Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#3389582 - 09/14/11 01:22 AM Fanatec Clubsport pedals load cell failed  
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 435
Richardg Offline
Member
Richardg  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 435
What does this mean? I'm getting ready to buy these pedals. I just read about this happening to someone in this SimHQ article. Is this a bad problem with these pedals?

#3389592 - 09/14/11 01:35 AM Re: Fanatec Clubsport pedals load cell failed [Re: Richardg]  
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 28,505
Magnum Offline
Lifer
Magnum  Offline
Lifer

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 28,505
Naples, Florida
no, but happens (maybe more then it should, I don't know)... and if under warranty they will replace it, if not the load cell is 15 bucks ans takes 5 minutes to replace... I've had my clubsport for over a year now w/o incident... knock on wood.

#3389678 - 09/14/11 05:27 AM Re: Fanatec Clubsport pedals load cell failed [Re: Richardg]  
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 8,665
kludger Offline
Hotshot
kludger  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 8,665
SE Pennsylvania, USA
Loadcells are great but by their nature are not a long lasting item due to how they measure the force squeezing the sensor pad, I had the Andy Pastore loadcel mod on my G27 pedals and it worked great for a year and a half and then started spiking and eventually quit working...

Unfortunately Andy's loadcel mod is not so easy to swap out a cheap $15 replacement loadcell sensor as the Fanatec Clubsport pedal's loadcell (replacements are $40 and not sold by him) so I went back to the original Logitech potentiometer which is much less realistic feeling but lasts.

I would not hesitate on buying the Clubsports due to the loadcel wearing out eventually, in fact I plan to buy a set myself as they are well regarded for hardcore sim racing, but I will just order a spare loadcel or two at the same time.


i7-7700k@4.5ghz, GTX1080Ti,BenQ XL2420G-g-sync,Oculus Rift
#3389679 - 09/14/11 05:28 AM Re: Fanatec Clubsport pedals load cell failed [Re: Richardg]  
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 567
F19_CoNa Offline
sim junkie
F19_CoNa  Offline
sim junkie
Member

Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 567
Kallinge, Sweden
As with all hardware that takes a hard pouding, sooner or later there will be wear.
If you have pots or loadcells they are submitted by a physical wear. Only hall sensors are free from this wear.
I have had my csp for over two years when it failed. But the loadcell is quickly replaced and not expensive.
The throttle and clutch on the CSP are hall sensors, so they won't wear.
I don't think any of the other pedals with loadcells will be any better and the ones with pots
will most probably fail even sooner.

When ordering the pedals, I would order a spare loadcell, just in case.
That way you can quickly get back on track within minutes.
Fanatec shipped my new loadcell the same day I ordered it.


..and lead us not into temptation......I'll find it myself.
#3389789 - 09/14/11 01:40 PM Re: Fanatec Clubsport pedals load cell failed [Re: Richardg]  
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 435
Richardg Offline
Member
Richardg  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 435
Thanks fellas. Thats odd, seeing how they advertise this:
"Contactless magnetic high-precision sensor on accelerator and clutch with unlimited lifetime".

It would make sense to use that on the brake pedal too I would think.

#3389792 - 09/14/11 01:49 PM Re: Fanatec Clubsport pedals load cell failed [Re: Richardg]  
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 28,505
Magnum Offline
Lifer
Magnum  Offline
Lifer

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 28,505
Naples, Florida
The brake needs the force, the gas and clutch use friction and a spring for it's force while the brake uses the load cell to get that correct feeling.

#3390303 - 09/15/11 02:06 AM Re: Fanatec Clubsport pedals load cell failed [Re: Richardg]  
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,831
Chunx Offline
Senior Member
Chunx  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,831
Originally Posted By: Richardg
What does this mean? I'm getting ready to buy these pedals. I just read about this happening to someone in this SimHQ article. Is this a bad problem with these pedals?

Had my Clubsport Pedals since Dec 2009 and they are fantastic. Very sturdy build quality and measuring hardware. The thing to be aware of is that Fanatec is a small company, and thus minimally staffed (or so it seems). They've received some heavy and well-deserved criticism for customer support in the past, but they seem to have taken it on board and are improving.

Fanatec makes some very capable sim racing hardware. They are highly recommended here. The Clubsports are worth every penny, IMO.


Chunx
#3390305 - 09/15/11 02:10 AM Re: Fanatec Clubsport pedals load cell failed [Re: Magnum]  
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,831
Chunx Offline
Senior Member
Chunx  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,831
Originally Posted By: Magnum
The brake needs the force, the gas and clutch use friction and a spring for it's force while the brake uses the load cell to get that correct feeling.

Ummm, to be precise: the clutch and brake use a sensor to note pedal position (not a potentiometer, but more of a HALL-effect type sensor). The brake uses a load cell to measure force applied and translates that into a brake force signal (load cell). The brake 'feel' is slight movement of the pedal arm against a urethane bumper, while the throttle and brake pivot against the force of a spring. This makes the brake feel more like a real car's brake system. The throttle feels correct as well, but the clutch isn't quite as good a replication (then again, no sim racing clutch really is).


Chunx
#3390524 - 09/15/11 12:37 PM Re: Fanatec Clubsport pedals load cell failed [Re: Richardg]  
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 567
F19_CoNa Offline
sim junkie
F19_CoNa  Offline
sim junkie
Member

Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 567
Kallinge, Sweden
Got my loadcell today, it took me 30 sek to replace it. thumbsup
If I only had one availabe last saturday, as well as the tools, I could have made a IRL pitstop and still be in the race. wink

Well, now I have one in backup which I hopefully won't need to replace in another 2 years or more.

Watch out! I'm back in the game.....


..and lead us not into temptation......I'll find it myself.
#3390541 - 09/15/11 01:05 PM Re: Fanatec Clubsport pedals load cell failed [Re: Richardg]  
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 28,505
Magnum Offline
Lifer
Magnum  Offline
Lifer

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 28,505
Naples, Florida
you'll crash out in the next one. wink

#3390578 - 09/15/11 02:05 PM Re: Fanatec Clubsport pedals load cell failed [Re: Richardg]  
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 567
F19_CoNa Offline
sim junkie
F19_CoNa  Offline
sim junkie
Member

Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 567
Kallinge, Sweden
Hehe, you wish wink

Last edited by F19_CoNa; 09/15/11 02:08 PM.

..and lead us not into temptation......I'll find it myself.
#3390602 - 09/15/11 02:43 PM Re: Fanatec Clubsport pedals load cell failed [Re: Magnum]  
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 2,764
Weaponz248 Offline
Hail To The King Baby!!
Weaponz248  Offline
Hail To The King Baby!!
Senior Member

Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 2,764
Statesboro GA USA
Originally Posted By: Magnum
you'll crash out in the next one. wink


+1 neaner


XBOX Live Tag/Steam/PSN: Weaponz248

#3390643 - 09/15/11 03:31 PM Re: Fanatec Clubsport pedals load cell failed [Re: Magnum]  
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 22,087
citizen guod Offline
Lifer
citizen guod  Offline
Lifer

Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 22,087
Originally Posted By: Magnum
you'll crash out in the next one. wink



Soooo mean. hahaha

Don't mind Magnum, F19_CoNa. He still thinks he's playing ArmA2. WinkNGrin


Wisdom is knowing what's enough

Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Upcoming Spitfire Documentary
by F4UDash4. 07/20/17 09:56 PM
Chester Bennington, RIP
by Chaz. 07/20/17 09:09 PM
Someone was watching too much Breaking Bad
by Top Gun. 07/20/17 03:01 PM
Joke, IS fighter..
by Catfish. 07/20/17 01:37 PM
RIP Red West
by F4UDash4. 07/20/17 04:31 AM
The Flight that killed the DC-10
by JimK. 07/20/17 02:48 AM
Back home with a snoot full.
by oldgrognard. 07/19/17 09:50 PM
Do you have a first aid or medical kit? What's in it?
by VF9_Longbow. 07/19/17 05:26 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0