Forums » » » C.A.R.S Pre-alpha released to Team members Active Topics You are not logged in. [Log In] [Register User]
Page 4 of 26 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 25 26 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
Hop to:
#3410086 - 10/14/11 08:33 AM Re: C.A.R.S Pre-alpha released to Team members [Re: F19_CoNa]
SteveGee Offline
Member

Registered: 07/27/10
Posts: 1468
Loc: Planet Earth
Darren, do you know if the weekly builds are complete installs or updates to the existing build?

For some reason, my download speed absolutely sucks to their server and I didn't want to D/L the 71 build if the next one's gonna be a complete replacement.
_________________________
"Sometimes I wonder whether the world is being run by smart people who are putting us on, or by imbeciles who really mean it."
"Politicians are like dirty diapers. They need to be changed often and for the same reason."

Mark Twain

"I do not suffer from insanity. I enjoy every, single minute of it."

Top
#3410090 - 10/14/11 08:38 AM Re: C.A.R.S Pre-alpha released to Team members [Re: F19_CoNa]
Darren_Blythe Offline
SimHQ MotorSports Editor
Member

Registered: 04/14/10
Posts: 1353
Loc: Middlesex, UK
Today's build will be a complete install. However they are hoping to include an update client to make things incremental from now on.

ETA is 3-4pm UK time.
_________________________
Roses are #FF0000 , Violets are #0000FF

Top
#3410111 - 10/14/11 09:21 AM Re: C.A.R.S Pre-alpha released to Team members [Re: F19_CoNa]
Piotr Offline
Member

Registered: 04/12/10
Posts: 399
Loc: Warsaw, Poland
What do we do with new builds? We delete previous installations and install new build? Or is it an update file?
_________________________
rF2 nick: Gemm

Top
#3410112 - 10/14/11 09:25 AM Re: C.A.R.S Pre-alpha released to Team members [Re: F19_CoNa]
Darren_Blythe Offline
SimHQ MotorSports Editor
Member

Registered: 04/14/10
Posts: 1353
Loc: Middlesex, UK
For this one it's uninstall/reinstall. Subsequent builds should be upgradable using an in-game client i think.
_________________________
Roses are #FF0000 , Violets are #0000FF

Top
#3410159 - 10/14/11 11:57 AM Re: C.A.R.S Pre-alpha released to Team members [Re: F19_CoNa]
Darren_Blythe Offline
SimHQ MotorSports Editor
Member

Registered: 04/14/10
Posts: 1353
Loc: Middlesex, UK
build 0.73 is up. dl'ing now smile
_________________________
Roses are #FF0000 , Violets are #0000FF

Top
#3410328 - 10/14/11 03:45 PM Re: C.A.R.S Pre-alpha released to Team members [Re: F19_CoNa]
Coutie Offline
Member

Registered: 07/14/06
Posts: 941
Loc: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
I still have a bit of a delay with the new version. Not a real issue on the "Audi's" but the open wheel cars really are tough to drive.

Top
#3410374 - 10/14/11 04:57 PM Re: C.A.R.S Pre-alpha released to Team members [Re: Coutie]
Darren_Blythe Offline
SimHQ MotorSports Editor
Member

Registered: 04/14/10
Posts: 1353
Loc: Middlesex, UK
Originally Posted By: Coutie
I still have a bit of a delay with the new version. Not a real issue on the "Audi's" but the open wheel cars really are tough to drive.


I didn't really have the problem in the first place but the new version has tightened things even further for me. For many people it's FPS related. Try turning some settings down to see if it helps. You can drop textures to medium and shadows and reflections to low with barely any difference in visual quality. AA seems to have a big hit and disabling vsync helps too.
_________________________
Roses are #FF0000 , Violets are #0000FF

Top
#3410474 - 10/14/11 08:44 PM Re: C.A.R.S Pre-alpha released to Team members [Re: Coutie]
SteveGee Offline
Member

Registered: 07/27/10
Posts: 1468
Loc: Planet Earth
Originally Posted By: Coutie
I still have a bit of a delay with the new version. Not a real issue on the "Audi's" but the open wheel cars really are tough to drive.


Same with me....in the '86 turbo, it's almost undriveable for me. There's so much input lag that I'm having to anticipate where to turn in almost a full second before I actually have to. I've tried lowering details and it's made no difference at all.

Looks good, though....I can always fire it up and look at the pretty scenery... biggrin
_________________________
"Sometimes I wonder whether the world is being run by smart people who are putting us on, or by imbeciles who really mean it."
"Politicians are like dirty diapers. They need to be changed often and for the same reason."

Mark Twain

"I do not suffer from insanity. I enjoy every, single minute of it."

Top
#3410521 - 10/14/11 10:22 PM Re: C.A.R.S Pre-alpha released to Team members [Re: F19_CoNa]
Coutie Offline
Member

Registered: 07/14/06
Posts: 941
Loc: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
It's strange, steering seems to be okay, gas seems to have a bit of a delay, gear shifts have a delay, brakes has a bit of a delay, but some buttons on the wheel have no delay. I have my top right button on the G27 as select hud(or whatever it is) and it has no delay, but the bottom left button is look behind, and it has a .5 second lag on it. The only games I have ever had input lag in are NFS:Shift and F1 2010.

Top
#3410539 - 10/14/11 10:55 PM Re: C.A.R.S Pre-alpha released to Team members [Re: F19_CoNa]
Papa_K Offline
Member

Registered: 11/09/04
Posts: 2494
Loc: Anchorage, AK
Practically the same as Coutie here. The steering seems better now, but there's a gear shift delay. Throttle seems fine. Brakes, I didn't notice a delay, but I'll check it later.

The odd thing was that it didn't immediately recognize the G27 properly. It listed G7 with separate pedals, but showed gamepad mappings. Cycling around it came back to normal, but it wasn't pre-mapped. Clutch is unassigned, and I can't change it. I'll mess with it some more when I get a chance.

Is there a way to get rid of (or lessen) the fore/aft viewpoint movement when you hit brakes/throttle? I suppose I could get used to it, but I'd rather tighten the belts and do some neck exercises.
_______________

I can't resist... Take a look at the screenshots in the first post at this link, by redi:
http://www.nogripracing.com/forum/showthread.php?t=265731

I've seen it elsewhere, but what exactly is "World Movement" in the settings? Can I alter global rotation, or perhaps time as we know it?

Top
Page 4 of 26 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 25 26 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
Hop to:

Moderator:  EinsteinEP, RacerGT 
 
Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
What the heck just happened here????
by Kodiak
Yesterday at 10:22 PM
Okay, it's official. I suck and need help!
by - Ice
Yesterday at 10:08 PM
Dogs of War this Sunday
by Asid
Yesterday at 09:36 PM
Interesting Nvidia turf software
by Chivas
Yesterday at 08:44 PM
Interesting Nvidia turf software
by Chivas
Yesterday at 08:35 PM
The extra planes....
by - Ice
Yesterday at 06:58 PM
Impressive!
by peppergomez
Yesterday at 03:21 PM
PMDG News - P3D2
by Pielstick
Yesterday at 02:08 PM
Will there be a SimHQ review now it's officially out?
by the Dutchman
Yesterday at 01:58 PM
4k video around the Matterhorn, Swiss Alps
by JimK
Yesterday at 12:59 PM
 

Forum Use Agreement | Privacy Statement
Copyright 1997-2014, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.