AI starts reacting to things that I'm doing to NPCs right in front of me, the game will minimize (or appear to) and I'll continue to hear the sounds of action and things blowing up and me getting shot and other such things, but the view is of my desktop with the Arma mouse cursor, and I can't interact with anything. I have to alt-escape to get my windows mouse cursor back and if I try to bring the Arma window up again, it goes back to the previously described state. Anyone familiar with this? I'm running ACE with it, and using "Arma 2 Launcher." Thanks in advance for help! My DXDiag follows.

-- John

------------------
System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 10/18/2011, 07:37:07
Machine name: M5
Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1 (7601.win7sp1_gdr.110622-1506)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: System manufacturer
System Model: System Product Name
BIOS: BIOS Date: 09/07/10 22:05:26 Ver: 08.00.15
Processor: AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 955 Processor (4 CPUs), ~3.2GHz
Memory: 8192MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 8190MB RAM
Page File: 3777MB used, 12601MB available
Windows Dir: C:\Windows
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
User DPI Setting: Using System DPI
System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
DWM DPI Scaling: Disabled
DxDiag Version: 6.01.7601.17514 64bit Unicode

--------------------
DirectX Debug Levels
--------------------
Direct3D: 0/4 (retail)
DirectDraw: 0/4 (retail)
DirectInput: 0/5 (retail)
DirectMusic: 0/5 (retail)
DirectPlay: 0/9 (retail)
DirectSound: 0/5 (retail)
DirectShow: 0/6 (retail)

---------------
Display Devices
---------------
Card name: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 295
Manufacturer: NVIDIA
Chip type: NVxx
DAC type: Integrated RAMDAC
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_05EB&SUBSYS_12963842&REV_A1
Display Memory: 4069 MB
Dedicated Memory: 869 MB
Shared Memory: 3199 MB
Current Mode: 1920 x 1200 (32 bit) (59Hz)
Monitor Name: Generic PnP Monitor
Monitor Model: ASUS VW266H
Monitor Id: ACI26A4
Native Mode: 1920 x 1200(p) (59.950Hz)
Output Type: DVI
Driver Name: nvd3dumx.dll,nvwgf2umx.dll,nvwgf2umx.dll,nvd3dum,nvwgf2um,nvwgf2um
Driver File Version: 8.17.0012.7061 (English)
Driver Version: 8.17.12.7061
DDI Version: 10
Driver Model: WDDM 1.1
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Driver Date/Size: 4/7/2011 22:14:00, 12934248 bytes
WHQL Logo'd: Yes
WHQL Date Stamp:
Device Identifier: {D7B71E3E-46AB-11CF-6740-9A321FC2C535}
Vendor ID: 0x10DE
Device ID: 0x05EB
SubSys ID: 0x12963842
Revision ID: 0x00A1
Driver Strong Name: oem1.inf:NVIDIA_SetA_Devices.NTamd64.6.1:Section005:8.17.12.7061:pci\ven_10de&dev_05eb
Rank Of Driver: 00E62001
Video Accel: ModeMPEG2_A ModeMPEG2_C ModeVC1_C ModeWMV9_C

-------------
Sound Devices
-------------
Description: Speakers (SoundMAX Integrated Digital HD Audio)
Default Sound Playback: Yes
Default Voice Playback: Yes
Hardware ID: HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_11D4&DEV_989B&SUBSYS_10438334&REV_1003
Manufacturer ID: 1
Product ID: 100
Type: WDM
Driver Name: ADIHdAud.sys
Driver Version: 6.10.0002.6600 (English)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
WHQL Logo'd: Yes
Date and Size: 9/17/2009 15:38:22, 478208 bytes
Other Files:
Driver Provider: AnalogDevices
HW Accel Level: Basic
Cap Flags: 0xF1F
Min/Max Sample Rate: 100, 200000
Static/Strm HW Mix Bufs: 1, 0
Static/Strm HW 3D Bufs: 0, 0
HW Memory: 0
Voice Management: No
EAX(tm) 2.0 Listen/Src: No, No
I3DL2(tm) Listen/Src: No, No
Sensaura(tm) ZoomFX(tm): No

Description: SPDIF Interface (SoundMAX Integrated Digital HD Audio)
Default Sound Playback: No
Default Voice Playback: No
Hardware ID: HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_11D4&DEV_989B&SUBSYS_10438334&REV_1003
Manufacturer ID: 1
Product ID: 100
Type: WDM
Driver Name: ADIHdAud.sys
Driver Version: 6.10.0002.6600 (English)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
WHQL Logo'd: Yes
Date and Size: 9/17/2009 15:38:22, 478208 bytes
Other Files:
Driver Provider: AnalogDevices
HW Accel Level: Basic
Cap Flags: 0xF1F
Min/Max Sample Rate: 100, 200000
Static/Strm HW Mix Bufs: 1, 0
Static/Strm HW 3D Bufs: 0, 0
HW Memory: 0
Voice Management: No
EAX(tm) 2.0 Listen/Src: No, No
I3DL2(tm) Listen/Src: No, No
Sensaura(tm) ZoomFX(tm): No

Description: Digital Output (SoundMAX Integrated Digital HD Audio)
Default Sound Playback: No
Default Voice Playback: No
Hardware ID: HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_11D4&DEV_989B&SUBSYS_10438334&REV_1003
Manufacturer ID: 1
Product ID: 100
Type: WDM
Driver Name: ADIHdAud.sys
Driver Version: 6.10.0002.6600 (English)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
WHQL Logo'd: Yes
Date and Size: 9/17/2009 15:38:22, 478208 bytes
Other Files:
Driver Provider: AnalogDevices
HW Accel Level: Basic
Cap Flags: 0xF1F
Min/Max Sample Rate: 100, 200000
Static/Strm HW Mix Bufs: 1, 0
Static/Strm HW 3D Bufs: 0, 0
HW Memory: 0
Voice Management: No
EAX(tm) 2.0 Listen/Src: No, No
I3DL2(tm) Listen/Src: No, No
Sensaura(tm) ZoomFX(tm): No
_________________________
It is a fact that high level organisms, having developed the capacity for abstract thought and imagination, can be made to feel threatened in a far greater variety of ways than the simple things that merely crawl around in the grass.

Top
#3413087 - 10/18/11 02:38 PM Re: Arma 2 CO Minimizes and can't be restored [Re: DrEvil]
adlabs6 Online   smile
Arma3 Moderator
Veteran

Registered: 11/11/04
Posts: 16471
Loc: Texas, USA
I've not had this problem.

Try trouble shooting by eliminating everything that didn't come in the box with ArmA2 and OA, and add things one by one until you find the problem.

So for example:

Can you run ArmA2 successfully by double clicking directly on it's .exe?
Same with OA?

If yes, then add one addon at a time, retesting each time. This should let you see when the problem starts to appear.

I would test the "ArmA 2 Launcher" at the very end, if you are able to verify everything working by starting the combined ArmA2/OA plus addons from a shortcut or batch file.

Top
#3413115 - 10/18/11 03:05 PM Re: Arma 2 CO Minimizes and can't be restored [Re: DrEvil]
Jedi Master Offline
Entil'zha
Sierra Hotel

Registered: 02/15/00
Posts: 41107
Loc: Space Coast, USA
I've had a few games (though not Arma2) do this to me over the years, and it always seems to be the same apparent cause...the mouse cursor gets "outside" the game and you seem to click on the desktop, minimizing the game. It's like there's a thin line on one edge of the screen where the game isn't "full screen" (you can't see it, but the PC detects it) and if you click the mouse while the cursor (which you of course can't see unless you're in a game menu) is at that edge, it minimizes.


I never found a fix for those games that did it to me occasionally, unfortunately.



The Jedi Master
_________________________
The anteater is wearing the bagel because he's a reindeer princess. -- my 4 yr old daughter

Top
#3413307 - 10/18/11 07:28 PM Re: Arma 2 CO Minimizes and can't be restored [Re: DrEvil]
JoeyJoJo Offline
Hotshot

Registered: 11/02/04
Posts: 5929
Loc: Colorado
Try the FLUSH command: Left Shift + Numpad Minus, then type: F L U S H

This was the only sure 'solution' I've found (more of a work-around).
Searching around I found several with the same problem, but no clear solutions. It most likely the graphics driver crashing (possibly overheating). Check your temps, and to narrow it down you might try updating GPU drivers (or if you recently updated maybe roll-back); but if it's neither of those then you might be SOL for now
_________________________

Case: CoolerMaster HAF-922 MoBo: ASUS M4A89GTD Pro/USB3 PSU: Corsair HX750w CPU: AMD FX-8320 @ 4GHz
RAM: 2x8GB Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3 1600 GPU: Palit GTX 560 Ti 2GB Display: OS: Win7 Pro 64bit

Top
#3413319 - 10/18/11 07:40 PM Re: Arma 2 CO Minimizes and can't be restored [Re: DrEvil]
Rakov Offline
Member

Registered: 04/18/09
Posts: 695
I've had this problem with my sticky CTRL or Alt key... just sayin. You hit tab a lot... that's at the most simple level.

Top
#3413849 - 10/19/11 02:17 PM Re: Arma 2 CO Minimizes and can't be restored [Re: JoeyJoJo]
DrEvil Offline
Evil Genius, Outlaw Pilot
Junior Member

Registered: 01/31/09
Posts: 32
Originally Posted By: NoUseForAName
Try the FLUSH command: Left Shift + Numpad Minus, then type: F L U S H

This was the only sure 'solution' I've found (more of a work-around).
Searching around I found several with the same problem, but no clear solutions. It most likely the graphics driver crashing (possibly overheating). Check your temps, and to narrow it down you might try updating GPU drivers (or if you recently updated maybe roll-back); but if it's neither of those then you might be SOL for now


I'll try the former, and I hope to god it's not the latter. frown
_________________________
It is a fact that high level organisms, having developed the capacity for abstract thought and imagination, can be made to feel threatened in a far greater variety of ways than the simple things that merely crawl around in the grass.

Top
#3416477 - 10/23/11 07:10 AM Re: Arma 2 CO Minimizes and can't be restored [Re: DrEvil]
Scruffy Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 03/25/07
Posts: 40
Loc: Germany, NRW
A friend has (or hopefully had) the same problem, but it works better since he disabled ATOC and set Video memory to "default" in the ingame options menu. The flush workaround at least hints to some problem with the VRAM, maybe testing lower settings for textures, AA and resolution helps postpone the crashes a bit?
_________________________
Blah!

Top
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
Hop to:

Moderator:  adlabs6, RacerGT 
 
Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
A bit of Assetto Corsa.... and the mighty Lotus Renault 98T
by SHar82
8 minutes 24 seconds ago
How to weaponize your micro wave oven
by Blade_RJ
20 minutes 48 seconds ago
Random ROF Shots
by Scoobe
Today at 03:49 PM
DCS FC3 F-15 IAF The Bat Sqn
by Tom_Weiss
Today at 03:49 PM
Random BOS Shots
by Scoobe
Today at 03:46 PM
Ilya Muromets Early Access starts today!
by BlueHeron
Today at 03:02 PM
Train Fever
by jdbecks
Today at 01:47 PM
Touch Pilot One / iControl (DCS-VC)
by phd_doc
Today at 01:46 PM
UH-60 Black Hawk for XP10
by SteveHarris
Today at 01:22 PM
27,000 new pilots a year - Boeing
by jdbecks
Today at 01:21 PM
 

Forum Use Agreement | Privacy Statement
Copyright 1997-2014, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.