Forums » Air Combat & Civil Aviation » Civil Aviation - General » FSX multiple monitors -- for displaying panels & gauges Active Topics You are not logged in. [Log In] [Register User]
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
Hop to:
#2915709 - 12/07/09 09:05 PM FSX multiple monitors -- for displaying panels & gauges
Ripcord Offline
Member

Registered: 03/20/03
Posts: 1507
Loc: Houston, Texas

Hi all, looking for some more input.

Not having much luck with undocking and dragging panels onto second monitors in FSX -- windowed mode or full screen, doesn't seem to work.

Looking at other ideas, such as just setting up panels/gauges using software like this cockpitsolutions.com -- pretty impressive just looking at it. Anybody using it?

Ripcord
_________________________
USN/USMC -- when it positively, absolutely has to be blown up overnight.

Top
#2915850 - 12/08/09 02:47 AM Re: FSX multiple monitors -- for displaying panels & gauges [Re: Ripcord]
F19_CoNa Offline
sim junkie
Member

Registered: 08/04/06
Posts: 566
Loc: Kallinge, Sweden
First of all, make sure you have enabeled the second screen in XP/Vista/W7.
Then make sure you do NOT use in windowed mode, then it will not work.
Check your FSX config to be sure you have both screens avialible.

Mine looks like this:
[DISPLAY.Device.NVIDIA GeForce GTX 275.0.0]
Mode=1280x1024x32
Anisotropic=1
AntiAlias=1
[DISPLAY.Device.NVIDIA GeForce GTX 275.0.1]
Mode=1680x1050x32
Anisotropic=1
AntiAlias=1

My setup has different resolution on the screens so to make it easy I set the lower resolution screen as primary monitor (this is the lower one)
Start off with the 2D cockpit. You can now drag and drop the "world outside the cockpit" on to the second monitor.
Then just right click and choose VC cocpit and it will snap in to full screen resolution. Presto....you now have all 2D on the lower while still
enjoying 3D VC on the other screen. The benefits of doing this is that all popups will still be comming to the lower screen and not into the VC.




Another way is of course to start in 3D VC, press Shift+1 and the 2D will pop up. Just drag it to the lower screen and you are done.
The bad thing about this that you need to re-size the 2D cockpit to fit the resolution..unless you have the same as the monitor above of course, then it's no problems.
Then you have all popups (throttle, GPS and stuff like that ) that will start from the 3D VC. You need to drag them down to the lower too...and re-size. So you understand why I use the first method.
There is no loss of fps using either method, so I'm very happy with it.


Edited by CoNa (12/08/09 02:48 AM)
_________________________
..and lead us not into temptation......I'll find it myself.

Top
#2915851 - 12/08/09 02:51 AM Re: FSX multiple monitors -- for displaying panels & gauges [Re: F19_CoNa]
F19_CoNa Offline
sim junkie
Member

Registered: 08/04/06
Posts: 566
Loc: Kallinge, Sweden
Here is a nice video on how to do it.
Should help.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iNoyHdWXUlI&feature=player_embedded#
_________________________
..and lead us not into temptation......I'll find it myself.

Top
#2916379 - 12/08/09 09:32 PM Re: FSX multiple monitors -- for displaying panels & gauges [Re: F19_CoNa]
Ripcord Offline
Member

Registered: 03/20/03
Posts: 1507
Loc: Houston, Texas
OK, this helps a lot. Thanks.

My 'problem' as I see it is that I am trying to use multiple monitors of different sizes that are connected to different video cards. Or maybe the little monitors I have just don't have a sufficient resolution to work. Although I am able to drag the virtual cockpit over onto part of my little 10.4" monitor, I cannot pull my instrument windows over onto it. I can undock them and move them over, but nothing shows up. Maybe that is my poor resolution, and I just need to try it on another monitor with higher resolution.

But still my question was regarding this program available at cockpitsolutions.com -- anybody use it at all?

Ripcord
_________________________
USN/USMC -- when it positively, absolutely has to be blown up overnight.

Top
#2917060 - 12/09/09 09:29 PM Re: FSX multiple monitors -- for displaying panels & gauges [Re: Ripcord]
Ripcord Offline
Member

Registered: 03/20/03
Posts: 1507
Loc: Houston, Texas

OK, I took a stab at installing this program available at cockpitsolutions.com called FSXpand and the corresponding FSXClient.... and I gotta say it LOOKS awesome, scales to smaller monitors very easily and really resolves the question of getting panels to run on these little 10.4" 800x600 monitors (or even smaller ones).

Now, that said, I haven't got FSUIPC registered yet and I haven't figured out how to configure the FSXpand & FSClient to work -- not quite yet. But at least I can see that it is trying to work and I should be able to get it sorted out.

Ripcord
_________________________
USN/USMC -- when it positively, absolutely has to be blown up overnight.

Top
#2919572 - 12/13/09 10:54 PM Re: FSX multiple monitors -- for displaying panels & gauges [Re: Ripcord]
Ripcord Offline
Member

Registered: 03/20/03
Posts: 1507
Loc: Houston, Texas

OK, figured out the IP set-up in windows, had to add an IP address, and it worked right away once I finally did that. Pretty cool, really looks good on that 10.4" monitor, and works great -- just took a quick spin around Friday Harbor WA in FSX, just to test it out. Next step is to get a second copy of FSClient running to drive the other monitor.

Ripcord
_________________________
USN/USMC -- when it positively, absolutely has to be blown up overnight.

Top
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
Hop to:

Moderator:  RacerGT, Stormtrooper 
 
Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Merry Christmas
by Coot
Today at 07:07 PM
looking for monitor color calibration program recommendations
by piper
Today at 06:35 PM
Mile Marker Zero
by NH2112
Today at 11:32 AM
Wenjian Liu and Rafael Ramos
by Sunchaser
Today at 08:38 AM
After 3 Months of Sea Trials the Navy's New Laser Delivers Near Instantaneous Destruction
by Haggart
Today at 12:08 AM
Got Hepatitis C ? No Problem - 12 Week Course Treatment At Only $1,125 Per Pill
by Haggart
Yesterday at 08:25 PM
NSFW milk calendar splash heroes
by Blade_RJ
Yesterday at 07:27 PM
For Panzer
by Jayhawk
Yesterday at 11:17 AM
Hustler to make a pornographic parody of the "Interview"
by Desert Eagle
Yesterday at 09:41 AM
20 of the Bravest Military Dogs in History
by Linebacker
12/19/14 08:01 PM
 

Forum Use Agreement | Privacy Statement
Copyright 1997-2014, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.