Forums » Read Only Forums » Read Only Forums » Jane's Longbow Series (Read Only) » Longbow 2 Windows Vista/7 Fix available for download! Active Topics You are not logged in. [Log In] [Register User]
Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
Hop to:
#2894891 - 11/05/09 09:09 AM Longbow 2 Windows Vista/7 Fix available for download!
Flyboy Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/29/06
Posts: 3273
Loc: England, UK
I have packaged and uploaded LB2 'installed', for those of you who have Windows Vista or Windows 7 (32-Bit and 64-Bit) and can't even install LB2 because of errors.

Download, install and see the readme for usage info.

LB2-WinVista-7-Fix.exe (237.78 MB)
* from RapidShare: https://rapidshare.com/files/449369593/LB2-WinVista-7-Fix.exe

Now available in .zip format as some users have reported issues with the fix installer .exe requiring 'missing' files. Thanks to IamFritz for bringing the issue to my attention.

LB2-WinVista-7-Fix.zip (261.88 MB)
* from RapidShare: https://rapidshare.com/files/2574507330/LB2-WinVista-7-Fix.zip

Note that you still need the LB2 CDs or images to play.

Changes:
* Added new RapidShare link for the .zip version of the fix.
* Removed previous GameFront mirror link as the file has been removed by the site.

Thanks for everyone's feedback and support with this fix. Unfortunately the GameFront (previously FileFront) website removed the fix so the original mirror no longer works and has been removed here, therefore I don't have a final download count for that location. But I am sure that it was over 1300 downloads the last time I was able to check. However, I can be sure that since the .exe version was uploaded to RapidShare on 23.02.2011 - there have now been just over 1000 downloads! I'm sure the new .zip version will do well too, as it may offer more compatbility in use but obviously lacks the fancy-pants installer that I made for the .exe version!

Top
#2899287 - 11/12/09 03:55 AM Re: Longbow 2 Windows Vista/7 Fix available for download! [Re: Flyboy]
Doggie Offline
Member

Registered: 07/17/01
Posts: 526
Loc: North York, Canada
Thankx smile
_________________________
Core i5 3570K, ASRock Z77 EXTREME4, 32GB RAM, Powercolor 7950 3GB, 2TB Seagate SATA3, Samsung Blue-ray Drive, XFX Pro 850W Power Supply.

Top
#2899555 - 11/12/09 11:55 AM Re: Longbow 2 Windows Vista/7 Fix available for download! [Re: Doggie]
tahoman Offline
Member

Registered: 10/27/03
Posts: 554
Loc: Spanaway, WA
Thanks Flyboy, works great.

Top
#2900067 - 11/13/09 09:15 AM Re: Longbow 2 Windows Vista/7 Fix available for download! [Re: tahoman]
Subguru Offline
Member

Registered: 01/07/04
Posts: 246
Loc: Alabama
What does this mean?

"This install is intended to be used with the Daemon-Tools (or similar) CD image mounting procedure."

And, why can't I find LB2.exe in the folder /Jane's/Longbow 2 after running this install program?



Edited by Subguru (11/13/09 09:23 AM)

Top
#2900142 - 11/13/09 11:14 AM Re: Longbow 2 Windows Vista/7 Fix available for download! [Re: Subguru]
Flyboy Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/29/06
Posts: 3273
Loc: England, UK
Originally Posted By: Subguru
What does this mean?

"This install is intended to be used with the Daemon-Tools (or similar) CD image mounting procedure."

And, why can't I find LB2.exe in the folder /Jane's/Longbow 2 after running this install program?



It means that most people will find it more beneficial to use a CD image mounting process, as this cuts down terrain map load times and means that you don't have to keep using the CDs. Daemon-Tools is the most popular tool to use to mount CD images.

Your LB2.exe file was probably quarantined or removed by your anti-virus program. This file is known to have a false-positive virus (meaning it is in fact not harmful) that AV programs still keep picking up on.

Top
#2900549 - 11/14/09 12:05 AM Re: Longbow 2 Windows Vista/7 Fix available for download! [Re: Flyboy]
IamFritz Offline
Member

Registered: 08/10/04
Posts: 697
Originally Posted By: Flyboy
Originally Posted By: Subguru
What does this mean?

"This install is intended to be used with the Daemon-Tools (or similar) CD image mounting procedure."

And, why can't I find LB2.exe in the folder /Jane's/Longbow 2 after running this install program?



It means that most people will find it more beneficial to use a CD image mounting process, as this cuts down terrain map load times and means that you don't have to keep using the CDs. Daemon-Tools is the most popular tool to use to mount CD images.

Your LB2.exe file was probably quarantined or removed by your anti-virus program. This file is known to have a false-positive virus (meaning it is in fact not harmful) that AV programs still keep picking up on.


True. AVG will kill any LB2 install. I went out and purchased Panda Security just so I could fly Longbow 2.
_________________________
Fritz Gunter
iamfritz@hotmail.com
http://www.iamfritz.com <- It's Only Gotten Better

Lenovo Quadcore 3.1 GHZ Proc, 6 GB RAM and NVidia GeForce GT 632 (2 GB Vid RAM) Direct X 11 Windows 7

Top
#2901466 - 11/15/09 06:34 PM Re: Longbow 2 Windows Vista/7 Fix available for download! [Re: Flyboy]
Subguru Offline
Member

Registered: 01/07/04
Posts: 246
Loc: Alabama
Thanks. Now if only I can get McAfee to stop sending the .exe to quarantine... without turning off the bloody realtime virus scan frown

Top
#2902134 - 11/16/09 06:07 PM Re: Longbow 2 Windows Vista/7 Fix available for download! [Re: Subguru]
Flyboy Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/29/06
Posts: 3273
Loc: England, UK
I hate McAfee, I got it pre-installed with my new laptop. It automatically removed 'suspicious' files, even from within .zip files - without even notifying me. I swiftly uninstalled it and replaced it with Avira.

Top
#2903908 - 11/18/09 11:38 PM Re: Longbow 2 Windows Vista/7 Fix available for download! [Re: Flyboy]
Phoenix Offline
Member

Registered: 05/08/05
Posts: 896
Flyboy, I just dl'd this. Instead of just near perfect, this sim runs as flawlessly as when I first bought it. How did you manage this? It's awesome dude, and thx!

Top
#2904080 - 11/19/09 09:02 AM Re: Longbow 2 Windows Vista/7 Fix available for download! [Re: Phoenix]
Flyboy Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/29/06
Posts: 3273
Loc: England, UK
Well I'm very happy to hear that it works for you Phoenix. It' no big secret how I did it. I just installed the sim on to my old WinXP system (hell, we are moving fast if I can call XP 'old'), patched it, fixed it and then just put it in the installer. No magic, just old fashioned common sense (and a lot of input from guys on here in the past!)

Top
Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
Hop to:

Moderator:  EinsteinEP, RacerGT 
 
Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Carol Burnett and "The Family"
by Li'lJugs
10:00 PM
Warner Bros. sues New York bar for playing 80-year old song
by Ajay
07:47 PM
Did a search, none posted this? F-16 on "ramming mission", 9/11?
by Li'lJugs
06:38 PM
An AH-64 and Mi-35 go out to play....
by Stormtrooper
06:16 PM
Late War Luftwaffe Colours - Help Needed
by PeterMBooth
05:36 PM
Batman the complete TV series 11/7 or 11/11, I forgot... lol
by Magnum
03:56 PM
NHL 15 highlights....
by Magnum
12:49 PM
Vehicle Code Section 339472
by Arthonon
12:46 PM
NAS Oceana Airshow - Sat/Sun - Sept 20th/2st, 2014
by SkateZilla
12:42 PM
How to use Mission Editor
by MADLOU
11:54 AM
 

Forum Use Agreement | Privacy Statement
Copyright 1997-2014, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.