Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#3303975 - 05/26/11 10:12 AM AMD/ATI Catalyst 11.5b Hotfix -- Witcher 2 and Others  
Joined: Oct 1999
Posts: 6,058
Allen Offline
Hotshot
Allen  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Oct 1999
Posts: 6,058
Ohio USA
AMD/ATI has released the Catalyst 11.5b hotfix. Presumably fixes Crossfire in The Witcher 2 and others.

For anyone with Witcher 2, there will be a Witcher 2 patch within 24 hours, presumably -- that will also fix framerates and DRM issues. I have The Witcher 2 running and am not far into it. So far, it seems to be very good. Another Witcher 2 patch is due next week -- as Witcher 2 players probably know already.

AMD Catalyst 11.5b Hotfix

A new CAP set (CAP2) is due out Friday from AMD. It too will optimize for Witcher 2.


Sapphire Reference RX-480 8GB - Eyefinity 24P-32L-24P, Samsung SD850 1440p+ 2x 1200p, AMD Ryzen 7 1800X, 32GB G.Skill DDR4 Trident Z, Gigabyte GA-AX370 Gaming K7 MB, Samsung 960EVO + 840EVO SSDs = 1TB, 5x Seagate HD = 18TB, ASUS BluRay, Rosewill 1000W PSU, Rosewill R5 Case, ASUS AC66U router, TM Warthog HOTAS, TM T-Flight Stick X, TM Cougar+FSSB & CH Pedals, Saitek X52 Pro & Pro Combat Pedals, TrackIR5 w/TC Pro, Windows 10 Professional 64b
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#3307619 - 05/31/11 11:45 AM Re: AMD/ATI Catalyst 11.5b Hotfix -- Witcher 2 and Others [Re: Allen]  
Joined: Oct 1999
Posts: 6,058
Allen Offline
Hotshot
Allen  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Oct 1999
Posts: 6,058
Ohio USA
CAP3 is out?? I downloaded what was described as CAP2. However, the file name says CAP3.

An, 11.5c hotfix is rumored for this week. Don't know what it fixes.

My system is running Witcher 2 with all in-game settings on ultimate (or whatever the highest setting is called for that item). Personally, I'm impressed by the graphics and English voice acting. Never seen so much obvious post processing -- motion blur, depth of field blur are really obvious. Its a difficult game on "normal" until one figures out the "combats". Some Bosses are nearly invulnerable -- so one has to "think outside the box". Anyhow, I've been killed more times to win one encounter than I am in most entire games -- and there are two difficulty levels above the one I am playing smile

P.S. Witcher 2 runs in Eyefinity. However, the game itself limits the scene to the center monitor plus a small bit to the right and left on the outside monitors. So, Eyefinity adds almost nothing to the game (because of the way the game is programmed -- there are others like this in my "library"). I'm finding 1920x1200 in "windowed mode" seems to be right for actual play. FWIW for someone considering The Witcher 2. I have not tried fixing a cfg file yet -- too busy enjoying the game.

Last edited by Allen; 05/31/11 12:02 PM.

Sapphire Reference RX-480 8GB - Eyefinity 24P-32L-24P, Samsung SD850 1440p+ 2x 1200p, AMD Ryzen 7 1800X, 32GB G.Skill DDR4 Trident Z, Gigabyte GA-AX370 Gaming K7 MB, Samsung 960EVO + 840EVO SSDs = 1TB, 5x Seagate HD = 18TB, ASUS BluRay, Rosewill 1000W PSU, Rosewill R5 Case, ASUS AC66U router, TM Warthog HOTAS, TM T-Flight Stick X, TM Cougar+FSSB & CH Pedals, Saitek X52 Pro & Pro Combat Pedals, TrackIR5 w/TC Pro, Windows 10 Professional 64b

Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Far Cry 5
by Bib4Tuna. 05/22/17 07:50 PM
That's some shooting....
by RossUK. 05/22/17 02:45 PM
Battlestar Galactica: Deadlock
by Airdrop01. 05/21/17 06:25 PM
Happy Victoria Day weekend hose
by No105_Archie. 05/21/17 04:04 PM
An Interesting Discussion on Simulations
by F4UDash4. 05/20/17 08:32 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0