Forums » Technology » Flight Sim Pit Builders » How can I build one of these? Active Topics You are not logged in. [Log In] [Register User]
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
Hop to:
#3400119 - 09/29/11 12:39 PM How can I build one of these?
Renic Offline
Member

Registered: 08/24/11
Posts: 161
Loc: Southern California
Full 360 degree 2 axis motion simulator cockpit.

_________________________
"He who sacrifices freedom for security deserves neither." - Ben Franklin

"I won't bow out bravely. I'll be kicking, screaming, fighting. To the end."

"I'm throwing Pit Building against the wall to see what sticks!"

Renic's Simpit blog

Top
#3400187 - 09/29/11 01:56 PM Re: How can I build one of these? [Re: Renic]
- Ice Offline
Hotshot

Registered: 06/23/05
Posts: 9403
Loc: Philippines / North East UK
Holy #%&*$#, I want one!
_________________________
- Ice

Top
#3400266 - 09/29/11 03:45 PM Re: How can I build one of these? [Re: Renic]
Brandano Offline
Member

Registered: 08/14/07
Posts: 285
Loc: Caput Mundi (well, it used to ...
The motion cues seem all over the place, though

Top
#3400367 - 09/29/11 05:48 PM Re: How can I build one of these? [Re: Brandano]
AggressorBLUE Offline
Check out my
Senior Member

Registered: 12/15/09
Posts: 2977
Loc: Jerz
Originally Posted By: Brandano
The motion cues seem all over the place, though


Plus you'll probably be paying about 20k for something lacks the other 4 axis needed for simulating flight. This was part of a student project in Brazil, so it's probably not going to see production anyway.


that said, An ideal simulator would combine three things:

-The above sim, with full roll and tilt axis.


-I forget the term, but I've seen simulators that simulate G-forces by both deflating the seat cushins of the seat, while squeezing the flight harness. Not a perfect system, but it's the best available.


-A Stewart Platform to mount the above on


Edited by aggressorblue (09/29/11 06:04 PM)
_________________________
My Rig:i5-3570k @ 4.2 GHZ W/ Corsair Hydro H110 Cooler / Asus Sabertooth Z77 Mobo /Zotac GTX 970 AMP! Extreme Edition / 8 Gigs DDR3 1600 G.skills Ram / A Few SSDs, and a Bunch of HDDs / All held together by: Corsair C70 Case

Other Assets Deployed:
HOTAS: Thrustmaster Warthog SN#22621/CH Throttle Quad/MFG Crosswind Pedals SN#0004 smile
TrackIR TIR 5 w/ TrackClip Pro biggrin
Simpit: Obutto R3VOLUTION

Wow. this place went from 0 to Fox News in a hurry. ~ near_blind

Top
#3400397 - 09/29/11 06:38 PM Re: How can I build one of these? [Re: Brandano]
JAMF Offline
Frugalite & P-38 fan
Senior Member

Registered: 05/29/10
Posts: 3809
Loc: The Netherlands
Originally Posted By: Brandano
The motion cues seem all over the place, though
By the looks of it, it's a straight pitch-roll conversion from game to motion pit.

Top
#3400633 - 09/30/11 04:24 AM Re: How can I build one of these? [Re: Renic]
- Ice Offline
Hotshot

Registered: 06/23/05
Posts: 9403
Loc: Philippines / North East UK
Doesn't the above rig already roll and tilt? It rolled the guy inverted a couple of times!
_________________________
- Ice

Top
#3400649 - 09/30/11 05:26 AM Re: How can I build one of these? [Re: Renic]
Brandano Offline
Member

Registered: 08/14/07
Posts: 285
Loc: Caput Mundi (well, it used to ...
Yes, but the forces you would feel in the cockpit are not aligned with the position of the plane. Getting sensible motion cues requires a fair bit more math than just matching the position of the simulated plane. if you look at a six axis platform in action, you will see that as the plane starts on the runway the platform will start moving forward, to give the initial impulse of acceleration, then it will tilt backward to simulate sustained acceleration, while returning to the center to be ready to accelerate suddenly in other directions. also, on a plane you won't have very large lateral accelerations, even in strongly yawed situations. Most of the accelerations are on the vertical axis, while the most rotations the inner ear will sense will be on the roll and yaw axes, pitch getting masquered by the vertical acceleration.

Top
#3404173 - 10/05/11 01:30 PM Re: How can I build one of these? [Re: Renic]
f15sim Offline
Member

Registered: 01/13/04
Posts: 1049
Loc: Graham, WA
It would also have to have some kind of shell that would eliminate any externally provided position cues.

g.
_________________________
Proud owner of 80-0007
http://www.f15sim.com - The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - the Me-109F/X Project

Top
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
Hop to:

Moderator:  RacerGT 
 
Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Katusha Girl Soldier - a WW2 comic series
by LukeFF
12:14 AM
Anyone here from or live in Alaska?
by CG2015
08:00 PM
Take a walk on the pucker express.
by JimK
07:41 PM
RPG choices Poll
by Dunolde
05:28 PM
Taco Bell commercial
by Vertigo1
04:06 PM
Please, no lewd Banana jokes! But phallic jokes are okay!
by CG2015
04:06 PM
Section through an F1 car.
by RedToo
12:19 PM
World War 2 movies with DVD covers that are insulting toward WW II Veterans and WW II Buffs
by CG2015
12:58 AM
The driving student from hell!
by Desert Eagle
03/27/15 08:11 PM
Another USS Enterprise
by Mad Max
03/27/15 08:02 PM
 

Forum Use Agreement | Privacy Statement
Copyright 1997-2014, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.