Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#3271861 - 04/16/11 08:17 PM How to set the compass ****  
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 39
Bando Offline
Junior Member
Bando  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 39
A lot of people seem to be baffled by the compass and where they are going. Here's a try at showing how to.set the darn thing.
Mind you, I'm no expert, I made it work like this for me and that's it. I just hope it helps anyone interested.......

First of all, we see the compass like this on start up:



Now move the course setter in such a way that the train tracks (the yellow lines) line up with the white needle with the crossbar (the north side of the train track should point to the crossbarred white line). In this case I needed to decrease the course setter.



On the screen somewhere in the info window you will see the degrees counting up or down. Read the last line of degrees (in this example its 252) and set that in the Directional gyro.
Again you will have to up or down the degrees until it reaches the just found setting. In this case 252




You are ready now. Fly on the Directional Gyro, but be aware the DG is quickly off. So repeat this procedure once every 10-15 minutes or after violent moves. Make sure the compass (the magnetic one) is steady before doing this, so trim your aircraft.

I hope this helps people.


Last edited by Bando; 04/16/11 09:30 PM.
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#3271895 - 04/16/11 09:09 PM Re: How to set the compass [Re: Bando]  
Joined: May 2000
Posts: 820
Shado Offline
Member
Shado  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2000
Posts: 820
Jersey , Channel islands ,UK
Thanks Bando, thumbsup

Last edited by Shado; 04/16/11 09:09 PM.

If life is one big joke.......I just don't get it
#3271942 - 04/16/11 10:33 PM Re: How to set the compass [Re: Bando]  
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,169
WernerVoss Offline
Member
WernerVoss  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,169
I wonder how many guys got shot down while faffing around with that piece of junk.


Asus P8P67 Pro Mobo
2500K CPU @ 4.5Ghz
Antec H2O Kuhler 950 Water Cooler
16Gb DDR3 DC RAM @ 1600mhz
EVGA GTX780 Classified GPU
Dell U3014 30" Monitor
xFi Titanium HD sound
Corsair Force 250Gb SSD
Corsair RM850w PSU
W7-64
INTJ
#3271957 - 04/16/11 11:08 PM Re: How to set the compass [Re: WernerVoss]  
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 11,074
LukeFF Offline
Lab Rat
LukeFF  Offline
Lab Rat
Veteran

Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 11,074
Redlands, California
Originally Posted By: WernerVoss
I wonder how many guys got shot down while faffing around with that piece of junk.


Compared to other country's compasses and DGs of the era, the British one does seem like an awful clunky set of gear to operate.

#3271960 - 04/16/11 11:30 PM Re: How to set the compass [Re: Bando]  
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 914
IvanK Offline
Member
IvanK  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 914
Aus
LukeFF thats because they were made by Royal appointment by the company Messrs Heath and Robinson. This was a well established traditional UK company that specialises in precision devices with a particular penchant to make simple tasks more complicated. It is believed that this unique attitude was what the English electrical company LUCAS saw in Messrs Heath and Robinson and so bought them out. This then ensured that Lucas could capture that unique part of the UK Auto Electrics market and provide electrical components that never worked.

#3272115 - 04/17/11 04:28 AM Re: How to set the compass [Re: Bando]  
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 11,074
LukeFF Offline
Lab Rat
LukeFF  Offline
Lab Rat
Veteran

Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 11,074
Redlands, California
IvanK: that certainly seems to be in keeping with British fighter cockpit design of the era, with the way the instruments and levers seem to be slapped together in a semi-random fashion. biggrin

Compasses and navigation have always been a fascinated of mine since I was in the Boy Scouts, so the British designs of this era are certainly...umm...intriguing.

#3272124 - 04/17/11 05:05 AM Re: How to set the compass [Re: Bando]  
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,067
Nodak01 Offline
Senior Member
Nodak01  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,067
coyote country
Good thing the British reflector sites worked OK, but than the first 500 sets were made in Austria on the same assembly line that cranked out the revis.

#3308561 - 06/01/11 06:04 PM Re: How to set the compass [Re: LukeFF]  
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 102
Vierzinger Offline
Member
Vierzinger  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 102
Denmark
Originally Posted By: LukeFF
IvanK: that certainly seems to be in keeping with British fighter cockpit design of the era, with the way the instruments and levers seem to be slapped together in a semi-random fashion. biggrin

Compasses and navigation have always been a fascinated of mine since I was in the Boy Scouts, so the British designs of this era are certainly...umm...intriguing.


We have a guy at EAF that restores WWII aircrafts in his sparetime. He got pretty upset when I wrote something like you opinion.

Cockpits of the British aircrafts seems to oriented around th the servicing mechanics and not the pilots. Unlike the German cockpit designs. The Bf109 could be better, but the Fw190A/D series are real masterpieces.

BTW: how in the h*ll can someone put a compass/directional gyro so far out of the way that you can't see it during normal flying??????


Will we EVER get a real Rainbow Six game again. One for the real Tactic fans? A WWII sim with a dynamic campagn. Games with deept?
#3308663 - 06/01/11 07:53 PM Re: How to set the compass [Re: Vierzinger]  
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,884
Vitesse Offline
Member
Vitesse  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,884
Devon UK
LUCAS - The Prince of Darkness.

I've never understood why Lucas has such a horrible reputation outside the UK - their stuff works fine here.

Lucas wiring should never be fiddled with, though. Perhaps that's the problem - once you let the smoke out of a circuit it's never quite the same again.

Cheers!

#3308806 - 06/01/11 10:49 PM Re: How to set the compass [Re: Bando]  
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 25
WarGameKlok Offline
Junior Member
WarGameKlok  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 25
Thanks Bando, awesome post!!!

#3308906 - 06/02/11 01:07 AM Re: How to set the compass [Re: Bando]  
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 24,584
wheelsup_cavu Offline
Lifer
wheelsup_cavu  Offline
Lifer

Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 24,584
Corona, California
Cool post Bando. smile


Wheels


Cheers wave
Wheelsup_cavu

Mission4Today (Campaigns, Missions, and Skins for IL-2)
Planes of Fame Air Museum | March Field Air Museum | Palm Springs Air Museum
#3308980 - 06/02/11 03:30 AM Re: How to set the compass [Re: Bando]  
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 21
l3ullDozer Offline
Junior Member
l3ullDozer  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 21
Pittburgh, PA
I gave up on the piece of junk days ago, but I really have no idea where I'm at sometimes. I just always try and keep the coast or some type of landmark in view.

Considering it's placement behind the stick..how do I even go about reading it during flight. Just a few rolls and oh yay..now i can read the compass.

DUMB...but far bigger things to cry about with this game. I just want the 3 blue lines gone and the sound to work during multiplayer!


Asus P5Q-E
e8400 @3.6ghz - asus 23" lcd
4gb mushkin redline ddr2-1000
powercolor 6950 2gb
pc p&c-750w silencer
Vista 64 bit
#3309024 - 06/02/11 05:00 AM Re: How to set the compass [Re: Bando]  
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 17,823
Ajay Offline
newbie
Ajay  Offline
newbie
Veteran

Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 17,823
Brisbane OZ
Didn't the British have a saying something like ' second best , first ' when it came to getting stuff operational and fitted.Im a slacker , i only ever use the compass in the pacific.I can always find a landmark in europe or england to get me going where i need biggrin

Cool and easy tute Bando , maybe now with some training i can land at my correct airfield. smile


My il2 page
Seelowe Campaign
Cliffs of Dover page
CloD
My Stuff (some nsfw words:) )
My Head+DayZ Stories


#3309084 - 06/02/11 09:30 AM Re: How to set the compass [Re: Bando]  
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 6,306
Trooper117 Offline
Hotshot
Trooper117  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 6,306
UK
lol.. if you fly a mission where the weather closes in and visibility is crap, you will need that compass mate! thumbsup

#3309094 - 06/02/11 10:12 AM Re: How to set the compass [Re: Bando]  
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 902
2005AD Offline
Member
2005AD  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 902
But don't worry, it's always a clear sunny day on Clodland smile

#3309137 - 06/02/11 12:48 PM Re: How to set the compass [Re: Bando]  
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 10,618
Ming_EAF19 Offline
Babelfish Immune
Ming_EAF19  Offline
Babelfish Immune
Veteran

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 10,618
London
He got pretty upset when I wrote something like you opinion

I don't know why...

Quote:
the British one does seem like an awful clunky set of gear to operate

Yes it's simply delightful isn't it Smile2

Ming


'You are either a hater or you are not' Roman Halter
#3309140 - 06/02/11 12:51 PM Re: How to set the compass [Re: 2005AD]  
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 396
Senseispcc Offline
Member
Senseispcc  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 396
Belgium but not in Flanders
Originally Posted By: 2005AD
But don't worry, it's always a clear sunny day on Clodland smile


There where some bad weather days in August 1940.


My PC; wink
Win7 x64
Asus p6x58d
I7 975 3.75Ghz System & game ssd 120Gb (great for the system and for my games).
12 Gb (6*2Gb) ddr3 1600Mhz memory
Geforce gtx580 1.5Gb two of them SLI
Trackir 5
Logitech G940.
[img]http://s4.postimage.org/nmtrbp44/shot_20110507_143940_849.jpg[/img]

#3309706 - 06/03/11 01:30 AM Re: How to set the compass [Re: Bando]  
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 681
Blackdog_kt Offline
Member
Blackdog_kt  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 681
There's already a "look at the instruments" command in the controls setup of the sim: you map it to a button and you get a view of the instrument panel (regardless of whether you use head tracking or not, it over-rides everything) for as long as that button is held.
There's nothing wrong with the compass, it's realistic. All we need is a "look at the compass" command or a "look at instruments part2" command (so that non-RAF aircraft can benefit from it too, for example, it would be cool to fiddle with radios while in the gunner position of a Ju88/Me111/etc if and when they get implemented) that works the same way: lock view to compass as long as the key is held down.


In the meantime, i've found out a way to reliably calibrate it in flight without losing control of the aircraft. Move your viewpoint (via head tracking or regular mouse control) so that you are looking at the lower half of your instrument panel and left of the stick (it's like leaning left and down into the seat). This leaves a bit of visible horizon so that you can stay level and you have all the major instruments in view.

From this position you can clearly make out the alignment of the white compass bars and the yellow course setter bars, we just need to know which part of it is north. Momentarily go to zoom view/narrow FOV to identify where's the T-bar on the compass and the North marker on the course setter, now you now which way to turn it. Zoom back out and apply the relevant command while you still have a sufficient amount of forward view and all the main instruments in sight helping you maintain straight and level flight.

Absolute precision is not necessary, getting it within 5 degrees or so is just fine for the distances we fly now. On longer trips (eg, a cross-channel Rhubarb) we'll have to recalibrate anyway once identifying a ground landmark to correct for possible wind drift over the channel.

It's not optimal but
a) it works reliably and well
b) the aircraft of the time weren't ergonomically optimal either, many of them weren't even optimized in that regard
c) if you want cool automatic stuff, fly a lufty plane biggrin

Finally, if someone complains about being unable to do this drill during combat the answer is "you are not supposed to". I check it every 5 minutes or so during cruise and it never strays for more than a couple of degrees. By the time i'm in the "danger zone" i know it'll all go awry due to the gyros tumbling from the maneuvers in the dogfight so i just stop thinking about it. If i need to disengage in a hurry i know i need to go north: just turn until the cross-bar is at the top and you'll be going north. Then i recalibrate it once i'm out of the woods.

I really like all such complexity in all aircraft of the sim, it gives me a greater feeling of immersion by "muddying the waters" a bit: i can't calibrate my DG mid-combat so i'm high-tailing it out of the combat area on an approximate heading, possibly while low on fuel and/or with some damage.

I bet that after a while it's exactly this aspect of the gameplay that will get the most praise. It reminds me of when i started messing with silent hunter 3 way back in the day. I saved very often and loaded my saved game whenever the escorts pinged me. Before long i was sinking massive tonnage, i was the Kriegsmarine's wonder boy...and i was bored and stopped playing. After picking it up again at the instigation of a friend, i deliberately provoked a detection of my U-boat by the DD escorts and started playing through the evasion phase. I realized i was missing half the gameplay up until that point.

Uncertainty and a feeling of slight helplessness in simulators (as in "this is over my direct powers at this point in time") is what turns ordinary happenings and predictable successes into great gaming moments and heroic feats wink

#3310607 - 06/04/11 02:14 AM Re: How to set the compass [Re: Bando]  
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 75
simpliciter Offline
Junior Member
simpliciter  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 75
Great post Blackdog


Asus M3A78T, 450watt PS, Ultra mini tower case, Phenom 9550 (OC to 2.4ghz) quad, 4gb OCZ, Galaxy 450GTS 1GB,Logitech wireless mouse and KB MK550, Windows 7 Pro 64bit. Saitek AV8R joystick, CH Pro Pedals USB.
#3310721 - 06/04/11 07:27 AM Re: How to set the compass [Re: Bando]  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 13,361
Freycinet Offline
Veteran
Freycinet  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 13,361
Bando, thanks for explaining this piece of kit, which I personally hadn't gotten my head around just yet. So much else to learn, and too damn' little time, with real life interfering in all sorts of unhelpful ways...

I don't quite understand your final step, could you explain it a bit more? After lining up the "railroad track" with N at the same end as the little white line in the compass, what is it I do then? I would much prefer not to have to rely on the digital overlay read-out when transferring the course to the directional gyro. Am trying to get rid of that crutch. Do I just take the number at the "forward" part of the course setter ring and enter it into the gyro? And what exactly does that number represent?

Thanks and keep up the good work. The developers have been terribly woefully inadequate in their efforts of documentation, which is really a shame, because if they had involved the community it would all have been a good deal less obtuse. Not everybody reads the SimHQ forums...


My Il-2 CoD movie web site: www.flightsimvids.com
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Americas Cup
by Murphy. 06/25/17 06:37 PM
When you let noobs handle the ATC
by Bib4Tuna. 06/25/17 01:16 PM
Assassin's Creed Gamer People...
by Weasel_Keeper. 06/24/17 05:39 AM
A problem with your pheune?
by Li'lJugs. 06/23/17 07:20 PM
Your favorite "weird" movies?
by PanzerMeyer. 06/23/17 07:10 PM
Thunderbirds mishap
by DaBBQ. 06/23/17 06:07 PM
Am I stupid but...,
by Sluggish Controls. 06/23/17 04:40 PM
Political summit
by DaBBQ. 06/22/17 10:51 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0