Forums » Technology » Flight Sim Controllers » T.A.R.G.E.T. (Thrustmaster) » Rudder Axis Active Topics You are not logged in. [Log In] [Register User]
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
Hop to:
#3122408 - 10/23/10 07:41 PM Rudder Axis
Eagledeer Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 09/20/06
Posts: 68
From the review at http://www.SimHQ.com/_technology3/technology_174a.html"

"Second, it appears that the Cougarís rudder axis cannot be assigned to a DirectX axis in T.A.R.G.E.T. (the toebrake axes, however, are available). For those with existing rudders connected to the Cougar, this feature is necessary to maintain a single controller with stick, throttle, and rudder axes. I have confirmed that the Scripting language (more on that on the next page) is capable of including the Cougar's rudder axis in a virtual controller. This means that the capability exists and the controllers can be programmed in this way, but it can't be done in the current version of the T.A.R.G.E.T. GUI. Thrustmaster has indicated that this feature will be added to the T.A.R.G.E.T. GUI in the next T.A.R.G.E.T. release."

I'm guessing this means we'll still be able to plug the rudder through the Cougar to a USB port and pick up the Rudder and assign as an axis in A:10C? As far as I can tell, there is not Rudder port to USB convertor that will work without the Cougar.

Thanks



Edited by Eagledeer (10/23/10 07:44 PM)

Top
#3122984 - 10/24/10 08:07 PM Re: Rudder Axis [Re: Eagledeer]
Joe Offline
Veteran

Registered: 04/05/02
Posts: 17733
Loc: Bridgewater, NJ
Originally Posted By: Eagledeer
I'm guessing this means we'll still be able to plug the rudder through the Cougar to a USB port and pick up the Rudder and assign as an axis in A:10C? As far as I can tell, there is not Rudder port to USB convertor that will work without the Cougar.
Currently, not without scripting, no, you won't.

When you build a T.A.R.G.E.T. profile, you tell T.A.R.G.E.T. which physical axes get assigned to DirectX axes. the rest of the physical axes don't get assigned to any DirectX axis. So, in effect, if you don't assign your Cougar rudder axis to a DirectX axis in T.A.R.G.E.T., then when you run the T.A.R.G.E.T. profile there will be no Cougar DirectX axis. The problem right now is that T.A.R.G.E.T. won't let you assign the Cougar rudder axis at all. This is a bug, and Thrustmaster is working to fix it. What T.A.R.G.E.T. needs is the ability to "ignore" to Cougar entirely, and right now it doesn't do this.

One way to work around this would be to unplug your Cougar, start T.A.R.G.E.T., run the profile, and then plug in the Cougar.

Top
#3123052 - 10/24/10 10:44 PM Re: Rudder Axis [Re: Eagledeer]
Eagledeer Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 09/20/06
Posts: 68
Thanks for the explanation. And running the profile is obliviously necessary to use the WH with A10C (i.e. not just plug and play without software like the MFD's)? As far as you know, will the WH as used with the A10 C also be provided axis curves that mimic the real stick, or is that something we will have to adjust to our liking?

Regards,

Top
#3123078 - 10/24/10 11:42 PM Re: Rudder Axis [Re: Eagledeer]
Teej Offline
Member

Registered: 07/02/05
Posts: 1503
Joe:

What's the problem in A-10C? So far as I know, A-10C picks up the Warthog and maps it without using TARGET (or scripting)...thus the Cougar won't get "assimilated"...
_________________________
Virtual Thunderbirds, LLC | Sponsored by Thrustmaster

Top
#3123262 - 10/25/10 10:00 AM Re: Rudder Axis [Re: Eagledeer]
Joe Offline
Veteran

Registered: 04/05/02
Posts: 17733
Loc: Bridgewater, NJ
Sorry, didn't mean to be confusing. There is no specific problem with DCS: A-10C. There is a problem whenever one uses T.A.R.G.E.T. to create a virtual controller (that's when the Cougar rudder axis is unavailable). So if you want to use your Warthog with DCS: A-10C without T.A.R.G.E.T. (and I think that, out of all sims, DCS: A-10C supports this the best), then by all means you can. But if you want to start using T.A.R.G.E.T. to program your HOTAS buttons and switches, as soon as you do so then T.A.R.G.E.T. will create a single virtual controller. And as soon as T.A.R.G.E.T. does that, you lose the ability to include the Cougar's rudder axis into that controller.

Top
#3123390 - 10/25/10 01:25 PM Re: Rudder Axis [Re: Eagledeer]
Eagledeer Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 09/20/06
Posts: 68
Thanks thumbsup

Top
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
Hop to:

Moderator:  RacerGT 
 
Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Practicing in the LEAD FARM so I can kill in the ATAG server
by Uriah
Last of Enola Gay crew passes away
by Sluggish Controls
09:54 PM
Elite:Dangerous friends list?
by shadylurker
09:12 PM
Searching for a DCS squadron
by Hoogs
09:07 PM
il2 1946 TFM
by Peachy9
07:07 PM
This is New Vegas
by DetCord
05:29 PM
Hanriot is out!
by TychosElk
05:17 PM
'Ello, I wish to register a complaint.
by MaceUK33
02:33 PM
Busted!
by DetCord
02:32 PM
Times Square RAMPAGE !! SPIDER MENACE FINNALLY ARRESTED BY NYPD
by Blade_RJ
02:02 PM
 

Forum Use Agreement | Privacy Statement
Copyright 1997-2014, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.