Forums » Technology » Flight Sim Pit Builders » How can I build one of these? Active Topics You are not logged in. [Log In] [Register User]
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
Hop to:
#3400119 - 09/29/11 12:39 PM How can I build one of these?
Renic Offline
Member

Registered: 08/24/11
Posts: 161
Loc: Southern California
Full 360 degree 2 axis motion simulator cockpit.

_________________________
"He who sacrifices freedom for security deserves neither." - Ben Franklin

"I won't bow out bravely. I'll be kicking, screaming, fighting. To the end."

"I'm throwing Pit Building against the wall to see what sticks!"

Renic's Simpit blog

Top
#3400187 - 09/29/11 01:56 PM Re: How can I build one of these? [Re: Renic]
- Ice Offline
Hotshot

Registered: 06/23/05
Posts: 9610
Loc: Philippines / North East UK
Holy #%&*$#, I want one!
_________________________
- Ice

Top
#3400266 - 09/29/11 03:45 PM Re: How can I build one of these? [Re: Renic]
Brandano Offline
Member

Registered: 08/14/07
Posts: 293
Loc: Caput Mundi (well, it used to ...
The motion cues seem all over the place, though

Top
#3400367 - 09/29/11 05:48 PM Re: How can I build one of these? [Re: Brandano]
AggressorBLUE Offline
Check out my
Senior Member

Registered: 12/15/09
Posts: 3075
Loc: Jerz
Originally Posted By: Brandano
The motion cues seem all over the place, though


Plus you'll probably be paying about 20k for something lacks the other 4 axis needed for simulating flight. This was part of a student project in Brazil, so it's probably not going to see production anyway.


that said, An ideal simulator would combine three things:

-The above sim, with full roll and tilt axis.


-I forget the term, but I've seen simulators that simulate G-forces by both deflating the seat cushins of the seat, while squeezing the flight harness. Not a perfect system, but it's the best available.


-A Stewart Platform to mount the above on


Edited by aggressorblue (09/29/11 06:04 PM)
_________________________
My Rig:i5-3570k @ 4.2 GHZ W/ Corsair Hydro H110 Cooler / Asus Sabertooth Z77 Mobo /Zotac GTX 970 AMP! Extreme Edition / 8 Gigs DDR3 1600 G.skills Ram / A Few SSDs, and a Bunch of HDDs / All held together by: Corsair C70 Case

Other Assets Deployed:
HOTAS: Thrustmaster Warthog SN#22621/CH Throttle Quad/MFG Crosswind Pedals SN#0004 smile
TrackIR TIR 5 w/ TrackClip Pro biggrin
Simpit: Obutto R3VOLUTION

Wow. this place went from 0 to Fox News in a hurry. ~ near_blind

Top
#3400397 - 09/29/11 06:38 PM Re: How can I build one of these? [Re: Brandano]
JAMF Offline
Frugalite & P-38 fan
Senior Member

Registered: 05/29/10
Posts: 3809
Loc: The Netherlands
Originally Posted By: Brandano
The motion cues seem all over the place, though
By the looks of it, it's a straight pitch-roll conversion from game to motion pit.

Top
#3400633 - 09/30/11 04:24 AM Re: How can I build one of these? [Re: Renic]
- Ice Offline
Hotshot

Registered: 06/23/05
Posts: 9610
Loc: Philippines / North East UK
Doesn't the above rig already roll and tilt? It rolled the guy inverted a couple of times!
_________________________
- Ice

Top
#3400649 - 09/30/11 05:26 AM Re: How can I build one of these? [Re: Renic]
Brandano Offline
Member

Registered: 08/14/07
Posts: 293
Loc: Caput Mundi (well, it used to ...
Yes, but the forces you would feel in the cockpit are not aligned with the position of the plane. Getting sensible motion cues requires a fair bit more math than just matching the position of the simulated plane. if you look at a six axis platform in action, you will see that as the plane starts on the runway the platform will start moving forward, to give the initial impulse of acceleration, then it will tilt backward to simulate sustained acceleration, while returning to the center to be ready to accelerate suddenly in other directions. also, on a plane you won't have very large lateral accelerations, even in strongly yawed situations. Most of the accelerations are on the vertical axis, while the most rotations the inner ear will sense will be on the roll and yaw axes, pitch getting masquered by the vertical acceleration.

Top
#3404173 - 10/05/11 01:30 PM Re: How can I build one of these? [Re: Renic]
f15sim Offline
Member

Registered: 01/13/04
Posts: 1072
Loc: Graham, WA
It would also have to have some kind of shell that would eliminate any externally provided position cues.

g.
_________________________
Proud owner of 80-0007
http://www.f15sim.com - The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - the Me-109F/X Project

Top
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
Hop to:

Moderator:  RacerGT 
 
Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Euro Truck Sim 2 Multiplayer Traffic Jams
by Desert Eagle
06:55 PM
SimHQ TeamSpeak Server Hijacked??
by The Nephilim
06:16 PM
May 25th 1977 it all started, Long Ago in a Galaxy Far, Far away
by The Nephilim
06:11 PM
Enjoying The Witcher 3! [no spoilers]
by - Ice
04:39 PM
Public Service Announcement: The Dangers of Selfie Sticks.
by CG2015
04:13 PM
The pen is mightier than the sword (or tongue)
by Timothy
01:51 PM
1999 Oldsmobile Intrigue No Crank??
by The Nephilim
10:13 AM
Don't Panic!
by Legend
05/24/15 10:56 PM
Ideas from the culinary inclined fellas
by WileECoyote
05/24/15 10:18 PM
How fast can a car go?
by CG2015
05/24/15 09:26 PM
 

Forum Use Agreement | Privacy Statement
Copyright 1997-2014, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.