Forums » Read Only Forums » Read Only Forums » Jane's Longbow Series (Read Only) » Longbow 2 Windows Vista/7 Fix available for download! Active Topics You are not logged in. [Log In] [Register User]
Page 3 of 8 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
Hop to:
#3019739 - 05/27/10 07:45 AM Re: Longbow 2 Windows Vista/7 Fix available for download! [Re: john84]
Flyboy Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/29/06
Posts: 3275
Loc: England, UK
Originally Posted By: john84
I'm playing on windows 7 premium 64 bit system, there are always ways to improve, they will come.


Unlikely. Phoenix here is really the only one who has bothered to look into possible fixes, and he has now come to the end of his tether with that.

PositiveG was the main 'fixer' for LB2, and as you've been away for so long I don't know if you know... he sadly passed away in August last year.
http://digitality.comyr.com/flyboy/lb2/tribute.html

And although yet more people are still getting into LB2 for the very first time (even 12 years later!), none of them have any knowledge of how LB2 works internally or have the desire to do anything about it. And who can really blame them? We all have to let go at some point.

Top
#3019740 - 05/27/10 07:48 AM Re: Longbow 2 Windows Vista/7 Fix available for download! [Re: Flyboy]
Flyboy Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/29/06
Posts: 3275
Loc: England, UK
Originally Posted By: john84
Bunch of old longbow 2 mods/utilities still online
http://home.mindspring.com/~bobtull/LB2/

any good?


Dude we are so far past this point! You really have been away for far too long! smile

Also, these may be of interest to you...
http://www.simhq.com/_air10/air_320a.html
http://www.simhq.com/_air13/air_437a.html

Top
#3069156 - 08/07/10 07:39 PM Re: Longbow 2 Windows Vista/7 Fix available for download! [Re: Flyboy]
AV8R Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 05/08/00
Posts: 2535
Loc: Southern California USA
Been away from LB2 for a long while. Been flying LOMAC-FC2 and DCS-BS which now share
the same MP electronic battlefield. (see second picture below)

Regarding LB2 on MS Vista, Ive been running it pretty much stock with the CDs plus
the wrappers as we have been with WinXP and now Vista. Didnt need the Vista-fix-EXE. I say that
just as another data point. Glad the patch is working for those that needed it.

LB2 on VISTA Home Premium with OEM CDs



DCS-BS and LOMAC-FC2 on VISTA


pilot


oh man... i have been gone along time.
Kevin has gained his golden rotors.
Thanks for the tribute Flyboy.
_________________________
AV8R

Top
#3070774 - 08/10/10 11:55 AM Re: Longbow 2 Windows Vista/7 Fix available for download! [Re: AV8R]
Flyboy Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/29/06
Posts: 3275
Loc: England, UK
Wow, I couldn't believe my eyes when I saw 'AV8R' on here. How are you man? We'd begun to think you'd gone the same way as +G. Don't leave it so long next time! You had us (well, me at least) all worried.

Top
#3163777 - 12/23/10 12:23 AM Re: Longbow 2 Windows Vista/7 Fix available for download! [Re: Flyboy]
TexasThunder Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 12/22/10
Posts: 4
Loc: 191:United States
New member here.
First I wanted to say many thanks to Flyboy.
After buying a copy of LB2 on Ebay and going thru the frustration
of trying to get it to load on my windows 7 laptop, I found this
message board.
Following the instructions in this thread I was able to get LB to download and install (I did use the seperate folder suggestion).

My questions are:

When double clicking on the LB2 Icon the game starts out on a battlefield with tanks approaching.
Is there not a way to start it with the helicopter on the base ?
I dont have a Joystick yet, so how do I set the controls for a laptop?
Last question, I found a site that has the operations manual in PDF, but is there a site that has a zipped copy ??

Top
#3164681 - 12/24/10 08:07 AM Re: Longbow 2 Windows Vista/7 Fix available for download! [Re: Flyboy]
Flyboy Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/29/06
Posts: 3275
Loc: England, UK
Hi TexasThunder and welcome to the forums. To (try and) answer your questions...

When double clicking on the LB2 Icon the game starts out on a battlefield with tanks approaching.
* You should go to the base screen where you can select your pilot and game type, etc. This sounds to me like you're playing the demo!

Is there not a way to start it with the helicopter on the base?
* See above.

I dont have a Joystick yet, so how do I set the controls for a laptop?
* If and when you start the game and get onto the base screen, press Alt-O and you will go to the options menu, from there you can set controls. If indeed you are playing the demo, again press Alt-O in-game to bring up the options menu. Beware that on my Windows 7 PC, I have to reconfigure controls every time I enter a new mission - this might just be a problem isolated to me though.

Last question, I found a site that has the operations manual in PDF, but is there a site that has a zipped copy ??
* Why do you want a zipped copy? Can't you just download the PDF?

Top
#3169949 - 01/02/11 02:46 AM Re: Longbow 2 Windows Vista/7 Fix available for download! [Re: Flyboy]
AV8R Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 05/08/00
Posts: 2535
Loc: Southern California USA

While doing a flyby (been busy doing DCS Blackshark, DCS A10C, IL21946, and SteelBeastsPro)...

Saw this download link again, and downloaded your Vista LB2 package FlyBoy.
It installed fine on my Vista32 Home Premium system, and it did run "out of the box", as long as it sees my OEM CD2.
However...
1. No matter which DX video card driver I select via LB2cfg, the graphics are poor quality (compared to DgVoodoo drivers)
2. Im unable to change the BASE TERRIAN in the options, all are inactive.

That being said,
I still have the OEM CDs and can install and run LB2 with those, (I do not have McAfee or Norton on this puter)
plus with the DgVoodoo drivers on my Vista system running in WinXP SP2 compatibility mode.

So, Im not sure why Im seeing what I saw with your installation and what drivers its using, if any.
Im betting that if DgVoodoo drivers are put in there, it will look great like my OEM install.

AV8R
_________________________
AV8R

Top
#3170598 - 01/03/11 07:23 AM Re: Longbow 2 Windows Vista/7 Fix available for download! [Re: Flyboy]
Flyboy Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/29/06
Posts: 3275
Loc: England, UK
Hi AV8R, wow it's great to see you in here again. I have previously asked about you as I was a bit 'concerned' at one point, after +G, you know...

Yeah you still need a game CD in the drive/or ISO image mounted. My package simply bypasses CD/ISO install as some Vista/7 users report problems even installing, and indeed can't install the patch or DDU either. It's also a neat way of not letting people play the game without first, hopefully, buying it. It is NOT a NoCD solution.

To answer your questions...

1. No matter which DX video card driver I select via LB2cfg, the graphics are poor quality (compared to DgVoodoo drivers)
* I can't remember now but I THINK the lb2cfg is set by default (by me) to 3DFX. So all you should need to do is install dgVoodoo (or not, if I included that - but I don't think so as different people have differing success with each different version - i.e. 1.40 Beta, 1.50 Beta, 1.50 Beta2). Sometimes I have seen the game automatically revert to Software mode if Direct3D is selected and is unable to be utilized, it MAY in some cases be the same with 3DFX). Yeah, the D3D drivers aren't a sure-fire way for LB2 on modern PCs at least, as there are some glaring graphical bugs. Why would you even use D3D over 3DFX? smile

2. Im unable to change the BASE TERRIAN in the options, all are inactive.
* Are you trying to access this particular menu option from the menu whilst in-game? If that's the case, these options are blanked out on purpose - by the game, not by me. You can change these options from the base menu screen only, before you get in-game. Press ALT-O at the base.

I hope my answers help - and of course, if you need any further help, I'd be glad to try - sir.

Top
#3171571 - 01/04/11 12:33 PM Re: Longbow 2 Windows Vista/7 Fix available for download! [Re: Flyboy]
AV8R Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 05/08/00
Posts: 2535
Loc: Southern California USA

Flyboy,

If 3DFX was selected already by you when you made your install package, then what I saw after first installing was not what I see using DgVoodoo drivers. This is why I went back and played around with the DX choices. I will go back and try 3DFX setting again and report back. Its nice that you are trying to give more legs to this classic. Im hoping that DCS will eventually come out with a LongBow or Apache addon in the future. Only they seem to be able to do the job right.

I did see that you were asking for a multiplayer flight, its just not right that youve havent had the opportunity to do this yet. Somehow we will have to rectify that.

Regarding something happening to me, the rumors of my demise are greatly exaggerated.

AV8R
_________________________
AV8R

Top
#3172112 - 01/05/11 08:15 AM Re: Longbow 2 Windows Vista/7 Fix available for download! [Re: Flyboy]
Flyboy Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/29/06
Posts: 3275
Loc: England, UK
Just make sure that you have 3DFX enabled in the lb2cfg.exe, and copy over the dgVoodoo files for the version of your choice - to the LB2 directory. If the game doesn't work in Glide after that, I haven't a clue what is going on.

Top
Page 3 of 8 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
Hop to:

Moderator:  EinsteinEP, RacerGT 
 
Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Virgin Atlantic Space Plane Blew Up
by Timothy
20 minutes 2 seconds ago
Halloween jokes
by Bill_Grant
Today at 10:48 AM
Firefox users
by Chucky
Today at 10:20 AM
Revisiting my childhood: Carl Barks and Don Rosa Scrooge & Donald books
by semmern
Today at 09:26 AM
Youtube offering 60 fps
by Raw Kryptonite
Today at 08:05 AM
Is conversing with the opposite sex on line. cheating on your partner
by marko1231123
Yesterday at 10:53 PM
Guy ACES G-Force test!
by Linebacker
Yesterday at 09:04 PM
Sneeze Reaction - Adorable!
by Robbster
Yesterday at 06:07 PM
F-117A Nighthawk Stealth Fighter 2.0 / Fleet Defender: The F-14 Tomcat Simulation on Steam
by Bib4Tuna
Yesterday at 04:43 PM
Icewind Dale EE out now for PC...
by Magnum
Yesterday at 01:50 PM
 

Forum Use Agreement | Privacy Statement
Copyright 1997-2014, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.