Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#3400261 - 09/29/11 07:36 PM Prepar3D  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 12,865
Tom_Weiss Online content
LockOnFiles"R"Us
Tom_Weiss  Online Content
LockOnFiles"R"Us
Veteran

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 12,865
3rd Planet, Sun
I wrote Prepar3D @ LockOnFiles



for those that don't know what it is, it will be a pleasant surprise

smile


visit LockOnFiles.com

my facebook page
https://www.facebook.com/lockon.files


Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#3400309 - 09/29/11 08:45 PM Re: Prepar3D [Re: Tom_Weiss]  
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,939
Scoobe Offline
Senior Member
Scoobe  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,939
Good review,

Ive been using Prear3d for about 3 weeks now and got most of my addons to work with it by just pointing my scenery library to FSX and adding in manually. For planes, I just copied over to the Prepar3d/aircraft directory, then copy over gauges and effects folders. I didnt want to take the chance of screwing up my FSX install. There are some addons like Ultimate traffic 2, FSDT scenery, enbmod, shade and all my Orbx scenery, which I cannot get to work in P3D, Those issues will keep me from going to prepar3d and keep me prefering FSX right now. However, if these products get updated, or new versions for prepar3d come out, Ill move in a heartbeat. PD3 is more efficent at what it does. Although I get the same FPS with it, I do notice it seems more fluid, but cant put my finger on it. I like the interface, but hate the fact that it goes right into the default flight when it starts.
My bigest worry with Prepa3d is if the developers will support it. Orbx has already stated they will release Prepar3d versions of all their scenery at a very low price, but it wont be a free update. Im OK with that. But some companies like flight1 do not approve of porting any of their stuff to P3d and right now, have no plans on supporting it. If it becomes popular, Im sure they will. Right now, Im taking a wait and see approach. Ill get my monthly subscription open to support the developers, even though Ive un-installed it for now, but I think it has a bright future if everyone supports it and flight turns out not to be what everyone hopes for.

Rob


Intel Core i7-3770K
GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 2000 (PC3 16000)
MSI GTX 960 GTX 4GB
#3400516 - 09/30/11 02:33 AM Re: Prepar3D [Re: Tom_Weiss]  
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 8,666
kludger Offline
Hotshot
kludger  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 8,666
SE Pennsylvania, USA
Nice review Tom I'm also optimistic but waiting to see ORBX/REX support as I don't enjoy flying without those...

Really hoping Prepar3d manages to support modern directx and sli/xfire, if they can do that and support most of my add-ons then I'll move over.


i7-7700k@4.5ghz, GTX1080Ti,BenQ XL2420G-g-sync,Oculus Rift
#3400695 - 09/30/11 12:13 PM Re: Prepar3D [Re: Tom_Weiss]  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 12,865
Tom_Weiss Online content
LockOnFiles"R"Us
Tom_Weiss  Online Content
LockOnFiles"R"Us
Veteran

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 12,865
3rd Planet, Sun
Thanks smile

it is going to be great to have an FSX without all those problems we got used to live with ...


visit LockOnFiles.com

my facebook page
https://www.facebook.com/lockon.files


#3400852 - 09/30/11 04:48 PM Re: Prepar3D [Re: Tom_Weiss]  
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 106
Lurker_71 Offline
Member
Lurker_71  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 106
500 bucks is a bit steep, no?

#3401294 - 10/01/11 08:19 AM Re: Prepar3D [Re: Lurker_71]  
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 8,666
kludger Offline
Hotshot
kludger  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 8,666
SE Pennsylvania, USA
Originally Posted By: Lurker_71
500 bucks is a bit steep, no?


Most people trying it out are doing so via the $10/month "developer" subscription.

Some more info and promising details on the ORBX forum, looks like they have the ORBX demo + REX + EZCA + plane add-ons working with good effect:
http://www.orbxsystems.com/forum/topic/37323-prepar3d-v12-and-orbx-pnw-demo-v10/

In a couple of more weeks once people have figured out the "dance" needed for Prepar3D + REX + EZCA I may give this a try just to compare to FSX for now, I am interested in hearing more about the new LM pricing model as I don't want to keep paying $10/month indefinitely unless there is quite a bit more enhancement over FSX (especially gfx performance).

Good to see that ORBX seems to be going in the direction of providing Prepar3D license for their products for a reasonable additional fee, I could see myself doing that for PNW if it was worth it over FSX.

Thankfully I will be busy with TakeOn Helicopter soon while progress on this Prepar3D goes on and stuff should be better figured out by the time I am ready to check it out for myself.


i7-7700k@4.5ghz, GTX1080Ti,BenQ XL2420G-g-sync,Oculus Rift
#3401809 - 10/02/11 09:47 AM Re: Prepar3D [Re: kludger]  
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 36
Forna73 Offline
Junior Member
Forna73  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2011
Posts: 36
I read in the features list that there is "sensor view" like FLIR...
Do you think VRS guys will make their "SuperHornet" and "TacPack" compatible?
In this way you'll have a coplete avionic suite for the big "Bug" thumbsup

#3402083 - 10/02/11 08:36 PM Re: Prepar3D [Re: Tom_Weiss]  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 12,865
Tom_Weiss Online content
LockOnFiles"R"Us
Tom_Weiss  Online Content
LockOnFiles"R"Us
Veteran

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 12,865
3rd Planet, Sun
I know that many are making compatibility packs - but I doubt VRS has it as its priority right now


visit LockOnFiles.com

my facebook page
https://www.facebook.com/lockon.files


#3405095 - 10/06/11 08:37 PM Re: Prepar3D [Re: Tom_Weiss]  
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,111
Ark Offline
Cat Herder
Ark  Offline
Cat Herder
Member

Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,111
Fresno, CA.
Outside of a better GUI, what does Prepar3D offer over FSX? It seems like performace is about that same, so why not stick with FSX?


Ark

Windows 7 x64
Asus P6T Deluxe mobo
Core i7 920 @ 4.0
6GB G.Skill DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 680 Classified
SB X-FI Fatality
640GB WD "Black"
1GB WD "Black"
LG 39" LCD / Dell 3007WFP-HC 30" LCD / Acer H233H 23" LCD


RIP Positive G
#3405487 - 10/07/11 01:07 PM Re: Prepar3D [Re: Tom_Weiss]  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 12,865
Tom_Weiss Online content
LockOnFiles"R"Us
Tom_Weiss  Online Content
LockOnFiles"R"Us
Veteran

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 12,865
3rd Planet, Sun
they are working now on DirectX11 compatibility ...


visit LockOnFiles.com

my facebook page
https://www.facebook.com/lockon.files



Moderated by  RacerGT, Stormtrooper 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Netflix: Bright trailer
by Raw Kryptonite. 07/21/17 08:18 PM
NASA video uploads to YT
by FourSpeed. 07/21/17 06:24 PM
Tour de France
by KraziKanuK. 07/21/17 04:35 PM
New WW2 game
by KraziKanuK. 07/21/17 02:40 PM
Upcoming Spitfire Documentary
by F4UDash4. 07/20/17 09:56 PM
Chester Bennington, RIP
by Chaz. 07/20/17 09:09 PM
Someone was watching too much Breaking Bad
by Top Gun. 07/20/17 03:01 PM
Joke, IS fighter..
by Catfish. 07/20/17 01:37 PM
RIP Red West
by F4UDash4. 07/20/17 04:31 AM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0