Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
#3005968 - 05/04/10 01:57 AM Re: X3: Terran Conflict... [Re: Macca]  
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 3,154
Bulletstop Offline
Senior Member
Bulletstop  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 3,154
Littleton, Co
I have been playing the x-series going on 10 years and I can only say the games have gotten better. I know for some it is really hard to micro manage but I find I love it. I really had no issue with the interface in Reunion and with tc the interface it is much improved.
I have to say with Ego they let you advanced to where you can actually have input and they try very hard to improve thier games. In my humble opinion they are the best devs out there.


Bullet


Specs
home built I7 870 Lynnfield Chip at stock speed 2.93 with Evga P55FTW system board, A BFG GTX275 Vid card, 4Gigs Corsair Dominator Mem 2600+, 1.3 TB on 2 WD Hard drives, Corsair H50 water cooler.X-65F with peddals and Tir 4 track clip pro One badass machine...
A truism "liberals, who believe that everyone should categorically agree with them because their theoretical positions are "a higher truth" than the positions of any person out there living in and interacting with the real world."
Inline advert (4th to 5th topic)

#3006004 - 05/04/10 03:19 AM Re: X3: Terran Conflict... [Re: Bulletstop]  
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 15,158
No Name Offline
Veteran
No Name  Offline
Veteran

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 15,158
i agree 100%


Mobo ASUS MAXIMUS IV EXTREME (REV 3.0)
Memory CORSAIR XMS3 8GB DDR3
GPU 2 EVGA 680 FTW 4GB
CPU Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz (3.8GHz)
Drives 2 HITACHI Deskstar 3TB 2 Crucial 256 GB SSD Displays 3 HP ZR30w 30" monitors
UPS Cyberpower PP2200SW
PSU Antec High Current Pro HCP-1200 1200W
Case COOLER MASTER CM Storm Trooper
Drive LITE-ON Black 12X Blu-ray
CPU cooler Noctua 6 Dual Heatpipe
Fans COOLER MASTER SickleFlow 120
OS Windows 7 Premium
#3006036 - 05/04/10 04:09 AM Re: X3: Terran Conflict... [Re: No Name]  
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,556
Eugene Offline
Senior Member
Eugene  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,556
Oregon
peppergomez, do you have a link for that hi-rez background?


Eugene

CoreDuo G620
ASUS P8Z68-V PRO
GeForce 1060
Creative Z
Win10
16 gig RAM
Cougar
#3006095 - 05/04/10 09:39 AM Re: X3: Terran Conflict... [Re: Eugene]  
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 942
QuantumPeep Offline
Member
QuantumPeep  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 942
Germany
I got X3 TC on the weekend, after reading this thread.

This game requires patience that's for sure.

Started as Terran fighter pilot and died quickly.
Started again as a humble merchant and I am slowly getting the hang of things. I can already tell that this will become very addictive.


The trouble with jogging is that, by the time you realize you're not in shape for it, it's too far to walk back.

History repeats itself, because no one listened the first time. Anon
#3006171 - 05/04/10 01:09 PM Re: X3: Terran Conflict... [Re: QuantumPeep]  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 8,771
Para_Bellum Offline
Oberkriegkaboomführer
Para_Bellum  Offline
Oberkriegkaboomführer
Hotshot

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 8,771
Germany
I reinstalled X3 TC yesterday after reading this thread.

Great sandbox game, terrible story missions (and their presentation).

To think of a mixture of I-War, Freespace 2 and the X-series...

*drools*


"...late afternoon the Air Tasking Order came in [and] we found the A-10 part and we said, "We are going where!? We are doing what!?"

Capt. Todd Sheehy, Hog pilot, on receiving orders during Operation Desert Storm

#3006550 - 05/05/10 12:14 AM Re: X3: Terran Conflict... [Re: Para_Bellum]  
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 10,845
Master Offline
meh
Master  Offline
meh
Veteran

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 10,845
NW Alabama, USA
This game is pissing me off... for some reason my Saitek x52 controls are fubar. Every now and then they just stop working with all the axis and buttons. Then it comes back but half of the keyboard commands stop working (including f1 to go back to original view).

It is unplayable like this IMHO. I am not even sure where to begin to get it fixed... ah well. I am sure the game would have been fun.


And we as its creators don't feel ready to hear your annoyed jabber about it.
-IL-2 BoS Dev Team

http://www.alt-games-warbirds.com
Blood, Guts and Oil, My youtube channel
twitch.tv/masterjts

Unofficial SimHQ Discord
#3006554 - 05/05/10 12:22 AM Re: X3: Terran Conflict... [Re: Master]  
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 10,845
Master Offline
meh
Master  Offline
meh
Veteran

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 10,845
NW Alabama, USA
I tried an xbox controller and the keyboard/input problem went away but it only registers the left joystick and the triggers as axis1 and axis2. there is no option for a third axis for the right stick... which makes the gamepad unplayable too... so it looks like if I want to play the game I have to use the mouse/keyboard.


And we as its creators don't feel ready to hear your annoyed jabber about it.
-IL-2 BoS Dev Team

http://www.alt-games-warbirds.com
Blood, Guts and Oil, My youtube channel
twitch.tv/masterjts

Unofficial SimHQ Discord
#3006559 - 05/05/10 12:50 AM Re: X3: Terran Conflict... [Re: Master]  
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 3,267
sinner6 Offline
Senior Member
sinner6  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 3,267
Fort Worth,TX
have you gone into the controller mapping menu? You have to launch the game before you can get to it...


Steam: Sinner6
Uplay: Sinner76028
MWO: Sinner6
#3006572 - 05/05/10 01:18 AM Re: X3: Terran Conflict... [Re: sinner6]  
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 10,845
Master Offline
meh
Master  Offline
meh
Veteran

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 10,845
NW Alabama, USA
Yea, I went through the controller selector before the game and then the key mapper in game. no go.


And we as its creators don't feel ready to hear your annoyed jabber about it.
-IL-2 BoS Dev Team

http://www.alt-games-warbirds.com
Blood, Guts and Oil, My youtube channel
twitch.tv/masterjts

Unofficial SimHQ Discord
#3006593 - 05/05/10 02:06 AM Re: X3: Terran Conflict... [Re: Master]  
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 15,158
No Name Offline
Veteran
No Name  Offline
Veteran

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 15,158
works fine w/ my ch HOTAS but that might b/c it has the option as being just one device as noticed by the game (instead of a throttle, stick, and rudders)

Last edited by peppergomez; 05/05/10 02:10 AM.

Mobo ASUS MAXIMUS IV EXTREME (REV 3.0)
Memory CORSAIR XMS3 8GB DDR3
GPU 2 EVGA 680 FTW 4GB
CPU Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz (3.8GHz)
Drives 2 HITACHI Deskstar 3TB 2 Crucial 256 GB SSD Displays 3 HP ZR30w 30" monitors
UPS Cyberpower PP2200SW
PSU Antec High Current Pro HCP-1200 1200W
Case COOLER MASTER CM Storm Trooper
Drive LITE-ON Black 12X Blu-ray
CPU cooler Noctua 6 Dual Heatpipe
Fans COOLER MASTER SickleFlow 120
OS Windows 7 Premium
#3006645 - 05/05/10 04:42 AM Re: X3: Terran Conflict... [Re: No Name]  
Joined: Oct 1999
Posts: 522
Stonehouse Offline
Member
Stonehouse  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 1999
Posts: 522
Sydney,NSW,Australia
If the X52 is similar to my old X36F digital the problem is the mode switch which is always "on" because it's on one of the three modes. I didn't have as much trouble as you but I could never use the time dilation feature for instance. There's the AUX.1 switch as well for me.

I had to put the following on the shortcut as parameters for the exe

-ignorejoy 9 -ignorejoy 10 -ignorejoy 11 -ignorejoy 12 -ignorejoy 13 -ignorejoy 14

Hope it helps you because it's very enjoyable once you get things sorted out.

Cheers,
Stonehouse

#3006815 - 05/05/10 03:44 PM Re: X3: Terran Conflict... [Re: Stonehouse]  
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 10,845
Master Offline
meh
Master  Offline
meh
Veteran

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 10,845
NW Alabama, USA
Originally Posted By: Stonehouse
If the X52 is similar to my old X36F digital the problem is the mode switch which is always "on" because it's on one of the three modes. I didn't have as much trouble as you but I could never use the time dilation feature for instance. There's the AUX.1 switch as well for me.

I had to put the following on the shortcut as parameters for the exe

-ignorejoy 9 -ignorejoy 10 -ignorejoy 11 -ignorejoy 12 -ignorejoy 13 -ignorejoy 14

Hope it helps you because it's very enjoyable once you get things sorted out.

Cheers,
Stonehouse


You know that is probably it. I did notice some problems with the selector switch. I'll try shutting them off when I get home. Thanks.


And we as its creators don't feel ready to hear your annoyed jabber about it.
-IL-2 BoS Dev Team

http://www.alt-games-warbirds.com
Blood, Guts and Oil, My youtube channel
twitch.tv/masterjts

Unofficial SimHQ Discord
#3006834 - 05/05/10 04:22 PM Re: X3: Terran Conflict... [Re: Master]  
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,192
Rook_336th Offline
Member
Rook_336th  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,192
Atlanta, GA
Being a fan of Elite, Frontier, and Free Space will I like this game?

More importantly, if I pick up the disk Gold version off of Amazon, what DRM or copy protection is in the game? Steam is a no go for me as my system is also a work machine and cannot have such a service installed on the PC.

Thanks.


I keep playing video games, but the Star League keeps ignoring me...
#3006850 - 05/05/10 04:55 PM Re: X3: Terran Conflict... [Re: Rook_336th]  
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,556
Eugene Offline
Senior Member
Eugene  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,556
Oregon
Yes.

The retail version I bought a long time ago can be installed - don't launch yet! - and then patched with the latest upgrade which removes the copy protection (which iirc was some more modern Star Force or something similar).


Eugene

CoreDuo G620
ASUS P8Z68-V PRO
GeForce 1060
Creative Z
Win10
16 gig RAM
Cougar
#3006875 - 05/05/10 05:55 PM Re: X3: Terran Conflict... [Re: Eugene]  
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 15,158
No Name Offline
Veteran
No Name  Offline
Veteran

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 15,158
egosoft has never used starforce. they used tages, but, like you say, the 2.6 patch removes that. egosoft rocks!


Mobo ASUS MAXIMUS IV EXTREME (REV 3.0)
Memory CORSAIR XMS3 8GB DDR3
GPU 2 EVGA 680 FTW 4GB
CPU Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz (3.8GHz)
Drives 2 HITACHI Deskstar 3TB 2 Crucial 256 GB SSD Displays 3 HP ZR30w 30" monitors
UPS Cyberpower PP2200SW
PSU Antec High Current Pro HCP-1200 1200W
Case COOLER MASTER CM Storm Trooper
Drive LITE-ON Black 12X Blu-ray
CPU cooler Noctua 6 Dual Heatpipe
Fans COOLER MASTER SickleFlow 120
OS Windows 7 Premium
#3006901 - 05/05/10 06:30 PM Re: X3: Terran Conflict... [Re: Rook_336th]  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 8,771
Para_Bellum Offline
Oberkriegkaboomführer
Para_Bellum  Offline
Oberkriegkaboomführer
Hotshot

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 8,771
Germany
Originally Posted By: Rook_336th
Being a fan of Elite, Frontier, and Free Space will I like this game?


Yes, absolutely. Just keep in mind that the game is quite complex and needs a bit of patience, especially at the beginning.


"...late afternoon the Air Tasking Order came in [and] we found the A-10 part and we said, "We are going where!? We are doing what!?"

Capt. Todd Sheehy, Hog pilot, on receiving orders during Operation Desert Storm

#3006908 - 05/05/10 06:37 PM Re: X3: Terran Conflict... [Re: No Name]  
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,192
Rook_336th Offline
Member
Rook_336th  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,192
Atlanta, GA
Ok thanks, I'll pick it up off Amazon today. One question is this version:
Amazon link - X3 Terran conflict
the version I should get?


I keep playing video games, but the Star League keeps ignoring me...
#3006972 - 05/05/10 07:56 PM Re: X3: Terran Conflict... [Re: Rook_336th]  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 8,771
Para_Bellum Offline
Oberkriegkaboomführer
Para_Bellum  Offline
Oberkriegkaboomführer
Hotshot

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 8,771
Germany
Yep, that's the version to get (I have the same). Install, apply latest patch (2.6), and you're ready to go.

http://www.egosoft.com/download/x3tc/patches_en.php


"...late afternoon the Air Tasking Order came in [and] we found the A-10 part and we said, "We are going where!? We are doing what!?"

Capt. Todd Sheehy, Hog pilot, on receiving orders during Operation Desert Storm

#3007038 - 05/05/10 09:20 PM Re: X3: Terran Conflict... [Re: Para_Bellum]  
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,556
Eugene Offline
Senior Member
Eugene  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,556
Oregon
pepper, that's right - thanks for getting that corrected. tages was (is?) similar to the old Starforce in that it installs special drivers on your computer in order to play the sim. I didn't like that approach so waited until the excellent egosoft company removed the drm as they do pretty consistently after the initial release of their products.


Eugene

CoreDuo G620
ASUS P8Z68-V PRO
GeForce 1060
Creative Z
Win10
16 gig RAM
Cougar
#3009441 - 05/10/10 04:07 AM Re: X3: Terran Conflict... [Re: Eugene]  
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,083
fatty Offline
Senior Member
fatty  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,083
Brussels, Belgium
I gave X3: Reunion a whirl a while back, but ended up shelving it because I found it overwhelming. I just started playing X3:TC and what a blast. The new interface is very accommodating. It's great with a HOTAS - I like that the lower detent in my X52's throttle just so happens to match the 0% throttle setting in-game.


"...for who are so free as the sons of the waves?"
Page 2 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Speaking of flat earthers
by Ajay. 08/23/19 12:55 AM
63...63...63...63
by 462cid. 08/22/19 10:16 PM
Say WHAT?!?!?
by vonBaur. 08/22/19 09:53 PM
disturbing image for Flat Earthers
by Tom_Weiss. 08/22/19 11:47 AM
Lost my best friend
by NH2112. 08/22/19 03:25 AM
Ramree Island WW2
by oldgrognard. 08/22/19 02:24 AM
Pilot films being in the water after crash
by oldgrognard. 08/21/19 09:48 PM
Request for help!
by Fracture. 08/21/19 07:36 PM
Bye bye iTunes
by Red2112. 08/21/19 06:33 PM
intruder tries to infiltrate NAS Jacksonville
by Tom_Weiss. 08/21/19 12:21 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0