Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#3155077 - 12/11/10 05:47 PM Clarification on Rising Sun Requirements (Vista and SF2 Merged)  
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 240
trek Offline
Member
trek  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 240
OK, I've read bits and pieces on this forum about various systems compatibility with Rising Sun. But never a complete answer for my particular system and SF2 install. I would like to purchase RS but need answers to specifics before doing so. Here are my questions:

A couple days ago I did a fresh re-install of SF2, SF2Vietnam, SF2Europe and SFIsrael. I did NOT install either of the two Expansion packs, SF2Israel Exp 1 or SF2Europe Exp 2. I have Terrain Mods installed for all four of the aformentioned titles. Will RS work with my SF2 merged install and will there be any conflicts with my Terrain Mods?

I'm running Vista 32-bit (64-bit was mentioned in another thread). Will RS run with this OS?

Finally, here are my system specs:

Falcon-NW FragBox PC
Intel Duo-Core 3.15Ghz Chip
ATI Palit Radeon 4850 GC
4MB Ram
Vista 32-bit OS

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#3155078 - 12/11/10 05:54 PM Re: Clarification on Rising Sun Requirements (Vista and SF2 Merged) [Re: trek]  
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 942
8 L.E.I.N. Offline
Member
8 L.E.I.N.  Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 942
Detroit, Michigan USA
trek,

You can use the SF2/Win7 version on your Vista32 system. However as always, I would recommend a stand alone install with SF2 and do not install the expansion packs. I would think the only way to find out if there is a terrain clash is to try it out. We did not in testing.

#3155162 - 12/11/10 09:24 PM Re: Clarification on Rising Sun Requirements (Vista and SF2 Merged) [Re: trek]  
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 1,651
Panama Red Online content
Member
Panama Red  Online Content
Member

Joined: May 2001
Posts: 1,651
Irmo, SC, USA
SF2 Rising Sun will work with any OS that Strike Fighters 2 uses. It is nothing more than a mod as far as Strike Fighters 2 is concerned, just like NATO Fighters 4+, Vietnam Expanded or any other all encompassing mod out there.

There should not be any conflicts with a SF2 Merged game as long as you do not attempt to use the various RS objects outside of the RS missions. When you do that, you start to have strange things happen (like bombs not exploding, guns not working, etc) or an occasional "hang" due to Start and End date conflicts with the other planes, guns, weapons, objects and terrains.

The best thing to do is make a copy of the StrikeFighters2.exe and rename it to StrikeFighters2 Rising Sun.exe, then double click new the "Strikefighters2 Rising Sun.exe". This will then create your new StrikeFighters2 Rising Sun mod folder (mod folder's location is dependant upon your Operating System). You then delete the modern planes out of that aircraft mod folder and install all of the Rising Sun mod into your new StrikeFighters2 Rising Sun mod. From there, you are then transformed back to World War II in the Pacific. winner


CPU = i9 9900K, GPU = RTX 2080 Ti, Monitor = 32" 4K G-sync
#3155222 - 12/11/10 11:23 PM Re: Clarification on Rising Sun Requirements (Vista and SF2 Merged) [Re: trek]  
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 240
trek Offline
Member
trek  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 240
Gentlemen, Thanks for the replies. Your posts make everything crystal clear.

#3155245 - 12/12/10 12:51 AM Re: Clarification on Rising Sun Requirements (Vista and SF2 Merged) [Re: trek]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 118
Danosh33 Offline
Member
Danosh33  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 118
Trek a word of caution these guys have nt tested rs with vista I fir one can't get it to work despite doing everything they ve told me to do. I an trying to run it on vista 64 bit with no joy! Be careful before you waste $26.

Please let me know if you got RS to work.

Cheers.

Last edited by Danosh33; 12/12/10 01:18 AM.
#3155258 - 12/12/10 01:25 AM Re: Clarification on Rising Sun Requirements (Vista and SF2 Merged) [Re: trek]  
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 1,651
Panama Red Online content
Member
Panama Red  Online Content
Member

Joined: May 2001
Posts: 1,651
Irmo, SC, USA
If SF2 works in Vista 64, then this mod will work in Vista 64. This mod is no different to SF2 than any other mod that you install into SF2.

Last edited by Panama Red; 12/12/10 01:25 AM.

CPU = i9 9900K, GPU = RTX 2080 Ti, Monitor = 32" 4K G-sync
#3155264 - 12/12/10 01:39 AM Re: Clarification on Rising Sun Requirements (Vista and SF2 Merged) [Re: trek]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 118
Danosh33 Offline
Member
Danosh33  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 118
Its not working mate, I've tried everything you told me to do and again all I am getting is the load/menu screens and single missions, I can't see the campaign. I have installed it in C:\users\daniel\saved games\thirdwire etc etc fresh install of sf2, sf2 work fine RS doesn't.

#3155265 - 12/12/10 01:40 AM Re: Clarification on Rising Sun Requirements (Vista and SF2 Merged) [Re: trek]  
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,739
zerocinco Offline
Member
zerocinco  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,739
Tchepone, Laos
"These guys"?

PM me. We handle tech problems via email. It is faster, direct and flexible. We can send items and pictures and fixes. Here all we can do is play with an 8 hour delay.

Since you are the one without their game working, let's stick to your problem. You don't need to warn anyone. We handle our customer's problems directly and immediately as anyone who has done business with YAP knows. We never mentioned Vista as a platform. But we see no reason that it won't run a program (Strike Fighters 2) that runs on Vista.

So if you want help, email is the medium.

Last edited by zerocinco; 12/12/10 01:53 AM.
#3155268 - 12/12/10 01:44 AM Re: Clarification on Rising Sun Requirements (Vista and SF2 Merged) [Re: trek]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 118
Danosh33 Offline
Member
Danosh33  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 118
Haven't checked I uninstalled the game. Re-installing it now, will let you know ASAP.

#3155272 - 12/12/10 02:03 AM Re: Clarification on Rising Sun Requirements (Vista and SF2 Merged) [Re: trek]  
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,739
zerocinco Offline
Member
zerocinco  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,739
Tchepone, Laos
When you click on Strike Fighters 2, do you see this?



And when you select Single Mission, do you get this?



There are then two choices: Create Mission and Load Mission. Since ours are story-based, you LOAD a mission.

When you do that, do you have a list of our missions in the MissionFilename window?...the first being 411207a Yoshio Shiga?

And if you hit Accept, do you go to the Hangar screen?

And if you hit FLY, do you see this?



Do you hear Japanese taiga drums?


Last edited by zerocinco; 12/12/10 02:04 AM.
#3155274 - 12/12/10 02:08 AM Re: Clarification on Rising Sun Requirements (Vista and SF2 Merged) [Re: trek]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 118
Danosh33 Offline
Member
Danosh33  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 118
I see! Now I see the missions, good stuff. Please make sure that you communicate this to everyone that is not familiar with how this works, it's all a bit convoluted.

Cheers.

#3155276 - 12/12/10 02:11 AM Re: Clarification on Rising Sun Requirements (Vista and SF2 Merged) [Re: trek]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 118
Danosh33 Offline
Member
Danosh33  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 118
Apologies for blowing my top a bit there boys, just got a little frustrated.

#3155282 - 12/12/10 02:49 AM Re: Clarification on Rising Sun Requirements (Vista and SF2 Merged) [Re: trek]  
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,739
zerocinco Offline
Member
zerocinco  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,739
Tchepone, Laos
No problem. As long as you are up and running.

#3155598 - 12/12/10 07:48 PM Re: Clarification on Rising Sun Requirements (Vista and SF2 Merged) [Re: trek]  
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 23
Purt Offline
Junior Member
Purt  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 23
My experiences with RS..............
Fresh install of SF Gold plus RS on Vista 64 OS.
I can run some missions on "create mission", but nothing including Oahu I get CTD.
Also scenery on Wake is very dark almost balck in the area vlose to the aircraft scenery looks fine further away.
I've tried the first mission under the "load mission", Zero taking off from carrier, I can fly for a few minutes as soon as I hit alt n to warp to where the action is I get CTD,very disapointed with this so far.

#3155675 - 12/12/10 10:33 PM Re: Clarification on Rising Sun Requirements (Vista and SF2 Merged) [Re: trek]  
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,739
zerocinco Offline
Member
zerocinco  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,739
Tchepone, Laos
We use Create Mission for test purposes only since you cannot create a historical situation with it. The product is the missions flown by pilots. Load Mission is how you get there.

If your scenery is black nearby but visible in the distance, there is an error in the WakeIsland_DATA.INI, I believe. Is it like this in a Burma mission? We would have to send you that file again...or maybe everyone.

Alt-N does not work reliably. Again, we are creating a historical simulation, not a first person shooter. To get from the carrier to the action, you must do what pilots do...fly. On long ferries, X8 will suffice to get you there earlier.

PM me a picture of any scene near the ground at Wake Island please.

Last edited by zerocinco; 12/12/10 10:51 PM.
#3156224 - 12/13/10 08:08 PM Re: Clarification on Rising Sun Requirements (Vista and SF2 Merged) [Re: trek]  
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 23
Purt Offline
Junior Member
Purt  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 23
Thanks for your response, using Load mission colves the problems including the Wake Islad scenery !!
Thanks

#3158598 - 12/16/10 08:30 PM Re: Clarification on Rising Sun Requirements (Vista and SF2 Merged) [Re: trek]  
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 34
xpublius Offline
Junior Member
xpublius  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 34
I tried to install Rising sun over SF2 Israel. I can't run rising sun. The only selectable RS icon is "Uninstall." "The directions" ask for an install over plain old SF, then upgrade to the "Gold exe." Should I uninstall SF2 and reinstall SF1/gold?
I am using Vista 32. SF2 Israel works fine. Let me know if you want to do this by email. Thanks

#3158657 - 12/16/10 09:07 PM Re: Clarification on Rising Sun Requirements (Vista and SF2 Merged) [Re: trek]  
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,739
zerocinco Offline
Member
zerocinco  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,739
Tchepone, Laos
Are you trying to run our XP version in SF2?

If that is the case, the installer has tried to create folders like SF1's format. You need our Windows 7 version.

That upgrade is free...except for the time you wasted downloading the wrong version.

#3158660 - 12/16/10 09:08 PM Re: Clarification on Rising Sun Requirements (Vista and SF2 Merged) [Re: trek]  
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 34
xpublius Offline
Junior Member
xpublius  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 34
...Rising Sun was installed over a fresh copy of SF2 Israel.

#3158694 - 12/16/10 09:57 PM Re: Clarification on Rising Sun Requirements (Vista and SF2 Merged) [Re: trek]  
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 34
xpublius Offline
Junior Member
xpublius  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 34
It is the "Sxpf21b" version. I only saw the XB1 version on the site. How is the upgrade got?
Is it better to install over SF2 or SF gold? Thanks

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Its getting Real Now
by JimK. 06/23/19 04:32 PM
Danger Close
by reconmercs. 06/23/19 04:19 PM
"The Wolf's Call"
by THX-1138. 06/23/19 05:05 AM
VR unexpected results
by DM. 06/22/19 03:56 PM
MLB season so far
by PanzerMeyer. 06/22/19 02:32 PM
More UFO's Being Reported by Military Pilots
by Haggart. 06/22/19 10:32 AM
I thought Ozzies were tough
by KraziKanuK. 06/22/19 07:27 AM
Classical Latin
by PanzerMeyer. 06/21/19 09:54 PM
Happy Birthday Timothy
by Nixer. 06/21/19 01:40 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0