Forums » Technology » Flight Sim Pit Builders » Rudder pedals Active Topics You are not logged in. [Log In] [Register User]
Page 2 of 3 < 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
Hop to:
#3397619 - 09/25/11 08:55 PM Re: Rudder pedals [Re: jerryboy]
PropNut Offline
Member

Registered: 06/25/09
Posts: 788
Loc: Greenville, Michigan
Hey Jerryboy, I built the pedals that Sokol1 recommends, they are still working great after a couple of years use.
_________________________
F/A-18C Hornet cockpit build project:

http://hornetpits.org/index.php?topic=15.0

Top
#3397737 - 09/26/11 04:09 AM Re: Rudder pedals [Re: jerryboy]
jerryboy Offline
Member

Registered: 07/20/10
Posts: 170
OK, I've nearly finished some pedals with toe brakes (THOMMOS blog) and I've got a joystick to vandalise, does anyone know how I should be wiring it up. My PC does not have a gameport so I'll be using the joystck USB, how do I connect the two brake pedal pots to the joystick wiring or am I totally up the wrong tree.

Top
#3397810 - 09/26/11 09:02 AM Re: Rudder pedals [Re: jerryboy]
CyBerkut Offline
Former Quantum Mechanic
Senior Member

Registered: 07/24/09
Posts: 2588
Loc: North of St. Petersburg
If you are using the pots from a 3 axis joystick, just keep them wired to the same connection points that they were wired to inside the joystick controller. It would just be a matter of adding/extending wires.

If you are substituting other pots, then you need to figure out which leads are equivalent to the ones that were in the joystick controller.

If you only have a 2 axis joystick controller, then you have a problem. Go back to the earlier recommendation in this thread. smile
_________________________
Je suis, Jean Galt.

What you and I agreed to abide by in these forums!

Top
#3397895 - 09/26/11 12:14 PM Re: Rudder pedals [Re: jerryboy]
jerryboy Offline
Member

Registered: 07/20/10
Posts: 170
Thanks, time to get dangerous with a soldering iron.

Top
#3404772 - 10/06/11 10:14 AM Re: Rudder pedals [Re: jerryboy]
jerryboy Offline
Member

Registered: 07/20/10
Posts: 170
OK, built and working in BOB2 and ROF but causing problems in IL2, either not recognised or telling the game my other joystick no longer exists. Any clues? I've also posted on SAS forum so sorry for any confusion.

Top
#3405019 - 10/06/11 03:09 PM Re: Rudder pedals [Re: jerryboy]
Brandano Offline
Member

Registered: 08/14/07
Posts: 293
Loc: Caput Mundi (well, it used to ...
Probably IL2 only sees Windows's "joystick one". Which input device is in the first slot will be decided by windows by the order they are plugged in or discovered by the system. I guess there's "virtual joystick" drivers that can capture inputs from several joysticks and show them to windows as a single one on the first slot to work around this issue. However, I am mainly a Linux user nowadays and can't come up with a software name for something like that off the top of my head.

Top
#3405525 - 10/07/11 10:22 AM Re: Rudder pedals [Re: jerryboy]
jerryboy Offline
Member

Registered: 07/20/10
Posts: 170
Thanks for getting back Brandano, managed to sort it by unplugging everything, switching of the pc, plugging it all back in, firing up the pc and then testing all joystick inputs, it then said AHHHH,THAT joystick and it worked.

Top
#3405605 - 10/07/11 12:08 PM Re: Rudder pedals [Re: jerryboy]
Sokol1 Offline
Member

Registered: 11/17/01
Posts: 1881
Loc: Internet
Quote:
Probably IL2 only sees Windows's "joystick one".


Just FYI - Il-2 recognize FOUR controllers (stick, pedal, gamepade, TrackIR...)
http://simhq.com/forum/ubbthreads.php/topics/3139352/Master_list_sims_with_multiple.html#Post3139352

Jerryboy,

Nice that all work. thumbsup
Post some pictures.

Sokol1

Top
#3407114 - 10/10/11 07:41 AM Re: Rudder pedals [Re: jerryboy]
jerryboy Offline
Member

Registered: 07/20/10
Posts: 170

Ta for all the help folks.

Top
#3407292 - 10/10/11 02:07 PM Re: Rudder pedals [Re: jerryboy]
Brandano Offline
Member

Registered: 08/14/07
Posts: 293
Loc: Caput Mundi (well, it used to ...
Nice work, looks simple but sturdy. I'd put a reference mark with some tape or a white marker on the pot and the rubber wheel to monitor any slippage that might creep in over time, though. It should not happen, since there's no big friction in the assembly. If you ever move over to a hall sensing device you might want to use a lower gearing rate, or eliminate it altogether like I did on mine.

Top
Page 2 of 3 < 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
Hop to:

Moderator:  RacerGT 
 
Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Civilian pilot owns his own Harrier fighter jets
by Linebacker
07:27 PM
Hotboxing the Car
by Desert Eagle
07:21 PM
New pistol...
by Dart
06:53 PM
Kung Fury released
by Desert Eagle
06:39 PM
PC Gaming on a growing trend globally
by Bib4Tuna
02:22 PM
Aircraft with laser weapons incoming by 2022
by marko1231123
01:56 PM
Netflix - A stunning statistic
by PanzerMeyer
08:05 AM
Easy instructions for anyone here who owns a cat!
by CG2015
04:03 AM
L'Eggo My Eggo !!
by CG2015
03:42 AM
Easy math question
by Timothy
12:36 AM
 

Forum Use Agreement | Privacy Statement
Copyright 1997-2014, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.