Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 4 1 2 3 4
#3173830 - 01/07/11 01:49 PM Re: How to use weapons - Picture guide GBU-12 **** [Re: Sim]  
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 7,263
UnderTheRadar Offline
Hotshot
UnderTheRadar  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 7,263
Austin, TX
Can that possible be accurate? GPS weapons locked up visually like a mav?


I have gaming PCs that run everything from MS-DOS 6.22 to Windows 7 64-bit

Win7 Home Prem 64
i5-3570
ASRock HM77
XFX Radeon HD 6950 2 Gig
8 Gigs GSkill DDR3 1600
500 Gig Samsung 840 SSD
1 TB WD Black SATA II HD
Plextor 24x DVD-RW
ViewSonic VA2702w 1920x1080
HP L2206tm 1920x1080 Multi-Touch Screen
Antec Neo 550w PS
Antec Full Tower Case
Warthog 1663 w/ CH Pro Pedals
TIR4 w/ Clip
Logitech G110 KB
Razer Naga
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#3173845 - 01/07/11 02:07 PM Re: How to use weapons - Picture guide GBU-12 [Re: UnderTheRadar]  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 8,760
Para_Bellum Offline
Oberkriegkaboomfhrer
Para_Bellum  Offline
Oberkriegkaboomfhrer
Hotshot

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 8,760
Germany
Originally Posted By: UnderTheRadar
Can that possible be accurate? GPS weapons locked up visually like a mav?


Keyword:: SPI.

You don't actually "visually lock up a target", you use the TGP to designate a 3d point in space which provides the necessary data for a JDAM.


"...late afternoon the Air Tasking Order came in [and] we found the A-10 part and we said, "We are going where!? We are doing what!?"

Capt. Todd Sheehy, Hog pilot, on receiving orders during Operation Desert Storm

#3173937 - 01/07/11 04:08 PM Re: How to use weapons - Picture guide GBU-12 [Re: UnderTheRadar]  
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 5,581
GrayGhost Offline
Hotshot
GrayGhost  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 5,581
As said above.

To be more clear ... you put the target in the TGP (or whatever OTHER means of target acquisition you want, including maverick-as-sensor, designation via HUD cursor, or target received via datalink, or manually input coordinates via CDU), and designate it as SPI - all SPI is, is the target coordinates. Once you designate an SPI, your GPS weapons are programmed with those coordinates.

Originally Posted By: UnderTheRadar
Can that possible be accurate? GPS weapons locked up visually like a mav?


--
44th VFW
#3174137 - 01/07/11 07:46 PM Re: How to use weapons - Picture guide GBU-12 [Re: Sim]  
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 341
Longbow fanatic Offline
Member
Longbow fanatic  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2008
Posts: 341
Santa Fe, NM USA
So what is the range limit of the AGM 65 then? If it's not locking onto target using it's own sensor, ( normally you have to get within a SAM site's range before I could lock on with it's own sensor) so now we are limited to the amount of propellant in the missile?

EDIT: Duh answered my own question looking at the Mav MFD screen there is a bracket on the side that I assume is for max and min engagement range... and the target he shoots is locked up at 5.2 nm... very cool thx !

Last edited by Longbow fanatic; 01/07/11 07:51 PM.

Why do people think flight sims are nerdy???
#3175674 - 01/09/11 11:46 PM Re: How to use weapons - Picture guide GBU-12 [Re: Mace71]  
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,111
Wrecking Crew Offline
Smooth Operator
Wrecking Crew  Offline
Smooth Operator
Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,111
Colorado
Originally Posted By: MaceUK33
One question, when I have the long line and the shorter line with the circle on the end and I fly towards the target the small circle moves down the long line but before it counts down to '0' the whole line flys off the side! How do I stop this?


Mace -
The circle is the Solution Cue and the number to the right is Time To Release Numeric (TTRN). I think from what you described is that the Solution Cue must go *through* the pipper on the circle (CCRP Bomb Reticle). The way I'm reading it, if the circle does not go through the pipper then the ordance will not release. This is the "5 MIL" mode vs the "3/9" mode where the release is not so restricted.
(Page 371)


Maybe you know this already. The Minimum Range Staple is what I have a hard time with. If it intersects the CCRP Reticle then there's no release.

I'm just learning this, too - no expert yet.

WC

crew


"Your ballroom days are over, baby"

Find my DCS World missions at Wrecking Crew Projects. All released missions are free to download, modify and publicly host -- enjoy!
#3175723 - 01/10/11 01:19 AM Re: How to use weapons - Picture guide GBU-12 [Re: Sim]  
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,111
Wrecking Crew Offline
Smooth Operator
Wrecking Crew  Offline
Smooth Operator
Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,111
Colorado
Originally Posted By: Sim
Originally Posted By: MaceUK33
One question, when I have the long line and the shorter line with the circle on the end and I fly towards the target the small circle moves down the long line but before it counts down to '0' the whole line flys off the side! How do I stop this?

Also, does the line appear on the side of where the ordnance is located or should it be central? As it's the former for me...


It maybe you're out of position.

One technique is too keep little dot at 12 o'clock. That little dot represent where sensor is looking.


Another technique, a bit more exact, is to keep X on the line. X represent where your nose is pointing.




Yes, thanks Sim,
That bit of advice got the puzzle sorted out for me. I've got steel on target.

WC


crew


"Your ballroom days are over, baby"

Find my DCS World missions at Wrecking Crew Projects. All released missions are free to download, modify and publicly host -- enjoy!
#3176218 - 01/10/11 07:04 PM Re: How to use weapons - Picture guide: GBU-12, GBU-38 and AGM-65 [Re: Sim]  
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 35
Todd Offline
Junior Member
Todd  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2006
Posts: 35
Expeditionary
Any chance of getting this converted to PDF? Would love to referrence via ereader while flying. Thanks!

#3176226 - 01/10/11 07:15 PM Re: How to use weapons - Picture guide: GBU-12, GBU-38 and AGM-65 [Re: Todd]  
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,653
DocW Offline
Member
DocW  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,653
Originally Posted By: Todd Mallek
Any chance of getting this converted to PDF? Would love to referrence via ereader while flying. Thanks!


I use this.

There are other free apps around, I am sure. It installs as a printer you have to choose in the printer setup. The printer than creates the .pdf. It is free and legal.

Michael.

#3179903 - 01/15/11 12:32 AM Re: How to use weapons - Picture guide: GBU-12, GBU-38 and AGM-65 [Re: Sim]  
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 9,581
Sim Offline
Hotshot
Sim  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 9,581
Vegas
Another little tip. Targeting pod; SPI, laser and you.


When you create SPI (TMS forward long), it creates a coordinate. But there is a little problem. It doesn't recognize elevation well or objects in front of "coordinates".



On this screen I'm pointing at a building. Or so it seems. Actually I'm point behind this building. Targeting pod right now just doesn't see it. So if I enter that as SPI and drop GPS bomb, it will be a miss.



How to solve this? Press NWS (nose wheel steering in flight turns on the laser) and then create SPI. As you can see on this screenshot, now distance to building is 4.3 and coordinates are exact.

Good luck!


Edit: Terrain also causes problem when selecting coordinates. So whenever you want to create SPI, press and hold NWS then TMS forward long.

Last edited by Sim; 01/15/11 12:41 AM.
#3180191 - 01/15/11 03:12 PM Re: How to use weapons - Picture guide: GBU-12, GBU-38 and AGM-65 [Re: Sim]  
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 341
Longbow fanatic Offline
Member
Longbow fanatic  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2008
Posts: 341
Santa Fe, NM USA
Also make sure you are high enough and have a clear view of target with TGP when using LGB.... I've had my laser lock broke each time I tried the GBU12! Look for the "L"( for Lasing) on the left side of the HUD along with a time to impact timer for the bomb....


Why do people think flight sims are nerdy???
#3214880 - 02/22/11 03:24 PM Re: How to use weapons - Picture guide: GBU-12, GBU-38 and AGM-65 [Re: Sim]  
Joined: Dec 1999
Posts: 6,204
EAF331 MadDog Online tunes
XBL: LanceHawkins
EAF331 MadDog  Online Tunes
XBL: LanceHawkins
Hotshot

Joined: Dec 1999
Posts: 6,204
Oslo, Norway
Here is a PDF version of Sim's posts.
http://home.ifi.uio.no/~oysteint/test/A-10C GBU Guide.pdf

Cheers,
ystein

#3215392 - 02/22/11 10:19 PM Re: How to use weapons - Picture guide: GBU-12, GBU-38 and AGM-65 [Re: Sim]  
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 9,581
Sim Offline
Hotshot
Sim  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 9,581
Vegas
Thanks. Later on I'll create guide for CBU and HD. No idea when that will happen...

#3215416 - 02/22/11 10:40 PM Re: How to use weapons - Picture guide: GBU-12, GBU-38 and AGM-65 [Re: Sim]  
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 491
Stuntie Offline
Member
Stuntie  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 491
Bradford, UK
Fantastic quick start guide.
Well done and very useful.

Only bit I would add is for GBU 38 you do need to hold down the pickle button till it drops (stores box goes white) else you risk a hung store and a useless bomb. A quick press won't do.
(Basically the targetting data transfer is a one time process on the A-10C, so if you don't hold pickle till it finishes the data transfer and drops it gets stuck and can't be reset in flight so becomes hung).


Cheers
Stuntie.
#3223390 - 03/03/11 05:21 PM Re: How to use weapons - Picture guide: GBU-12, GBU-38 and AGM-65 [Re: Sim]  
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 9,581
Sim Offline
Hotshot
Sim  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 9,581
Vegas
It seems there are some changes from beta to release. I'll have to revise this...

#3223496 - 03/03/11 07:26 PM Re: How to use weapons - Picture guide: GBU-12, GBU-38 and AGM-65 [Re: Sim]  
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 9,581
Sim Offline
Hotshot
Sim  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 9,581
Vegas
GBU12 and GBU38 is revised. Also added keyboard commands for folks without HOTAS

Last edited by Sim; 03/06/11 07:29 PM.
#3231005 - 03/11/11 03:37 AM Re: How to use weapons - Picture guide: GBU-12, GBU-38 and AGM-65 [Re: Sim]  
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 9,581
Sim Offline
Hotshot
Sim  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 9,581
Vegas
How to enter GRS coordinates into CDU so that TGP can look at it.


So here's a quick example. Let's assume JTAC gives you coordinate "MM336626"

Switch to CDU screen.
Click following button to switch to GRS



Then using a keyboard enter "MM336626"



Then click this OBS



Enter a name for that point.



Click that button



Now switch knob from FLT PlAN to MISSION



Then press STEER + to desired waypoint (what ever you named it).





And now simply slew TGP to that area by pressing "CHINA HAT AFT LONG"


Now your TGP is looking to GRS coordinates.


#3231115 - 03/11/11 08:52 AM Re: How to use weapons - Picture guide: GBU-12, GBU-38 and AGM-65 [Re: Sim]  
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 39
Mirtma Offline
Junior Member
Mirtma  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2006
Posts: 39
Default
Tnx Sim! Great job.


MSI Z87-G43
i5 4670K@3.4 (4.0)
RAM Corsair Vengeance 16 Gb DDR3 PC3-1500 @ 1866Mhz
Gigabyte GTX760 OC Windforce 3x rev2.0 2Gb
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 2433BW 24" @ 1920 x 1200
Saitek X-55 Rhino, TrackIR 5 Pro
Windows 8.1 64 bit Pro
#3231285 - 03/11/11 03:33 PM Re: How to use weapons - Picture guide: GBU-12, GBU-38 and AGM-65 [Re: Sim]  
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 6,346
Clydewinder Offline
Mach 2 Infrared Orangutan
Clydewinder  Offline
Mach 2 Infrared Orangutan
Hotshot

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 6,346
New Berlin, WI United States
Great tutorial, thanks!


Robots are stealing my luggage.
#3232481 - 03/12/11 04:45 PM Re: How to use weapons - Picture guide: GBU-12, GBU-38 and AGM-65 [Re: Sim]  
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 47
unpilot Offline
Junior Member
unpilot  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 47
US
Sounds simple but I cant seem to get it. I followed Warrior's procedures but must be missing something. I used the CDU repeater function so I can enter on right MFD. After I input coordinates and press OBS 16 nothing happens. So the scratch pad still has the coordinates I entered therefore I cant enter a way-point name? What am I missing?

#3232823 - 03/12/11 10:55 PM Re: How to use weapons - Picture guide: GBU-12, GBU-38 and AGM-65 [Re: unpilot]  
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 9,581
Sim Offline
Hotshot
Sim  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 9,581
Vegas
Originally Posted By: unpilot
Sounds simple but I cant seem to get it. I followed Warrior's procedures but must be missing something. I used the CDU repeater function so I can enter on right MFD. After I input coordinates and press OBS 16 nothing happens. So the scratch pad still has the coordinates I entered therefore I cant enter a way-point name? What am I missing?


So what part of my picture guide are you stuck? thumbsup I don't recall using any repeater function.... reading

Page 2 of 4 1 2 3 4

Moderated by  Force10, RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
SpaceX Launch / Landing Live Now
by F4UDash4. 04/30/17 11:11 AM
An unusual form of war work.
by RedToo. 04/30/17 10:20 AM
My Misheard Lyrics
by Weasel_Keeper. 04/30/17 02:15 AM
Hello!
by 13aceofspades13. 04/29/17 11:21 PM
Joke: The Scotch Expert
by Bill_Grant. 04/28/17 01:41 PM
Ironman is real, and he's British
by DM. 04/28/17 08:22 AM
Mt Monadnock NH, 23 April 2017 (PIC HEAVY)
by NH2112. 04/27/17 10:08 PM
Lose some birds, Weasel?
by NH2112. 04/27/17 05:12 PM
Finchner to direct WWZ2
by DM. 04/27/17 03:05 PM
Joke: I'm feeling philisophical today...
by Bill_Grant. 04/27/17 01:48 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0