Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#3076984 - 08/20/10 04:23 PM Thud Ridge  
Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 2,585
Hengist Offline
Senior Member
Hengist  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 2,585
Balsa Munitions R&D Institutio...
Third Wire says that WOV won't work on Win7.

It works fine on my Acer Win7 Notepad, with a crappy onboard Intel GPU.

Does somebody want to let them know, in case they're missing out on sales revenue?




Hengist.
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#3077002 - 08/20/10 04:49 PM Re: Thud Ridge [Re: Hengist]  
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,148
MigBuster Offline
Member
MigBuster  Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,148
UK
SF/SFG/WOV/WOE/WOI are not supported by Thirdwire on Vista or Windows 7 - thats what they mean.

They know it works on Vista/Win7 - if you use the Oct 2008 patch (which is the last) - however the first Gen games were replaced by the SF2 series last year.

The only reason for getting WOV would be for YAP2 - byt if you run a new system with Win 7 you should only be getting the SF2 series.

See here for differences:

http://combatace.com/topic/56091-whats-new-in-the-sf2-series/page__pid__432037#entry432037


'Crashing and Burning since 1987'
#3077034 - 08/20/10 05:27 PM Re: Thud Ridge [Re: MigBuster]  
Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 2,585
Hengist Offline
Senior Member
Hengist  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 2,585
Balsa Munitions R&D Institutio...
Originally Posted By: MigBuster
SF/SFG/WOV/WOE/WOI are not supported by Thirdwire on Vista or Windows 7 - thats what they mean.

They know it works on Vista/Win7


Perhaps we're writing about different versions? I'm referring to Wings Over Vietnam (2004), with the 2008 update. From their website, it states...

"NOTE: This game does not work on Windows 7 or Vista."

It does work.

Thanks for the other things that you mentioned in your reply, i.e. YAP2. I've no idea what that is, and no thought of giving it any more attention. However, thank you for your best intentions at making me aware of something else.

*** End of Transmission.

Last edited by Hengist; 08/20/10 05:28 PM. Reason: Smelling mistake



Hengist.
#3077137 - 08/20/10 08:16 PM Re: Thud Ridge [Re: Hengist]  
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 19,147
Raw Kryptonite Online smile
Beat the Kobayashi Maru
Raw Kryptonite  Online Smile
Beat the Kobayashi Maru
Veteran

Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 19,147
MS
Originally Posted By: Hengist
I've no idea what that is, and no thought of giving it any more attention.


What's up with that?

You asked a question and he gave you an excellent answer.
He's telling you that they know it works, you *are* talking about the same version but it is not officially supported on Vista/7 so they do not want to give the impression that you should buy it for those systems. There is a difference.

As for YAP 2, there is a forum directly below this one on the forum list where you can find out about it if you give it some thought some other time.


·Steam: Raw Kryptonite ·MWO & Elite Dangerous: Defcon Won ·Meager youtube channel
·Intel i5-9600K ·EVGA GTX1070 FTW 8GB ·EVGA CLC 120 Cooler
·16 GB Patriot Memory VIPER 4 3000MHz ·GIGABYTE Z390 AORUS PRO WiFi Mobo
· CORSAIR CARBIDE AIR 540 case ·BenQ BL3200PT monitor
#3077182 - 08/20/10 10:02 PM Re: Thud Ridge [Re: Raw Kryptonite]  
Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 2,585
Hengist Offline
Senior Member
Hengist  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 2,585
Balsa Munitions R&D Institutio...
Originally Posted By: Raw Kryptonite


What's up with that?


Absolutely nothing. What's up with your reply? Second thoughts, don't bother responding, it reminds me of why I stopped posting here years ago.

I made an initial post, with the best of intentions, in the hope that 3rd Wire may be missing out on some needed cash... THAT IS ALL!

I didn't want any additional information or to be lectured on why I should be buying the title for something else, if that were the case, then I would have made that clear by asking. I realise that it may be a difficult concept for you to grasp, so I wont hold it against you, lol.




Hengist.
#3077198 - 08/20/10 10:40 PM Re: Thud Ridge [Re: Hengist]  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 18,460
piper Offline
Veteran
piper  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 18,460
Raleigh,NC
Hi Hengist! Nice to see you here again.

I'll finally say thanks for all the skins I downloaded from you site for Rowan's MiG Alley
years ago.

Cheers!

#3077513 - 08/21/10 11:24 AM Re: Thud Ridge [Re: Hengist]  
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,148
MigBuster Offline
Member
MigBuster  Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,148
UK
Originally Posted By: Hengist


Absolutely nothing. What's up with your reply? Second thoughts, don't bother responding, it reminds me of why I stopped posting here years ago.


Were you Stiglr?


Apologies for "lecturing" you if thats how you term it - however I was marely trying to inform you the actual situation regarding the older games running on Vista/Seven.


'Crashing and Burning since 1987'
#3077605 - 08/21/10 03:36 PM Re: Thud Ridge [Re: MigBuster]  
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 17,621
SkateZilla Offline
Skate Zilla Graphics
SkateZilla  Offline
Skate Zilla Graphics
Veteran

Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 17,621
Virginia Beach, VA
The 1st Gen titles are said not to work on Vista/Win7 because they were designed with XP and DX9 Architecture,

Some of the components of the DX9 Coding are not availible in Windows Vista/Win7 (or DX10, 10.1, 11 for that Matter), Multiplayer DirectPLay being one of them.

The Title will run, but since it wasnt designed to run on Vista/Win7's Architecture,
Thirdwire simply states the title will not run on Win7/Vista.
That way they wont have to say it will Run on Vista/Win7 and provide support for a product being run on an O/S that doesnt have the correct architecture or software interface components. It was the right decision, because stating that it will run on Win7/Vista would be false advertising in theory because it will not run correctly on EVERY Windows Vista/Windows 7 Environment. and not every user will know how to mod the titles initialization files to resolve problems.

And Even if it runs with the latest patches, there are still CDs in some store's bargain bin that isnt an Image of the latest build.

But yeah, it runs fine on my brothers Toshiba laptop with an Intel Accelerated GMA on Windows Vista, had to adjust a few INI params though, also runs on my other brother's Acer with a mobile ATI chip.

Last edited by SkateZilla; 08/21/10 03:41 PM.

HAF922, Corsair RM850, ASRock Fata1ity 990FX Pro,
Modified Corsair H100, AMD FX8350 @ 5.31GHz, 16GB G.SKILL@DDR2133,
2x R7970 Lightnings, +1 HD7950 @ 1.1/6.0GHz, Creative XFi Fata1ity Platinum Champ.,
3x ASUS VS248HP + Hanns�G HZ201HPB + Acer AL2002 (5760x1080+1600x900+1680x1050), Oculus Rift CV
CH Fighterstick, Pro Throt., Pro Pedals, TM Warthog & MFDs, Fanatec CSR Wheel/Shifter, Elite Pedals
Intensity Pro 10-Bit, TrackIR 4 Pro, WD Black 1.5TB, WD Black 640GB, Samsung 850 500GB, My Book 4TB
#3080599 - 08/26/10 02:13 PM Re: Thud Ridge [Re: Hengist]  
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 50
SeafireS Offline
Junior Member
SeafireS  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 50
.
Originally Posted By: Hengist
...
I didn't want any additional information or to be lectured on why I should be buying the title for something else, if that were the case, then I would have made that clear by asking. I realise that it may be a difficult concept for you to grasp, so I wont hold it against you, lol.



Sorry but I have to call foul here.

If you don't want replies. You could have just emailed Thirdwire. Creating a new topic (of discussion) in a public forum and asking a question, is almost guaranteed to get a response.





Last edited by SeafireS; 08/26/10 02:17 PM.
#3080614 - 08/26/10 02:33 PM Re: Thud Ridge [Re: SeafireS]  
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 50
SeafireS Offline
Junior Member
SeafireS  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 50
.
Incidentally I have found that the WOV1, when patched runs a little better on my aging W7 laptop with dx9 hardware then WOV2, I assume because some of the fancy graphic effects, are disabled.

Though I think with DX10 hardware the VOW2 runs faster than VOW1 will on dx9 hardware. I can't remember the details.

They could just patch WOV1 to the exact same as WOV2 with the option of disabling things. Which would simplify things. But I assume the reason was a new version creates more sales. Personally I don't mind buying a new version, if it keeps the developer, in a job, make sims I like. Which TK does.


Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Japanese girls firing a Barrett
by Mark Aisthorpe. 03/23/19 12:35 PM
Building an airplane > WW1
by KraziKanuK. 03/23/19 12:46 AM
Man japan really has a stric drug law
by Blade_RJ. 03/22/19 10:04 PM
Cat Sees Her Recently Deceased Owner On a Video
by Haggart. 03/22/19 02:11 PM
Spacewalk Live
by rwatson. 03/22/19 01:30 PM
Deadwood - the movie
by EAF331 MadDog. 03/21/19 07:15 PM
spam email using my email address as sender
by coasty. 03/21/19 05:10 PM
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood
by Chaz. 03/21/19 12:59 PM
Offut AFB today
by Tom_Weiss. 03/21/19 01:27 AM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0