Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#3394961 - 09/21/11 08:08 PM Ragtop's A-10C Build  
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 570
Ragtop Offline
Member
Ragtop  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 570
Kent, UK
So I've been busy building my side consoles from Dimebugs' awesome cockpit plans, and I thought I'd share my progress over here, and hopefully also increase my chances of quick answers when I have problems!

I've already logged it all on the Eagle forums so if it's OK I'll link to there to save having to write everything twice!

One thing I could really use assistance on is finding CHEAP toggles the same size as that used in the TM:WH throttle to keep things consistent.

Enjoy!

Ragtop's A-10C Build


[ CPU: i5 2500k @ 4.7gHz | MoBo: Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD3P | RAM: 8Gb Corsair Vengeance LP | GPU: OCUK GTX 980 Reference | OS: Win7 Ultimate 64 ]
[ Input: QPAD Mk-80 | Razer Deathadder | Logitech G27 + Nixim Brake Mod | Saitek X52 | TIR5 ]
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#3395000 - 09/21/11 09:10 PM Re: Ragtop's A-10C Build [Re: Ragtop]  
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 4,321
HitchHikingFlatlander Offline
Senior Member
HitchHikingFlatlander  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 4,321
California
LOL Yeah you can't copy and paste the post anyways from the ED forums. I tried and failed! Remember Ragtop to go one panel at a time and personally I prefer to focus on the important useful stuff first. My first panels will likely be the Arming and Landing Gear panels. Keep up the good work you've done some great work already!


I've got a bad feeling about this.....
#3395001 - 09/21/11 09:13 PM Re: Ragtop's A-10C Build [Re: Ragtop]  
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 570
Ragtop Offline
Member
Ragtop  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 570
Kent, UK
Nice to see you over here Hitch!

Absolutely, I think I'm going to start with the classic Electrical Control Panel, as it looks like a real simple one to get going with. It's going to cost me a real fortune if I can get these switches cheaper though!


[ CPU: i5 2500k @ 4.7gHz | MoBo: Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD3P | RAM: 8Gb Corsair Vengeance LP | GPU: OCUK GTX 980 Reference | OS: Win7 Ultimate 64 ]
[ Input: QPAD Mk-80 | Razer Deathadder | Logitech G27 + Nixim Brake Mod | Saitek X52 | TIR5 ]
#3402121 - 10/02/11 09:59 PM Re: Ragtop's A-10C Build [Re: Ragtop]  
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 570
Ragtop Offline
Member
Ragtop  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 570
Kent, UK
Need a bit of help!

My Leo Bodnar BU0836X appeared yesterday in the post (Less than 24 hours after ordering it! Amazing service!)

But I'm having a little trouble. I'm using SPST switches for DCS A-10C, and having some problems with the game seeing them properly.

The windows input controller sees the switch just fine - flick the switch, light comes on, flick it off, light goes off. Perfect. In the DCS settings the switch assigns perfectly (Battery power in this case).

I launch the sim, and flick the switch, hooray! Battery power goes on. But the problem. I flick the switch off, but the battery doesn't go off. I flick it back on, the battery goes off. I flick it back again, nothing. I flick it back on a third time, and it goes back on as normal.

It's of course obvious what's happening. The single throw is seen as a press - on goes the switch, and when I flick it off, nothing is sent. I flick it again, and another press is sent, this time triggering it off.

So it would appear I need dual throw ON/ON switches. However, I'd be losing half of my potential switches on the BU0836X.

Concerned, I did a bit of looking into the system, and noticed that the switches on my TM Warthog throttle are seen as single presses in Windows, but work properly in DCS! So, it must be a software thing!

How can I get my switches to work like the TM:WH ones?

EDIT: Fixed it myself! Found XPadder which turns the switch into a keyboard press. You can then set XPadder to trigger a button on release. So when I bind battery power to the "B" key, one throw sends a B, and the release throws another B, perfect!

I'll leave the question there so that if anyone else runs into this issue they can find the answer.

Last edited by Ragtop; 10/02/11 11:30 PM.

[ CPU: i5 2500k @ 4.7gHz | MoBo: Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD3P | RAM: 8Gb Corsair Vengeance LP | GPU: OCUK GTX 980 Reference | OS: Win7 Ultimate 64 ]
[ Input: QPAD Mk-80 | Razer Deathadder | Logitech G27 + Nixim Brake Mod | Saitek X52 | TIR5 ]
#3402215 - 10/03/11 12:59 AM Re: Ragtop's A-10C Build [Re: Ragtop]  
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 5
Gadroc Offline
Junior Member
Gadroc  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 5
You can also use Helios to do the same thing either by binding to simulated key presses like XPadder or directly via Helios built in LUA integration.

#3402219 - 10/03/11 01:07 AM Re: Ragtop's A-10C Build [Re: Ragtop]  
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 570
Ragtop Offline
Member
Ragtop  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 570
Kent, UK
Damn, of course I can! Facepalm! As great as XPadder is, I already use Helios, so thats one less application to run in the background!


[ CPU: i5 2500k @ 4.7gHz | MoBo: Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD3P | RAM: 8Gb Corsair Vengeance LP | GPU: OCUK GTX 980 Reference | OS: Win7 Ultimate 64 ]
[ Input: QPAD Mk-80 | Razer Deathadder | Logitech G27 + Nixim Brake Mod | Saitek X52 | TIR5 ]
#3402677 - 10/03/11 06:59 PM Re: Ragtop's A-10C Build [Re: Ragtop]  
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 161
Renic Offline
Member
Renic  Offline
Member

Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 161
Southern California
Originally Posted By: Ragtop
EDIT: Fixed it myself! Found XPadder which turns the switch into a keyboard press. You can then set XPadder to trigger a button on release. So when I bind battery power to the "B" key, one throw sends a B, and the release throws another B, perfect!


Oh man! Been using Xpadder for a couple of years and I had no idea that it could do that! That will make things much easier for me down the road when I start building panels. Thanks!


"He who sacrifices freedom for security deserves neither." - Ben Franklin

"I won't bow out bravely. I'll be kicking, screaming, fighting. To the end."

"I'm throwing Pit Building against the wall to see what sticks!"

Renic's Simpit blog

Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Political summit
by DaBBQ. 06/22/17 10:51 PM
Ghost Goose
by Jayhawk. 06/22/17 09:20 PM
Steam Summer Sale
by Bib4Tuna. 06/22/17 05:10 PM
Got to drive one of my dream cars today
by semmern. 06/22/17 03:44 PM
Canadian JTF2 sniper kills ISIS fighter 2 miles away
by WangoTango. 06/22/17 03:27 PM
When John Wick plays NERF
by Bill_Grant. 06/22/17 01:40 PM
Where Does Chocolate Milk Come From?
by KraziKanuK. 06/22/17 01:31 PM
The Candidate's Hat
by Warbirds. 06/22/17 01:06 PM
The "NEW" Game Shows
by Falstar. 06/22/17 02:38 AM
British Engineering
by KraziKanuK. 06/22/17 01:13 AM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0