Forums » Miscellaneous » Naval Simulations » Tico Players: Compare to Janes Fleet Command? Active Topics You are not logged in. [Log In] [Register User]
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
Hop to:
#3350434 - 07/25/11 01:05 AM Tico Players: Compare to Janes Fleet Command?
IamFritz Offline
Member

Registered: 08/10/04
Posts: 709
I'm playing both Tico and JFC at this point now. I bet those of you who have been jumping on the Tico wagon are too. What do you think? Merits and drawbacks of Ticonderoga vs. Janes Fleet Command.
_________________________
Fritz Gunter
iamfritz@hotmail.com
http://www.iamfritz.com <- It's Only Gotten Better

Lenovo Quadcore 3.1 GHZ Proc, 6 GB RAM and NVidia GeForce GT 632 (2 GB Vid RAM) Direct X 11 Windows 7

Top
#3380428 - 09/02/11 12:27 AM Re: Tico Players: Compare to Janes Fleet Command? [Re: IamFritz]
IamFritz Offline
Member

Registered: 08/10/04
Posts: 709
So, last Saturday I had an hour plus after everyone had gone to bed. Watch a movie or play a naval sim? Naval sim it was. JFC or Tico?

Hmmm...

I went with Tico. I've decided I like the heavier "simulation" side of it. Yeah, the bridge is a useless view, and walking around the CIC doesn't tactically add to the game, but it's COOL. And running around checking the screens, giving specific orders and general orders on a more strategic level, it finally outweighed JFC's graphics and only 1 screen with all, with the scrappy 3-D graphics (which I always felt looked more incomplete code than state-of-the-art graphics, even when it came out). So I'll probably be scrapping my JFC here soon and playing Tico all the way through.
_________________________
Fritz Gunter
iamfritz@hotmail.com
http://www.iamfritz.com <- It's Only Gotten Better

Lenovo Quadcore 3.1 GHZ Proc, 6 GB RAM and NVidia GeForce GT 632 (2 GB Vid RAM) Direct X 11 Windows 7

Top
#3485672 - 01/01/12 06:59 PM Re: Tico Players: Compare to Janes Fleet Command? [Re: IamFritz]
JayTac Offline
Member

Registered: 09/12/09
Posts: 137
Merits, fleet command works on Windows 7 for me and Ticonderoga does not. So I don't have much of a choice, but I will say if you're playing FC definitely check out the NWP mod if you haven't already.

http://navalwarfare.net/

Top
#3487572 - 01/04/12 06:26 PM Re: Tico Players: Compare to Janes Fleet Command? [Re: IamFritz]
jenrick Offline
Member

Registered: 07/08/03
Posts: 1102
Yep the NWP mod changes the game significantly. Air ops are still a pain in the butt due to the originally poor implementation, but other then that it's solid.

-Jenrick

Top
#3488216 - 01/05/12 03:05 PM Re: Tico Players: Compare to Janes Fleet Command? [Re: IamFritz]
Recluse Offline
Mediocrity Above All!
Senior Member

Registered: 12/30/00
Posts: 4842
Loc: Randolph, NJ
The last time I decided to get into Fleet Command and installed all the NWP stuff, the tutorials were all missing (though the NWP docs seemed to indicate that updated tutorials were part of the package). Having been away for so long, I really needed them smile Maybe I screwed up the install, or misunderstood. I guess next time I will run the tutorials with the stock game and then load NWP.

I really enjoyed FC with the early iterations of NWP (called WDP back in the day, IIRC).
_________________________
Core2Duo E6600
ASUS P5N32-E SLI nVIDIA nFORCE 680I
ProMOS 4GB DDR2 800
EVGA GTX 560Ti
CoolerMaster CAC-T05-UW CENTURION 5
ANTEC TP3-550 550W
KDS K-22MDWB 22" LCD 1680 X 1050
Soundblaster X-FI XtremeGamer
WinXP SP3
Cougar Hotas S/N 26453

Top
#3488458 - 01/05/12 07:36 PM Re: Tico Players: Compare to Janes Fleet Command? [Re: IamFritz]
Eugene Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/15/04
Posts: 4490
Loc: Oregon
Hey, Recluse - they should be present in the latest release of NWP. I have 19.02 installed, and the tutorials are in the Scenario folder, with .sct (as opposed to .scu) extensions.
_________________________
Eugene

CoreDuo G620
ASUS P8Z68-V PRO
BFG N460 GTX Cyclone 1GD5 OC
Forceware 340.52
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Win7
4 gig RAM
Saitek X52 PRO

Top
#3488749 - 01/06/12 08:36 AM Re: Tico Players: Compare to Janes Fleet Command? [Re: IamFritz]
Recluse Offline
Mediocrity Above All!
Senior Member

Registered: 12/30/00
Posts: 4842
Loc: Randolph, NJ
I will have to give it another look. Currently all is uninstalled. I seem to recall we installed some recent (now about a year old) version of NWP at the same time.
_________________________
Core2Duo E6600
ASUS P5N32-E SLI nVIDIA nFORCE 680I
ProMOS 4GB DDR2 800
EVGA GTX 560Ti
CoolerMaster CAC-T05-UW CENTURION 5
ANTEC TP3-550 550W
KDS K-22MDWB 22" LCD 1680 X 1050
Soundblaster X-FI XtremeGamer
WinXP SP3
Cougar Hotas S/N 26453

Top
#3493764 - 01/12/12 11:31 PM Re: Tico Players: Compare to Janes Fleet Command? [Re: IamFritz]
IamFritz Offline
Member

Registered: 08/10/04
Posts: 709
Tico plays perfectly in Win 7 with DosBox. Unfortunately, real life has gotten so busy lately I haven't had time to play it in months. I think I'm on Mission 8 in the Iranian campaign. I finally opted for it over FC- the NWP mod never worked for me- my game would never find the CD after I installed it.
_________________________
Fritz Gunter
iamfritz@hotmail.com
http://www.iamfritz.com <- It's Only Gotten Better

Lenovo Quadcore 3.1 GHZ Proc, 6 GB RAM and NVidia GeForce GT 632 (2 GB Vid RAM) Direct X 11 Windows 7

Top
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
Hop to:

Moderator:  RacerGT 
 
Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Walter Is At It Again
by Haggart
10:20 PM
Hide your wallets..Steam Holiday Sale is on
by Executed
07:06 PM
New American Sniper Trailer
by bonchie
05:58 PM
A Letter to Santa
by KRT_Bong
04:23 PM
Southwest Flight attendants
by AggressorBLUE
02:57 PM
Steam region locking games
by leaf_on_the_wind
09:06 AM
So the whole The Interview thing, Team America screened instead..
by Ajay
12:59 AM
Americans Are Falling In Love With Public Mass Transit
by Haggart
12/17/14 11:30 PM
Texas man trades in his truck & it ends up in Syria
by Linebacker
12/17/14 08:03 PM
Fallon d'Floor
by Ajay
12/17/14 05:13 PM
 

Forum Use Agreement | Privacy Statement
Copyright 1997-2014, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.