Forums » Technology » Flight Sim Pit Builders » Ragtop's A-10C Build Active Topics You are not logged in. [Log In] [Register User]
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
Hop to:
#3394961 - 09/21/11 04:08 PM Ragtop's A-10C Build
Ragtop Offline
Member

Registered: 09/18/10
Posts: 354
Loc: Kent, UK
So I've been busy building my side consoles from Dimebugs' awesome cockpit plans, and I thought I'd share my progress over here, and hopefully also increase my chances of quick answers when I have problems!

I've already logged it all on the Eagle forums so if it's OK I'll link to there to save having to write everything twice!

One thing I could really use assistance on is finding CHEAP toggles the same size as that used in the TM:WH throttle to keep things consistent.

Enjoy!

Ragtop's A-10C Build
_________________________
[ CPU: i5 2500k @ 4.7gHz | MoBo: Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD3P | RAM: 8Gb Corsair Vengeance LP | GPU: Gainward GTX570 Phantom | OS: Win7 Ultimate 64 ]
[ Input: Logitech G27 + Nixim Brake Mod | TIR5 | QPAD Mk-80 | Razer Deathadder ]

Top
#3395000 - 09/21/11 05:10 PM Re: Ragtop's A-10C Build [Re: Ragtop]
HitchHikingFlatlander Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/21/06
Posts: 3978
Loc: California
LOL Yeah you can't copy and paste the post anyways from the ED forums. I tried and failed! Remember Ragtop to go one panel at a time and personally I prefer to focus on the important useful stuff first. My first panels will likely be the Arming and Landing Gear panels. Keep up the good work you've done some great work already!
_________________________
www.DCS-Mercenaries.com

A casual west coast Black Shark/A-10C Squadron always looking for extra pilots and good times!

Top
#3395001 - 09/21/11 05:13 PM Re: Ragtop's A-10C Build [Re: Ragtop]
Ragtop Offline
Member

Registered: 09/18/10
Posts: 354
Loc: Kent, UK
Nice to see you over here Hitch!

Absolutely, I think I'm going to start with the classic Electrical Control Panel, as it looks like a real simple one to get going with. It's going to cost me a real fortune if I can get these switches cheaper though!
_________________________
[ CPU: i5 2500k @ 4.7gHz | MoBo: Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD3P | RAM: 8Gb Corsair Vengeance LP | GPU: Gainward GTX570 Phantom | OS: Win7 Ultimate 64 ]
[ Input: Logitech G27 + Nixim Brake Mod | TIR5 | QPAD Mk-80 | Razer Deathadder ]

Top
#3402121 - 10/02/11 05:59 PM Re: Ragtop's A-10C Build [Re: Ragtop]
Ragtop Offline
Member

Registered: 09/18/10
Posts: 354
Loc: Kent, UK
Need a bit of help!

My Leo Bodnar BU0836X appeared yesterday in the post (Less than 24 hours after ordering it! Amazing service!)

But I'm having a little trouble. I'm using SPST switches for DCS A-10C, and having some problems with the game seeing them properly.

The windows input controller sees the switch just fine - flick the switch, light comes on, flick it off, light goes off. Perfect. In the DCS settings the switch assigns perfectly (Battery power in this case).

I launch the sim, and flick the switch, hooray! Battery power goes on. But the problem. I flick the switch off, but the battery doesn't go off. I flick it back on, the battery goes off. I flick it back again, nothing. I flick it back on a third time, and it goes back on as normal.

It's of course obvious what's happening. The single throw is seen as a press - on goes the switch, and when I flick it off, nothing is sent. I flick it again, and another press is sent, this time triggering it off.

So it would appear I need dual throw ON/ON switches. However, I'd be losing half of my potential switches on the BU0836X.

Concerned, I did a bit of looking into the system, and noticed that the switches on my TM Warthog throttle are seen as single presses in Windows, but work properly in DCS! So, it must be a software thing!

How can I get my switches to work like the TM:WH ones?

EDIT: Fixed it myself! Found XPadder which turns the switch into a keyboard press. You can then set XPadder to trigger a button on release. So when I bind battery power to the "B" key, one throw sends a B, and the release throws another B, perfect!

I'll leave the question there so that if anyone else runs into this issue they can find the answer.


Edited by Ragtop (10/02/11 07:30 PM)
_________________________
[ CPU: i5 2500k @ 4.7gHz | MoBo: Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD3P | RAM: 8Gb Corsair Vengeance LP | GPU: Gainward GTX570 Phantom | OS: Win7 Ultimate 64 ]
[ Input: Logitech G27 + Nixim Brake Mod | TIR5 | QPAD Mk-80 | Razer Deathadder ]

Top
#3402215 - 10/02/11 08:59 PM Re: Ragtop's A-10C Build [Re: Ragtop]
Gadroc Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 03/24/10
Posts: 5
You can also use Helios to do the same thing either by binding to simulated key presses like XPadder or directly via Helios built in LUA integration.

Top
#3402219 - 10/02/11 09:07 PM Re: Ragtop's A-10C Build [Re: Ragtop]
Ragtop Offline
Member

Registered: 09/18/10
Posts: 354
Loc: Kent, UK
Damn, of course I can! Facepalm! As great as XPadder is, I already use Helios, so thats one less application to run in the background!
_________________________
[ CPU: i5 2500k @ 4.7gHz | MoBo: Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD3P | RAM: 8Gb Corsair Vengeance LP | GPU: Gainward GTX570 Phantom | OS: Win7 Ultimate 64 ]
[ Input: Logitech G27 + Nixim Brake Mod | TIR5 | QPAD Mk-80 | Razer Deathadder ]

Top
#3402677 - 10/03/11 02:59 PM Re: Ragtop's A-10C Build [Re: Ragtop]
Renic Offline
Member

Registered: 08/24/11
Posts: 161
Loc: Southern California
Originally Posted By: Ragtop
EDIT: Fixed it myself! Found XPadder which turns the switch into a keyboard press. You can then set XPadder to trigger a button on release. So when I bind battery power to the "B" key, one throw sends a B, and the release throws another B, perfect!


Oh man! Been using Xpadder for a couple of years and I had no idea that it could do that! That will make things much easier for me down the road when I start building panels. Thanks!
_________________________
"He who sacrifices freedom for security deserves neither." - Ben Franklin

"I won't bow out bravely. I'll be kicking, screaming, fighting. To the end."

"I'm throwing Pit Building against the wall to see what sticks!"

Renic's Simpit blog

Top
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
Hop to:

Moderator:  EinsteinEP, RacerGT 
 
Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Price reductions on Add-on #1 and Skins pack Add-on #1 for WOFF
by Creaghorn
05:47 AM
Where can I get EF2000 V2 for 3dfx?
by jt_medina
05:29 AM
Bit OT and some self promotion.
by 453Raafspitty
02:22 AM
Military Monday - 20th October
by Meatsheild
12:58 AM
What People Talk About Before They Die
by Haggart
11:52 PM
In the Heart of the Sea
by Coot
10:19 PM
SH4 Attempt to Install Mods
by Haggart
08:26 PM
SF2E: What mods?
by brownba
08:21 PM
Steel Beasts AAR
by Asid
07:46 PM
VEAO de Havilland Vampire
by Silver_Dragon
07:45 PM
 

Forum Use Agreement | Privacy Statement
Copyright 1997-2014, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.