Forums » Technology » Flight Sim Controllers » Problem with TM Warthog joystick Active Topics You are not logged in. [Log In] [Register User]
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
Hop to:
#3295254 - 05/14/11 07:26 PM Problem with TM Warthog joystick
- Ice Online   tunes
Hotshot

Registered: 06/23/05
Posts: 8656
Loc: Philippines / North East UK
Went up for a flight today and noticed my TMS and DMS switches weren't working. I figured I probably didn't plug my joystick in properly, so I didn't mind. I noticed I could still shoot the gun (DCS A-10), so I lined up for a guns attack and noticed everything went haywire when I pulled the triger. The HUD would go into A-A mode or some other ground attack mode, the TAD would show me going up/down through waypoints, etc.

Went out to the Windows calibration screen and noticed every switch on the throttle was working, but only the trigger would work in the joystick. And activating the trigger would make all the other buttons light up as if they were activated; activating the proper buttons themselves would not register an input though.

Any ideas on this? I've tried the "hold this button and that button and plug in the USB" trick but none have worked. I've never used TARGET with this stick so it's not that issue. I've been flying with an extender so I thought it might be the PS/2 connector's fault but I've had a straight-on connection between the stick and base now and the problem is still there.
_________________________
- Ice


Top
#3295393 - 05/15/11 04:25 AM Re: Problem with TM Warthog joystick [Re: - Ice]
petherf Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 02/24/08
Posts: 66
Have you checked the options in A10 C and looked if TMS and DMS is working?
And load up Target Script Editor and then Device Analyzer and look if all the buttons are working?

That is the only tool i use in Target.


Edited by petherf (05/15/11 04:26 AM)

Top

#3295974 - 05/15/11 11:16 PM Re: Problem with TM Warthog joystick [Re: - Ice]
Panther Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 07/10/05
Posts: 4249
If you're seeing the issue in windows, chances are you have a faulty stick. Especially if your trigger activates all other buttons.
_________________________
Virtual Thunderbirds, LLC | Sponsored by Thrustmaster

i7 950 | GA-X58A-UD3R | 24GB Patriot DDR3 | EVGA GTX 680 4GB | SanDisk 120GB | VelociRaptor 600GB | Win 7 64bit | TIR5 | HOTAS Warthog | MFD Cougar Pack | CH Pro Pedals | Fanatec CSW BMW & CSPv2 | Obutto R3Volution | 40" Sharp LCD

My Cockpit

Top
#3296076 - 05/16/11 04:52 AM Re: Problem with TM Warthog joystick [Re: - Ice]
- Ice Online   tunes
Hotshot

Registered: 06/23/05
Posts: 8656
Loc: Philippines / North East UK
Yep, stick has issues. Tried the new version of TARGET and new drivers, still getting the exact same problem as seen via Device Manager and the TARGET Device Analyzer and Event Tester.

Hope TM gets back to me soon.

Wasn't TM "acquired" by some other company lately? Hopefully their support is better this time compared to when I was having trouble with my Cougar.
_________________________
- Ice

Top
#3296356 - 05/16/11 12:52 PM Re: Problem with TM Warthog joystick [Re: - Ice]
NamelessPFG Offline
Member

Registered: 09/22/07
Posts: 730
That acquisition happened over a decade ago. Since around 1998 or so, Thrustmaster has just been another name for Guillemot.

And, yes, that means that the Cougar was a Guillemot-era product.

Top
#3296647 - 05/16/11 05:48 PM Re: Problem with TM Warthog joystick [Re: - Ice]
- Ice Online   tunes
Hotshot

Registered: 06/23/05
Posts: 8656
Loc: Philippines / North East UK
Hmmm... not that then. I've not been happy the way I got the runaround with the Cougar last year (2010). Hope they're more committed to their Warthog support now.
_________________________
- Ice

Top
#3322958 - 06/20/11 05:00 AM Re: Problem with TM Warthog joystick [Re: - Ice]
- Ice Online   tunes
Hotshot

Registered: 06/23/05
Posts: 8656
Loc: Philippines / North East UK
I got my stick base back two weeks after I sent my faulty unit to France. TM was lazy and sent me a standard joystick package so now I have to joystick handles, one base, and two base plates. wink I'm back in business!
_________________________
- Ice

Top
#3325431 - 06/22/11 04:28 PM Re: Problem with TM Warthog joystick [Re: - Ice]
gmohr Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 10/15/10
Posts: 60
Sweet!
_________________________
"The defense dept regrets to inform you that your sons are dead because they were stupid..."

System: i5 2500K @ 4.7, AMD 6950 (unlocked), HP ZR30w, TM Hotas Warthog

Top
#3326471 - 06/23/11 10:00 PM Re: Problem with TM Warthog joystick [Re: - Ice]
Turkeydriver Offline
Member

Registered: 04/06/04
Posts: 115
Originally Posted By: - Ice
I got my stick base back two weeks after I sent my faulty unit to France. TM was lazy and sent me a standard joystick package so now I have to joystick handles, one base, and two base plates. wink I'm back in business!


That's called customer support-not laziness. Thrustmaster, though at times have had some prolems or shoddy manufacturer-have always provided excellent support since I had the original Thrustmaster Mk1 weapons system. I'll be buying a Warthog to replace my stolen Uber2NXT Cougar.

Top
#3337045 - 07/07/11 05:24 PM Re: Problem with TM Warthog joystick [Re: - Ice]
zhukov Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 01/23/07
Posts: 26
I had the exact same problem and my Stick is back with TM for the second time. First failure was firmware. Hope I get a spare stick.

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
Hop to:

Moderator:  RacerGT 
 
Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ with these links


Social


Recent Topics
Who is the better Quarterback?
by Plainsman
11:21 PM
A2A P-51D Ain't Misbehavin uploaded
by Tom_Weiss
09:15 PM
Opinions on REX4
by malibu43
08:13 PM
New Uhtred book later this year!
by Jayhawk
07:50 PM
Star Trek: the animated series
by letterboy1
07:45 PM
First Pitts Practice for 2014: New External GoPro
by Smokin_Hole
07:16 PM
I need an intervention.
by - Ice
06:02 PM
System Shock 2
by Snakeyes
04:31 PM
What we all want to do sometimes
by DaBBQ
04:22 PM
Big radios in WW2 (CMRT screen)
by Magnum
04:00 PM
 

Forum Use Agreement | Privacy Statement
Copyright 1997-2013, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.