Forums » Technology » Flight Sim Pit Builders » How can I build one of these? Active Topics You are not logged in. [Log In] [Register User]
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
Hop to:
#3400119 - 09/29/11 12:39 PM How can I build one of these?
Renic Offline
Member

Registered: 08/24/11
Posts: 161
Loc: Southern California
Full 360 degree 2 axis motion simulator cockpit.

_________________________
"He who sacrifices freedom for security deserves neither." - Ben Franklin

"I won't bow out bravely. I'll be kicking, screaming, fighting. To the end."

"I'm throwing Pit Building against the wall to see what sticks!"

Renic's Simpit blog


Top
#3400187 - 09/29/11 01:56 PM Re: How can I build one of these? [Re: Renic]
- Ice Online   tunes
Hotshot

Registered: 06/23/05
Posts: 8679
Loc: Philippines / North East UK
Holy #%&*$#, I want one!
_________________________
- Ice

Top

#3400266 - 09/29/11 03:45 PM Re: How can I build one of these? [Re: Renic]
Brandano Offline
Member

Registered: 08/14/07
Posts: 276
Loc: Caput Mundi (well, it used to ...
The motion cues seem all over the place, though

Top
#3400367 - 09/29/11 05:48 PM Re: How can I build one of these? [Re: Brandano]
AggressorBLUE Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 12/15/09
Posts: 2545
Loc: Jerz
Originally Posted By: Brandano
The motion cues seem all over the place, though


Plus you'll probably be paying about 20k for something lacks the other 4 axis needed for simulating flight. This was part of a student project in Brazil, so it's probably not going to see production anyway.


that said, An ideal simulator would combine three things:

-The above sim, with full roll and tilt axis.


-I forget the term, but I've seen simulators that simulate G-forces by both deflating the seat cushins of the seat, while squeezing the flight harness. Not a perfect system, but it's the best available.


-A Stewart Platform to mount the above on


Edited by aggressorblue (09/29/11 06:04 PM)
_________________________
My Rig:i5-3570k @ 4.2 GHZ With Corsair Hydro H110 Cooler / Asus Sabertooth Z77 Mobo / EVGA GTX 660 SuperClocked / 8 Gigs DDR3 1600 G.skills Ram / A couple SSDs, and a Bunch of HDDs / All held together by: Corsair C70 Case

Other Assets Deployed:
HOTAS: Logitech G940 frown Thrustmaster Warthog SN#22621/CH Throttle Quad/MFG Crosswind Pedals SN#0004 smile
TrackIR biggrin
Simpit: ETA Q2 2014
Wheel: ETA Q4 2014

Top
#3400397 - 09/29/11 06:38 PM Re: How can I build one of these? [Re: Brandano]
JAMF Offline
Frugalite & P-38 fan
Senior Member

Registered: 05/29/10
Posts: 3809
Loc: The Netherlands
Originally Posted By: Brandano
The motion cues seem all over the place, though
By the looks of it, it's a straight pitch-roll conversion from game to motion pit.

Top
#3400633 - 09/30/11 04:24 AM Re: How can I build one of these? [Re: Renic]
- Ice Online   tunes
Hotshot

Registered: 06/23/05
Posts: 8679
Loc: Philippines / North East UK
Doesn't the above rig already roll and tilt? It rolled the guy inverted a couple of times!
_________________________
- Ice

Top
#3400649 - 09/30/11 05:26 AM Re: How can I build one of these? [Re: Renic]
Brandano Offline
Member

Registered: 08/14/07
Posts: 276
Loc: Caput Mundi (well, it used to ...
Yes, but the forces you would feel in the cockpit are not aligned with the position of the plane. Getting sensible motion cues requires a fair bit more math than just matching the position of the simulated plane. if you look at a six axis platform in action, you will see that as the plane starts on the runway the platform will start moving forward, to give the initial impulse of acceleration, then it will tilt backward to simulate sustained acceleration, while returning to the center to be ready to accelerate suddenly in other directions. also, on a plane you won't have very large lateral accelerations, even in strongly yawed situations. Most of the accelerations are on the vertical axis, while the most rotations the inner ear will sense will be on the roll and yaw axes, pitch getting masquered by the vertical acceleration.

Top
#3404173 - 10/05/11 01:30 PM Re: How can I build one of these? [Re: Renic]
Gene Buckle Offline
Member

Registered: 01/13/04
Posts: 935
Loc: Graham, WA
It would also have to have some kind of shell that would eliminate any externally provided position cues.

g.
_________________________
Proud owner of 80-0007
http://www.f15sim.com - The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - the Me-109F/X Project

Top
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
Hop to:

Moderator:  RacerGT 
 
Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ with these links


Social


Recent Topics
PiperSport FSX & P3D2
by Pielstick
Today at 06:36 PM
If you upgraded from X-52 to X-52 Pro, you must see this in case you haven't already!
by letterboy1
Today at 04:34 PM
UH-1N Emergency Checklist
by Gigolety
Today at 04:01 PM
A few minor pieces of help needed.
by MiGEater
Today at 03:49 PM
dpi 256 upgrade to 1080 or better
by JosephSanchez
Today at 03:44 PM
New to BOB2-looking for a TM Warthog profile
by sobe
Today at 03:36 PM
PE2 Heavy Fighter support
by Mastiff
Today at 02:04 PM
Server name? IP?
by Magnum
Today at 02:01 PM
Whiskey-Bravo needs a few [somewhat-good?] men for small squad ops in ARMA 3
by Heyvern69
Today at 01:02 PM
These guys know how to do air to air video...
by BeachAV8R
Today at 11:45 AM
 

Forum Use Agreement | Privacy Statement
Copyright 1997-2013, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.