Forums » Air Combat & Civil Aviation » Air Combat - General » WW II » How to set up for widescreen? Active Topics You are not logged in. [Log In] [Register User]
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
Hop to:
#2957247 - 02/12/10 01:29 PM How to set up for widescreen?
Warbirds Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/25/01
Posts: 2734
I used to know all this stuff but forgot,,how can I get it to use 1920x1080
_________________________
"If you really want to experience flight in this life then you have to strap a DC-3 to your ass." “Buffalo” Joe McBryan President & Captain Buffalo Airways

Top
#2967112 - 02/26/10 06:06 PM Re: How to set up for widescreen? [Re: Warbirds]
Conrad B Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 03/08/08
Posts: 40
I'm not aware of any workaround for widescreen monitors. I would like to run it in 1920 x 1200 which is my screens native resolution. The highest setting in the config is 1600 x 1200 I think which stretches weird on the widescreen.
_________________________
But sir! Only a fool would fly in this aweful weather!

That's why you're going up with me..........

Top
#2967526 - 02/27/10 12:21 PM Re: How to set up for widescreen? [Re: Conrad B]
Warbirds Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/25/01
Posts: 2734
I was running widescreen a couple years ago but forgot how,,,it was running at 1080p
_________________________
"If you really want to experience flight in this life then you have to strap a DC-3 to your ass." “Buffalo” Joe McBryan President & Captain Buffalo Airways

Top
#2973522 - 03/09/10 06:54 PM Re: How to set up for widescreen? [Re: Warbirds]
No457_Squog Offline
Squadron Leader
Member

Registered: 06/05/01
Posts: 2264
Loc: Melbourne, Australia
I recently re-installed this puppy just for old-times' sake and managed to get it to run in Widescreen resolutions - but there's a catch...
  1. Open your Registry Editor
  2. Navigate to:
    • HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microprose\B17\General
  3. Double-Click on the "DisplayMode" entry in the right-hand window
  4. Change it to something like:
    • 1920x1080 32bpp 60Hz
  5. Click OK, and then close your Registry Editor


As mentioned above, the only caveat is the fact that the game has a lot of issues when rendering the top & bottom portions of the screen when the display ratio isn't 4:3 (Widescreens are usually 16:10 or 16:9). This means that when you are in-game you can't mouse up to the top or bottom of the screen to move around the compartments/crew at all. You can of course still use the keyboard shortcuts to do this.

I haven't found a workaround - mainly because I'm pretty sure the only way to completely resolve the issue is to hex-edit the game code. My 24" 1920 x 1080 LCD doesn't scale 1600 x 1200 very well so I'm sort-of still in the process of finding the 'sweet spot'.
_________________________
No457_Squog
Squadron Leader

No. 457 Squadron vRAAF

Top
#2973765 - 03/10/10 04:43 AM Re: How to set up for widescreen? [Re: No457_Squog]
Chucky Online   biggrin
Hotshot

Registered: 04/06/08
Posts: 8005
Loc: UK Midlands
Still interested here.Look forward to your findings.
_________________________
I took the shell off my racing snail, thinking it would make him go faster.
If anything, it made him more sluggish.

Top
#2974177 - 03/10/10 04:40 PM Re: How to set up for widescreen? [Re: Chucky]
No457_Squog Offline
Squadron Leader
Member

Registered: 06/05/01
Posts: 2264
Loc: Melbourne, Australia
I've been having some luck with 1280x960 - seems to scale alright on my 24".
_________________________
No457_Squog
Squadron Leader

No. 457 Squadron vRAAF

Top
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
Hop to:

Moderator:  RacerGT 
 
Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Girls and planes
by KraziKanuK
08:08 AM
Juche Korea triumphs!
by Crane Hunter
01:15 AM
Tribute to Fallen Blue Angel
by JimK
05:54 PM
Free State of Jones
by Raw Kryptonite
06/23/16 04:02 PM
T-34 Question/Debate
by Supra
06/23/16 03:03 PM
New Prius Commercials - Spoilers
by Cajun
06/23/16 07:32 AM
"Das Boot" gets a series sequel
by Jayhawk
06/23/16 06:05 AM
TrackingPoint – Next Level Sh!t
by Linebacker
06/22/16 09:47 PM
Feeling Numb, call I just got.
by JimK
06/22/16 08:41 PM
Icelandic commentator loses his mind, and voice, after his country beats Austria with 94 minute goal
by Desert Eagle
06/22/16 07:15 PM
 

Forum Use Agreement | Privacy Statement
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.