Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#2976799 - 03/15/10 01:45 PM What to install?  
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 7,304
Stratos Offline
Hotshot
Stratos  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 7,304
Amposta, Spain
I had to erase my old install of Gunship! and need to reinstall it from 0. Can any of the old hands here tell me what to install to have most to date possible install please?
Thanks a lot!


-Sir in case of retreat, were we have to retreat??
-To the Graveyard!!

sandbagger.uk.com/stratos.html
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#2976826 - 03/15/10 02:26 PM Re: What to install? [Re: Stratos]  
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,341
Flyboy Offline
Senior Member
Flyboy  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,341
England, UK
I think all you need to do is re-install GS!, patch it and that's about it. I think there are a couple of sound mods and a flight model mod. But other than that, not much.

Find patch and mod downloads at my GS! site below...
http://digitality.emenace.com/flyboy/gs/main.html

Oh and there is that Times Of Sand mod too.

Also try here...
http://www.simwarrior.com/gunship/

#2977076 - 03/15/10 09:45 PM Re: What to install? [Re: Flyboy]  
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,550
Eugene Offline
Senior Member
Eugene  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,550
Oregon
Anyone flying or flew in the past the "Times of Sand" mod? Any trouble running? Did you enjoy the mod? Any observations?


Eugene

CoreDuo G620
ASUS P8Z68-V PRO
GeForce 660
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Win10
8 gig RAM
Cougar
#2977895 - 03/17/10 07:11 AM Re: What to install? [Re: Eugene]  
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 7,304
Stratos Offline
Hotshot
Stratos  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 7,304
Amposta, Spain
I have some problems getting up to date. Problems like selecting a section of Longbows and getting a Kiowa plus a Apache A escort. Or selection a flight of Apaches a and getting a flight of 4 Blackhawks. TOS works at the moment, I get a CTD if I try to use the Cobras.
Anyone know how I can know the version of my Gunship!? Is in english, but I need to know If is american or british so I can restart again and patch it correctly.
Is there any file that let me create different plattons and fly them in Mission builder without exitiing the game itself? Also where can I get a list of the plattons please.

Last edited by Stratos; 03/17/10 07:14 AM.

-Sir in case of retreat, were we have to retreat??
-To the Graveyard!!

sandbagger.uk.com/stratos.html
#2978371 - 03/18/10 02:51 AM Re: What to install? [Re: Stratos]  
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 223
samovar6 Offline
Member
samovar6  Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 223
Canaduh
@stratos
If I'm not mistaken, the British Version of GS contains two bonus platoons of soccer hooligans: Millwall and Luton Town.
Both Platoons are available in the Battle Builder on the UK SIDE, but they will mercilessly bludgeon each other with half-empty bottles of Guinness if placed cheek by jowl. A 2 km space between the units is recommended to avoid Blue on Blue contact.

If you cant figure out which version of the game you have, maybe try doing a complete re-install and then use a no-cd .exe like fng2k's hi-res. That .exe is already patched.

I don't know if the Official Patch does anything to .ini files. If you try the no-cd hi-res, and you end up with a reversed collective or some other nastiness, let me know. I'll e-mail you my .inis.

Once you've got a patched game, you can continue patching with ol' WB's Objective & Miscellaneous Patch. It fixes a few annoying things. I'd apply this patch before installing any other mods. It's available from here:
http://members.fortunecity.com/whb11/GunshipTool/Gunship.htm

I also use the Improved Ground Vehicles package from the same site. And the Tactical Reference thingamajig is pretty cool, too.

Fng2k has a spreadsheet somewhere that gives the new Platoon Composition for TOS

@Eugene
Incomplete or not, Ive found TOS quite enjoyable. Theres a shload of annoying test missions included in the package, though, which are fairly irritating until ya weed them out.

And just like Stratos, the game would CTD for me whenever a Cobra was involved. You can try this Cobra, and see if it makes any difference:
Toothy Cobra

#2978539 - 03/18/10 01:19 PM Re: What to install? [Re: samovar6]  
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,341
Flyboy Offline
Senior Member
Flyboy  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,341
England, UK
Hi samovar6, good to see you here again! smile

#2978783 - 03/18/10 07:58 PM Re: What to install? [Re: Flyboy]  
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,550
Eugene Offline
Senior Member
Eugene  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,550
Oregon
Thanks samovar, that's good to hear. I may have to reinstall and give it a try.

Did you install the vanilla GS and patch, then add the mods you mentioned (Objective & Misc. + Improved Ground Vehicles), and then TOS? And TOS worked with those prior mods?


Eugene

CoreDuo G620
ASUS P8Z68-V PRO
GeForce 660
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Win10
8 gig RAM
Cougar
#2978909 - 03/19/10 12:56 AM Re: What to install? [Re: Eugene]  
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,220
fng2k Offline
Member
fng2k  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,220
US
/cloaking device

Dudes.

The Times of Sand beta must have a separate, clean install first. That may be why you have a mishmash of units, Stratos. Actually, I'm amazed it worked...

Samovar speaks with the light of wisdom shining between his teeth when he says that you should do the other, later patches before loading the TOS beta. Lots of really good stuff happened after that version was released. Sammy boy may have done a notable thing or two. I forget.

Here are the basic GS TOS install instructions:

Quote:

Installation instructions:

1. Make a new, clean installation of Gunship. Apply the 6/2000 MPS patch if you need it.
2. Rename the directory of the new install as: Gunship_TOS
3. Right-click on the installer file, and Save As into the new Gunship_TOS directory
4. Run the GS_TOSv1.exe installer
5. With any luck, you should now have a new desktop icon: Gunship The Times of Sand

Click it if you dare....

NOTE: If no desktop icon is created, you can launch GSTOS by running this file directly or by making a shortcut:

..\\Gunship_TOS\gunshipTOS_v4A_shipsHiD.exe

9/29/2004 update: There are two small patches now available:

1. Right-click here to download FarmObjData.zip . Save/Unzip into your Gunship_TOS\data\tiles\data folder.
Contains object placement files for the Farm 1&2 tiles. (I forgot 'em. Makes a huge difference.)
2. Right-click here to download GSBETACobraFix.zip . Save/Unzip into your Gunship_TOS\data folder.
This will (I hope) fix the CTD problem with Polak's new Cobra. Contains 3 sub-zipped files. See readme.txt for info.



Links and more at http://www.simwarrior.com/gunship/GSTOS_beta.html, and here: http://www.simwarrior.com/gunship/GSTOS.html

Yup, Polack did a gorgeous AH-1Z, but I buggered something packaging it. There is a patch at the link above that should work for it and Samovar's even newer toothy one with actual working rockets n stuff. I'm absolutely certain that they will work. Or not.

Sorry about all the map test missions. Think of it as a Stargate experience that inserts you into random combat zones. Fun time for all. Look around for Stratos' Iraqi T-72, too.

Back to the mines....

#2980377 - 03/21/10 09:22 PM Re: What to install? [Re: fng2k]  
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 7,304
Stratos Offline
Hotshot
Stratos  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 7,304
Amposta, Spain
Trying to get all sorted, thanks for the tips guys apreciatted!!
FNG2K was the Vietnam tileset ever released? If yes together with palm trees and something to replace the european farms can work as a Panama or Central America terrain...


-Sir in case of retreat, were we have to retreat??
-To the Graveyard!!

sandbagger.uk.com/stratos.html
#2980392 - 03/21/10 10:01 PM Re: What to install? [Re: Stratos]  
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 7,304
Stratos Offline
Hotshot
Stratos  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 7,304
Amposta, Spain
In order to have flyable Kiowas, Uh60, and Hinds, what exactly I have to install please?


-Sir in case of retreat, were we have to retreat??
-To the Graveyard!!

sandbagger.uk.com/stratos.html
#2980503 - 03/22/10 02:04 AM Re: What to install? [Re: Stratos]  
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,220
fng2k Offline
Member
fng2k  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,220
US
Hi Statos-

The beta (and I guess the only version) of the Vietnam tileset and trees is up on the dev page:

http://www.simwarrior.com/gunship/gsdev.html

As for flying the other helos, you can either do it in GS:TOS, or get the 2.0 exe and use it in your normal GS install. It is here, along with Mod M8:

http://www.simwarrior.com/gunship/modsadds.html

As Samovar said elsewhere, there was alot of amazing work done after these releases by him, PSYKLIK, WB and others, so I doubt these are state of the art. But see if you like them.

Have fun!

#2980621 - 03/22/10 07:15 AM Re: What to install? [Re: samovar6]  
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 7,304
Stratos Offline
Hotshot
Stratos  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 7,304
Amposta, Spain
Flyable choppers as the default: Apache-A, Longbow, Tiger and Havoc plus Kiowa, Blackhawk, Hip and Hind. Possible?
Just cheking Vietnam tileset right now.

Last edited by Stratos; 03/22/10 10:29 AM.

-Sir in case of retreat, were we have to retreat??
-To the Graveyard!!

sandbagger.uk.com/stratos.html
#2986215 - 03/30/10 08:42 PM Re: What to install? [Re: Stratos]  
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 7,304
Stratos Offline
Hotshot
Stratos  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 7,304
Amposta, Spain
I'm really enjoying the new EXE Samovar. Thanks a lot for it. Just a couple of question to Gunship! fans. I created a Hunter/Killer platoon with a Kiowa (flyable as me ) and a Longbow, can I make this guy kill the targets I discover, or I need to call artillery? Also is possible to make a Uh-60 platton that make infantry platton dismount If I land?
Is there also any way to make my wingmen follow me during all the mission?

Last edited by Stratos; 03/30/10 08:47 PM.

-Sir in case of retreat, were we have to retreat??
-To the Graveyard!!

sandbagger.uk.com/stratos.html
#2990010 - 04/06/10 12:16 AM Re: What to install? [Re: Stratos]  
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 223
samovar6 Offline
Member
samovar6  Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 223
Canaduh
Hiya, Stratos,
I ran the following mission in stratos_hiD.exe:


TITLE: FlyKiowa -stratos.exe
BATTLEFIELD: UKRAINE 46750 66750 0 0 5 26
RUNAI: RED
RUNAI: BLUE
SIDE: 0
BLUE_FRIENDLIES: 90
BLUE_ENEMIES: 10
RED_FRIENDLIES: 90
RED_ENEMIES: 10

\* Blue Flyable Platoon with Kiowa *\
\* You can change this Platoon: 21 to your own custom Platoon # *\
PLATOON: 21 46750 66750 45 0 46750 66750 2 101
ORDER_MODE_WAYPT:
ORDER_WPT_CURRENT: 1
ORDER_FORM_NOE:
ORDER_ASMBLY_HELO_S_AND_D:
ORDER_PRIORITY_HELOS:

\* Red Trucks *\
PLATOON: 69 48750 66900 45 0 46750 66750 2 101
ORDER_MODE_WAYPT:
ORDER_WPT_CURRENT: 1
ORDER_FORM_LINE:
ORDER_ASMBLY_NORTH:
ORDER_ADV_SLOW:

\* Red BRDM RECON *\
PLATOON: 69 48750 67200 45 0 46750 66750 2 101
ORDER_MODE_WAYPT:
ORDER_WPT_CURRENT: 1
ORDER_FORM_LINE:
ORDER_TRVL_ASSAULT:
ORDER_ASMBLY_NORTH:
ORDER_ADV_SLOW:

\* Red Trucks *\
PLATOON: 69 48750 66500 45 0 46750 66750 2 101
ORDER_MODE_WAYPT:
ORDER_WPT_CURRENT: 1
ORDER_FORM_LINE:
ORDER_ASMBLY_NORTH:
ORDER_ADV_SLOW:

[Briefing 0]
Heading = 8, Kiowa Test
Text = 1, 1, Token Briefing.

Time Out = 15


While in the Pilot's seat, I swung the helo due East. The AI gunner targeted Red vehicles. I was able to destroy a few of them with the gun and rockets. The Apache wingmen took out the rest.

One thing to bear in mind is that the .50 caliber gun is pretty damned useless against all but the softest of targets. But you can take out a Havoc with the Kiowa's rockets.

I ran the mission again and hit the F9 Chase View as soon as the mission started. Watched the Kiowa destroy a few Reds with rockets and gun.



The Apaches actually got most of the Red vehicles. Under AI control, the Kiowa would launch a rocket or two, or fire its gun, and then wander off in a very distracted manner for a while before engaging the enemy again. Reminded me a bit of my Grandmother doing some grocery shopping.

Copy&Paste the above mission into a new text file using Notepad. Save the file as whatever you want, and throw it in your
\Gunship!\Data\Battles\player\ folder

You can change Platoon 21 in the mission.txt to whichever Platoon # you've plunked the Kiowa in.

Can you destroy anything?
Which Platoon# did you use for your custom platoon?
Which .exe did you run through the Mangler?
Can you use the Kiowa's weapons at all?


As far as Insertion/Extraction with a Blackhawk... there's some information on the LZ command in the Huey's Readme.txt that may be of some use to you. Then again, that command is flaky to say the least, so you'll probably be disappointed.

I'm unaware of any simple & straightforward way to get your wingmen to follow your helo. I've always resorted to deleting/adding waypoints in the Map Screen-- A big pain in the ash, imho. That's not to say with any degree of certainty, however, that there isn't a better way to do it.


Last edited by samovar6; 04/10/10 03:23 AM. Reason: Removed an ambiguous question about Liechtenstein because of a spelling error.

Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
For Phantom lovers
by KraziKanuK. 02/23/19 11:40 AM
Lots of Snow in Tucson, AZ
by Haggart. 02/23/19 12:23 AM
Google entering game hosting
by PanzerMeyer. 02/22/19 03:04 PM
Sheffield bomber crash: Flypast on 75th anniversary
by Patrocles. 02/22/19 02:15 PM
The Eye of Sauron - found in Israel
by Tom_Weiss. 02/22/19 12:47 PM
Go USAF
by RossUK. 02/22/19 10:44 AM
Tanks for the memories
by rwatson. 02/22/19 10:40 AM
Peter Tork was 77
by F4UDash4. 02/22/19 01:06 AM
Dirt Rally 2.0
by WangoTango. 02/22/19 12:41 AM
ACW naval battle - Hampton Roads
by KraziKanuK. 02/21/19 12:19 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0