Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#3197098 - 02/03/11 06:31 AM But will it run on a Mac?  
Joined: May 2000
Posts: 2,536
AV8R Offline
Senior Member
AV8R  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: May 2000
Posts: 2,536
Southern California USA
Even ole Janes LB2 can...
biggrin




copter


AV8R
Inline advert (4th to 5th topic)

#3197143 - 02/03/11 09:37 AM Re: But will it run on a Mac? [Re: AV8R]  
Joined: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,268
Flexman Offline
Member
Flexman  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,268
Leeds, England
heh. that's Windows on Boot Camp. Interesting, never seen LB2 on a Mac before. That's a first.

Can you play it though?


Richard - You Have Control
Tricubic Studios Ltd. (dev blog)
#3197446 - 02/03/11 05:14 PM Re: But will it run on a Mac? [Re: AV8R]  
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 43
storm rider Offline
Junior Member
storm rider  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2007
Posts: 43
Im currently running all kinds of sims in my macbook pro, that includes arma2oa, bs...
One only need 2 things: A windows and a powered USB hub. Since macs now come with Intel processors, and we are provided with the bootcamp program, we can easily create a windows partition. A USB hub is a must because we only have 2 ports. I then connect it via HDMI to a big flat screen and voila!

#3197452 - 02/03/11 05:24 PM Re: But will it run on a Mac? [Re: AV8R]  
Joined: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,268
Flexman Offline
Member
Flexman  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,268
Leeds, England
I might have to try that. It only gets used for compiling iPhone programs and the occasional movie edit.


Richard - You Have Control
Tricubic Studios Ltd. (dev blog)
#3197559 - 02/03/11 07:01 PM Re: But will it run on a Mac? [Re: Flexman]  
Joined: May 2000
Posts: 2,536
AV8R Offline
Senior Member
AV8R  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: May 2000
Posts: 2,536
Southern California USA
Originally Posted By: Flexman
heh. that's Windows on Boot Camp. Interesting, never seen LB2 on a Mac before. That's a first.

Can you play it though?


A couple of years ago I had LB2 displaying on my iPhone as well...
But to answer your question, it is playable as a Windows (Vista) virtual machine as shown above and in pure bootcamp to Vista mode.
The later of which is better because it can be full screen (not windowed) and runs faster in bootcamp over VM (Fusion) mode.
Theres a bunch of hurdles I had to overcome to get games to run on my MacBookPro running Snow Leopard and Fusion, but it can be done.
Theres other issues too like Windows wanted to be reactivated over again. Crud like that. From developer's perspective, Ive found that
the license checking software that DCS BS/A10 and FlamingCliffs use are problematic for the VMs, but not so for Bootcamp.

What hurts LB2 as hardware and OS change over the last 13 years, is that there are parts of the sim code that are CPU speed dependent
(ie rocket accuracy, throttling and stalling, a/c sway, enemy a/c speed, and the synching between CPG and Pilot in MP). So anything that
actually slows down the sim to be closer to 1Ghz or less is good. The 3D drivers are dealt with by a wrapper called DgVoodoo which allows
LB2 to run as if still in DX7. The gain is we get 3D and higher resolutions than the sim was originally designed for.



AV8R
#3197632 - 02/03/11 08:15 PM Re: But will it run on a Mac? [Re: AV8R]  
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,248
malibu43 Offline
Member
malibu43  Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,248
SoCal
I do all my simming on my MacBook through bootcamp.

Strike Fighters 2 (about 4-5 installs)
IL-2 Modded
Janes F-18
F4AF
EECH
FS9


Sager NP8671 17.3" Notebook, i74720HQ (3.6GHz), GTX 970M (3.0GB), 8GB DDR3 RAM, 1TB 7200RPM HD, TrackIR 4, CH HOTAS and rudder pedals

Currently Installed:
P3D
CloD
BMS

#3197864 - 02/04/11 12:14 AM Re: But will it run on a Mac? [Re: AV8R]  
Joined: May 2000
Posts: 2,536
AV8R Offline
Senior Member
AV8R  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: May 2000
Posts: 2,536
Southern California USA

Im not surprised there are Mac users running PC games as there are few native Mac sims.
Yet, the Intel based Macs are very good sim platforms. My 3 year old MacBook Pro 17" laptop
still scores 5.4 out of 5.9 overall on the Windows performance specs, and for graphics they rate 5.9.

On Macs, you do have to get an external USB numeric pad and possibly an USB hub for controllers if two isnt enough.
Ive not tried TrackIR yet, but this thread would indicate that it does:
Link to Natural Point Support Forum regarding TIR on MAC


AV8R
#3198591 - 02/04/11 06:05 PM Re: But will it run on a Mac? [Re: AV8R]  
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 43
storm rider Offline
Junior Member
storm rider  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2007
Posts: 43
There arent any TrackIRs OSX drivers yet out there. You can use tho, like I do, TrackIR via Bootcamp Windows. I connect mine through a D-Link 7 port powered USB Hub and it works like a charm!

Windows7 rates my score 5.7
My Macbook pro seems to have its bottomneck at its disk transfer data rate, cause its rated 6.9 processor speed and 6.4 gaming graphics. Unfortunatly Ill have to wait til october to upgrade its primary HD so not break its warranty prematuraly.



Last edited by storm rider; 02/04/11 06:23 PM.
#3198628 - 02/04/11 06:48 PM Re: But will it run on a Mac? [Re: AV8R]  
Joined: May 2000
Posts: 2,536
AV8R Offline
Senior Member
AV8R  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: May 2000
Posts: 2,536
Southern California USA

Thanks for the TIR on a Mac (under windows) confirmation. Thats good to hear, else simming on a Mac wouldnt be so good.
TrackIR is as critical to combat as is a good controller setup. I tried to use the hat switch the other day in IL2, and it was pitiful.
To think I used to do combat with just a hat switch. How prehistoric.

Im running Vista 32 bit on my MBPro under bootcamp
Love using my simple but sturdy Microsoft Sidewinder Force Feedback Pro2 USB with helo and prop sims (Force controlled Cougar for fast movers).
Only problem with the SW FFB Pro2 is that its software that is used to map stick buttons to game functions (Recorder) didnt survive the WinXP to Vista
upgrade. Same thing with Win7 from what I hear.

Wish I were able to get the Recorder working in Vista. At least the stick is recognized and the force feedback works. I have to use the sim's
key mapping interface to map to the stick's directX button and axes. Hopefully Combat Helo will keep this in mind for us that love the older sticks.
And I hope we get force feedback support too.


AV8R
#3202969 - 02/09/11 02:00 PM Re: But will it run on a Mac? [Re: AV8R]  
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 742
Rends Offline
Member
Rends  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 742
Germany
Just for fun i ran BOB2 under Parallels:


Fight blood cancer register at : http://www.dkmsamericas.org/
#3205371 - 02/11/11 07:58 PM Re: But will it run on a Mac? [Re: AV8R]  
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,248
malibu43 Offline
Member
malibu43  Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,248
SoCal
What Macs/MacBooks/MacBook Pros do you guys have? Which graphics cards?

My MacBook has the older intel x3100, which isn't worth crap. I'm stuck with SF2, IL-2, and FS9 as the most modern things I can run. Tried BoBII and it was a no go.

I'd like to run FF5.5, DCS A-10, and maybe even IL-2 CoD, but I don't know if/what I'd need to upgrade to to be able to do it. I'm thinking the 15" MBP with the GT330 (256 or 512 GB) might do it, but I'm not sure.

Any of you running newers titles on Mac Book Pro's?

Last edited by malibu43; 02/11/11 07:59 PM.

Sager NP8671 17.3" Notebook, i74720HQ (3.6GHz), GTX 970M (3.0GB), 8GB DDR3 RAM, 1TB 7200RPM HD, TrackIR 4, CH HOTAS and rudder pedals

Currently Installed:
P3D
CloD
BMS

#3206586 - 02/13/11 12:09 PM Re: But will it run on a Mac? [Re: AV8R]  
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 43
storm rider Offline
Junior Member
storm rider  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2007
Posts: 43
Mine is a MBP 15" 2.66 Intel Core i7, 4GB 1067 DDR3 RAM, NVidia GeForce GT 330M 512MB

I can play smoothly DCS:BS in FULL Graphs and Res!
But Arma2 only in Medium Settings.

#3207752 - 02/14/11 09:03 PM Re: But will it run on a Mac? [Re: storm rider]  
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,248
malibu43 Offline
Member
malibu43  Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,248
SoCal
Originally Posted By: storm rider
Mine is a MBP 15" 2.66 Intel Core i7, 4GB 1067 DDR3 RAM, NVidia GeForce GT 330M 512MB

I can play smoothly DCS:BS in FULL Graphs and Res!
But Arma2 only in Medium Settings.




Thanks!

Man, as much as I've had fun owning a Mac for the last few years, I don't know if the next laptop I buy will be one or not.

For 1/2 to 2/3 the price, you can get something very close from Alienware... The M11x has a lesser processor and smaller screen, but comes with a 1GB GT335M and cost < $1000!

If apple would make things a little more customizable (ie offer a GT 330M and different processors on the 11" MBP) and drop their prices a little, it would be a no brainer. But until then, I'd have a hard time explaining to myself what I'm paying 2x for...

Last edited by malibu43; 02/14/11 09:04 PM.

Sager NP8671 17.3" Notebook, i74720HQ (3.6GHz), GTX 970M (3.0GB), 8GB DDR3 RAM, 1TB 7200RPM HD, TrackIR 4, CH HOTAS and rudder pedals

Currently Installed:
P3D
CloD
BMS

#3237457 - 03/18/11 09:53 AM Re: But will it run on a Mac? [Re: AV8R]  
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 56
tintifaxl Offline
Junior Member
tintifaxl  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 56
Austria
Originally Posted By: AV8R

...

Yet, the Intel based Macs are very good sim platforms. My 3 year old MacBook Pro 17" laptop
still scores 5.4 out of 5.9 overall on the Windows performance specs, and for graphics they rate 5.9.

...



Only for older sims.

I recently switched back to PC after using Mac for 3 years. The reasons being, that I mainly used Open Source software on MacOSX that's available for Windows too and the 27" i5 iMac I had was not performing well enough in Arma2 and DCS-A10 Beta under bootcamp. IL2 on the other hand, was absolutely smooth.

The only 2 pieces of software I do miss somehow are Time Machine and iMovie.


Moderated by  RacerGT, Wklink 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
How Marines Recover a Lost Cell Phone
by Arthonon. 11/21/17 04:34 PM
Finally dead... Charles Manson
by Raw Kryptonite. 11/20/17 11:47 PM
Geostorm
by DM. 11/20/17 10:52 PM
Radioactive pet
by Chucky. 11/19/17 05:54 PM
Another Icon of My Childhood Gone: Mel Tillis
by vocatx. 11/19/17 04:59 PM
Big John W
by Haggart. 11/18/17 08:02 PM
Malcolm Young RIP
by JimK. 11/18/17 02:16 PM
Obscene Pilots
by Timothy. 11/18/17 05:23 AM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0