Forums » Technology » Flight Sim Controllers » thrustmaster stuff? Active Topics You are not logged in. [Log In] [Register User]
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
Hop to:
#3403058 - 10/04/11 06:06 AM thrustmaster stuff?
3instein Offline
Member

Registered: 08/08/11
Posts: 238
Loc: Falkirk,Scotland
HI folks,I know I haven't posted a lot but I read these forums most days and was wondering if someone could please give me some advice.A friend gave me a T/M F-16 TQS andF-16 FLCS,even though there still boxed and like brand new they have the old analogue connectors,plus he had the digital mod put into them god knows when.It would be great to somehow get them to work as I play A-10 and they are both like brand new.
Now the questions:If I got a USB to analogue connector do you think that might work?or is that a non starter,if not then,where do I start or where (or who)could mod these so that they would be compatible with today's flight sims?I haven't got the know how myself to do this kind of stuff and if it could be done would it be worth it?Honestly their like brand new so I would hate them to go to waste.
Thanks in advance and happy flying,Michael, aka 3instein.
_________________________
3instein
Keep the faith


Top
#3403233 - 10/04/11 11:49 AM Re: thrustmaster stuff? [Re: 3instein]
unclemiller Online   screwy
Junior Member

Registered: 07/26/09
Posts: 82
Loc: Kentucky - United States
PM sent
_________________________
Asus Sabertooth Z77 motherboard
Intel i5-3570K OC'd @ 4.1Ghz CPU cooled by Corsair H100i
G-skill 16GB DDR3-1866 memory
EVGA GTX670 2GB FTW video card
Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium sound card
Corsair 800D case
Plextor 128GB SSD
Samsung 250GB SSD
Toshiba 3000GB HDD (2)
Planar PX2710MW monitor
Logitech G510 KB and G500 mouse
Turtle Beach PX21 headset and Sony 5.1 surround speakers
Cougar HOTAS USB controller w/ TM RCS analog rudders


Top
#3404539 - 10/05/11 10:39 PM Re: thrustmaster stuff? [Re: 3instein]
NamelessPFG Online   content
Member

Registered: 09/22/07
Posts: 756
If they don't have the Stickworks digital upgrade chips, they'll work with any cheap old gameport-to-USB adapter because they use a basic analog gameport interface.

However, programming them is a completely different matter. You can't do it with WinXP or later, so you'll need to keep a Win98SE or earlier system running for that (not sure about Win2000). I don't know if a virtual machine will be sufficient to get around that; I used to have a TM F-22 Pro, but sold it years ago.

Top
#3404633 - 10/06/11 03:44 AM Re: thrustmaster stuff? [Re: 3instein]
3instein Offline
Member

Registered: 08/08/11
Posts: 238
Loc: Falkirk,Scotland
It has the Bob Church digital chip inside,but I still have the old analogue chip in the box?
_________________________
3instein
Keep the faith


Top
#3404637 - 10/06/11 03:57 AM Re: thrustmaster stuff? [Re: 3instein]
3instein Offline
Member

Registered: 08/08/11
Posts: 238
Loc: Falkirk,Scotland
Just as a thought because this stick and throttle are in such good condition ,still boxed,all original hardly looked at manualsBob Chusch digital upgrade,analogue chip still there,heck there are still some floppy disks with the programme stuff there,It would really be a shame for them to go to waste.I know now what is involved in modifying them and frankly unless you stay in my street I haven't got the money to send them for some kind soul to convert them.Is there anyone with an old USB HOTAS system lying around that we could come to some sort of deal on?

Regards,

Mick.
_________________________
3instein
Keep the faith


Top
#3405099 - 10/06/11 04:43 PM Re: thrustmaster stuff? [Re: 3instein]
Sokol1 Offline
Member

Registered: 11/17/01
Posts: 1442
Loc: Internet
Read this thread in CH-Hangar, AFAIK is the more informative about use USB-Gameporte adaptor with old controllers:

http://www.ch-hangar.com/forum/showthread.php?5821-Gameport-Analog-in-WinXP-amp-USB-Adapters-Tested

IMO - The best (but not the easy) way to re-use this old (and good) controllers is rewire internally to USB with BU0836 or similar.

Sokol


Edited by Sokol1 (10/06/11 07:16 PM)

Top
#3405146 - 10/06/11 05:32 PM Re: thrustmaster stuff? [Re: 3instein]
3instein Offline
Member

Registered: 08/08/11
Posts: 238
Loc: Falkirk,Scotland
cheers Sokol1
_________________________
3instein
Keep the faith


Top
#3412742 - 10/18/11 05:53 AM Re: thrustmaster stuff? [Re: 3instein]
3instein Offline
Member

Registered: 08/08/11
Posts: 238
Loc: Falkirk,Scotland
Just a quick thank you for all the feedback folks and to say that the digital chips have found a new owner,so please consider this thread now closed,thanks.

Mick.
_________________________
3instein
Keep the faith


Top
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
Hop to:

Moderator:  EinsteinEP, RacerGT 
 
Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Tornado and F-14FD...FINALLY!!!
by MarkG
10 minutes 34 seconds ago
Desktop Simpit Project (PICTURE SPREE!!!)
by Attackmack
Today at 04:32 PM
Change from CH to Warthog?
by 74Capt
Today at 03:47 PM
Streaming campaign mode on Twitch
by ru_disa
Today at 02:41 PM
Prepar3D now has Oculus Rift DK2 support!
by f15sim
Today at 01:38 PM
GTX 980 out
by theKhan
Today at 12:26 PM
Guys, you've GOT to read about this. Banished with an actual game in it.
by komemiute
Today at 11:13 AM
California, where'd the water go???
by Chaz
Today at 11:02 AM
Calling in Sick
by KRT_Bong
Today at 10:57 AM
Did the latest 1.2.10 update break campaigns?
by Jayhawk
Today at 10:46 AM
 

Forum Use Agreement | Privacy Statement
Copyright 1997-2014, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.