Forums » » » Fanatec Clubsport pedals load cell failed Active Topics You are not logged in. [Log In] [Register User]
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
Hop to:
#3389582 - 09/13/11 09:22 PM Fanatec Clubsport pedals load cell failed
Richardg Offline
Member

Registered: 01/05/09
Posts: 426
What does this mean? I'm getting ready to buy these pedals. I just read about this happening to someone in this SimHQ article. Is this a bad problem with these pedals?

Top
#3389592 - 09/13/11 09:35 PM Re: Fanatec Clubsport pedals load cell failed [Re: Richardg]
Magnum Offline
Lifer

Registered: 01/27/03
Posts: 28064
Loc: Naples, Florida
no, but happens (maybe more then it should, I don't know)... and if under warranty they will replace it, if not the load cell is 15 bucks ans takes 5 minutes to replace... I've had my clubsport for over a year now w/o incident... knock on wood.
_________________________
Magnum

We stand between chaos and order, evil and good, despair and hope - we are the Thin Blue Line, and we will never be broken.



Top
#3389678 - 09/14/11 01:27 AM Re: Fanatec Clubsport pedals load cell failed [Re: Richardg]
kludger Online   content
Hotshot

Registered: 02/25/07
Posts: 7808
Loc: Seattle,USA
Loadcells are great but by their nature are not a long lasting item due to how they measure the force squeezing the sensor pad, I had the Andy Pastore loadcel mod on my G27 pedals and it worked great for a year and a half and then started spiking and eventually quit working...

Unfortunately Andy's loadcel mod is not so easy to swap out a cheap $15 replacement loadcell sensor as the Fanatec Clubsport pedal's loadcell (replacements are $40 and not sold by him) so I went back to the original Logitech potentiometer which is much less realistic feeling but lasts.

I would not hesitate on buying the Clubsports due to the loadcel wearing out eventually, in fact I plan to buy a set myself as they are well regarded for hardcore sim racing, but I will just order a spare loadcel or two at the same time.
_________________________
i5-2500k@4.5ghz, Asus P8Z68-V Pro/Gen3,GTX970
PSN/XBL/Steam/EA/ProjectCARS/MWO:Kludger

Top
#3389679 - 09/14/11 01:28 AM Re: Fanatec Clubsport pedals load cell failed [Re: Richardg]
F19_CoNa Offline
sim junkie
Member

Registered: 08/04/06
Posts: 566
Loc: Kallinge, Sweden
As with all hardware that takes a hard pouding, sooner or later there will be wear.
If you have pots or loadcells they are submitted by a physical wear. Only hall sensors are free from this wear.
I have had my csp for over two years when it failed. But the loadcell is quickly replaced and not expensive.
The throttle and clutch on the CSP are hall sensors, so they won't wear.
I don't think any of the other pedals with loadcells will be any better and the ones with pots
will most probably fail even sooner.

When ordering the pedals, I would order a spare loadcell, just in case.
That way you can quickly get back on track within minutes.
Fanatec shipped my new loadcell the same day I ordered it.
_________________________
..and lead us not into temptation......I'll find it myself.

Top
#3389789 - 09/14/11 09:40 AM Re: Fanatec Clubsport pedals load cell failed [Re: Richardg]
Richardg Offline
Member

Registered: 01/05/09
Posts: 426
Thanks fellas. Thats odd, seeing how they advertise this:
"Contactless magnetic high-precision sensor on accelerator and clutch with unlimited lifetime".

It would make sense to use that on the brake pedal too I would think.

Top
#3389792 - 09/14/11 09:49 AM Re: Fanatec Clubsport pedals load cell failed [Re: Richardg]
Magnum Offline
Lifer

Registered: 01/27/03
Posts: 28064
Loc: Naples, Florida
The brake needs the force, the gas and clutch use friction and a spring for it's force while the brake uses the load cell to get that correct feeling.
_________________________
Magnum

We stand between chaos and order, evil and good, despair and hope - we are the Thin Blue Line, and we will never be broken.



Top
#3390303 - 09/14/11 10:06 PM Re: Fanatec Clubsport pedals load cell failed [Re: Richardg]
Chunx Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 10/11/00
Posts: 3831
Originally Posted By: Richardg
What does this mean? I'm getting ready to buy these pedals. I just read about this happening to someone in this SimHQ article. Is this a bad problem with these pedals?

Had my Clubsport Pedals since Dec 2009 and they are fantastic. Very sturdy build quality and measuring hardware. The thing to be aware of is that Fanatec is a small company, and thus minimally staffed (or so it seems). They've received some heavy and well-deserved criticism for customer support in the past, but they seem to have taken it on board and are improving.

Fanatec makes some very capable sim racing hardware. They are highly recommended here. The Clubsports are worth every penny, IMO.
_________________________
Chunx

Top
#3390305 - 09/14/11 10:10 PM Re: Fanatec Clubsport pedals load cell failed [Re: Magnum]
Chunx Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 10/11/00
Posts: 3831
Originally Posted By: Magnum
The brake needs the force, the gas and clutch use friction and a spring for it's force while the brake uses the load cell to get that correct feeling.

Ummm, to be precise: the clutch and brake use a sensor to note pedal position (not a potentiometer, but more of a HALL-effect type sensor). The brake uses a load cell to measure force applied and translates that into a brake force signal (load cell). The brake 'feel' is slight movement of the pedal arm against a urethane bumper, while the throttle and brake pivot against the force of a spring. This makes the brake feel more like a real car's brake system. The throttle feels correct as well, but the clutch isn't quite as good a replication (then again, no sim racing clutch really is).
_________________________
Chunx

Top
#3390524 - 09/15/11 08:37 AM Re: Fanatec Clubsport pedals load cell failed [Re: Richardg]
F19_CoNa Offline
sim junkie
Member

Registered: 08/04/06
Posts: 566
Loc: Kallinge, Sweden
Got my loadcell today, it took me 30 sek to replace it. thumbsup
If I only had one availabe last saturday, as well as the tools, I could have made a IRL pitstop and still be in the race. wink

Well, now I have one in backup which I hopefully won't need to replace in another 2 years or more.

Watch out! I'm back in the game.....
_________________________
..and lead us not into temptation......I'll find it myself.

Top
#3390541 - 09/15/11 09:05 AM Re: Fanatec Clubsport pedals load cell failed [Re: Richardg]
Magnum Offline
Lifer

Registered: 01/27/03
Posts: 28064
Loc: Naples, Florida
you'll crash out in the next one. wink
_________________________
Magnum

We stand between chaos and order, evil and good, despair and hope - we are the Thin Blue Line, and we will never be broken.



Top
#3390578 - 09/15/11 10:05 AM Re: Fanatec Clubsport pedals load cell failed [Re: Richardg]
F19_CoNa Offline
sim junkie
Member

Registered: 08/04/06
Posts: 566
Loc: Kallinge, Sweden
Hehe, you wish wink


Edited by F19_CoNa (09/15/11 10:08 AM)
_________________________
..and lead us not into temptation......I'll find it myself.

Top
#3390602 - 09/15/11 10:43 AM Re: Fanatec Clubsport pedals load cell failed [Re: Magnum]
Weaponz248 Offline
Hail To The King Baby!!
Senior Member

Registered: 06/07/11
Posts: 2764
Loc: Statesboro GA USA
Originally Posted By: Magnum
you'll crash out in the next one. wink


+1 neaner
_________________________
XBOX Live Tag/Steam/PSN: Weaponz248


Top
#3390643 - 09/15/11 11:31 AM Re: Fanatec Clubsport pedals load cell failed [Re: Magnum]
citizen guod Offline
Lifer

Registered: 09/29/00
Posts: 21953
Originally Posted By: Magnum
you'll crash out in the next one. wink



Soooo mean. hahaha

Don't mind Magnum, F19_CoNa. He still thinks he's playing ArmA2. WinkNGrin
_________________________
A republic, madam, if you can keep it.

POR

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
Hop to:

Moderator:  RacerGT 
 
Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Went to Best Buy and asked where they keep the SSDs
by Cold_Gambler
1 second ago
Calgaryan Canadian woman gets her car back after it was stolen - with a few surprises inside it.
by CG2015
Today at 01:28 PM
People, in New York, reading the news on the 'Zipper' about the D-Day landings
by Desert Eagle
Today at 10:09 AM
What are these?
by Lucky
Today at 10:06 AM
The Lobster
by Desert Eagle
Today at 09:55 AM
Is it time to find something else than Amazon...?
by RSColonel_131st
Today at 06:29 AM
I think Im going bald!
by Linebacker
Yesterday at 11:14 PM
Cover songs, some are ok.........
by Whatabuzz
Yesterday at 07:00 PM
That's disgusting!!
by CG2015
Yesterday at 06:38 PM
Anyone know the Italian / Austrian Tirol?
by Vitesse
Yesterday at 04:48 PM
 

Forum Use Agreement | Privacy Statement
Copyright 1997-2014, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.