Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#2678817 - 02/24/09 06:07 AM System Requirements Redux  
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 620
BuddyWoof Offline
Member
BuddyWoof  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 620
Viks, I remember a while back asking if a E6600 oc'ed to 3.4 ghz + 8800
GTX and 3 gigs was enough to run this simulation with all the eye-candy on at 30+ fps. I think at that time you said it should be ok. In fact, I think it was you at the Gennedich forum who told me to Oc my E6600 and I've been running Oc'ed since then (thanks for that).

I'm just wondering how the optimization is coming along. Are you guys seeing good framerates with the beta code? Is the requirements posted on Riseofflight.com still accurate or were you able to bring the requirement down a bit since that was posted?

Processor: Core 2 Duo (Intel) 2.8 HGz
RAM : 3Gb
Hard disk: 6 Gb
Videocard: 512 Mb video RAM(GF9800 series or AMD ATI Radeon 4850 series)
Access to the Internet: At least 512 Kb/s

Thanks for your response.

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#2678826 - 02/24/09 06:31 AM Re: System Requirements Redux [Re: BuddyWoof]  
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 202
Hiccup Offline
Member
Hiccup  Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 202
Othello, Wa. USA
Ooohhh, I hope you are correct BuddyWoof, I just overclocked my Q6600 to 3.4G and added another 8800GT 512MB in SLI and OC'd the core to 650 and the memory HZ to 1000. Shaders are already at 1500.
Just bought 4Gigs of G.Skill Ram from newegg for $54.00 (Had really good reviews for the gamers smile.
I really want all that eye candy as well for the emersiveness. Some of you may remember the origenal RedBaron when it was only 4 colors. But it was fun! My mouth is watering for ROF primarily for the MMO. Everything that I have seen so far looks fantastic.

#2678847 - 02/24/09 08:23 AM Re: System Requirements Redux [Re: Hiccup]  
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 3,052
Steve_F Offline
Senior Member
Steve_F  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 3,052
London, England
It's just a recommended spec based on the machines they are using to test the alpha/beta builds of the game. Viks once said the minimum spec for RoF is "a PC running windows" smile

Hiccup, Buddy..I'd be suprised if your systems didn't give you positive results.
I have a similar system, once it was high end. w/c'd c2d @3.6 with 4 gig of ram and a 8800GTX. I've swapped the 8800 for an Ati 4870, but me and my PC are slipping down into mid range very quickly *sigh

It maybe that we have to dial some of the gfx options down a tab, but you'd expect that in a new game. There has to be some future proofing in the engine. Think IL2, my latest PC is only now able to run it at full tilt after all these years. Hopefully RoF will give us that longevity

#2678856 - 02/24/09 09:11 AM Re: System Requirements Redux [Re: Steve_F]  
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,496
VF-2 John Banks Offline
Member
VF-2 John Banks  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,496
Berlin, Germany
Btw guys, is RoF going to support current multicore CPUs? I have a quad and would like to see RoF taking advantage of it, atleast a little bit more than other sims right now.


Intel Core I7-4790K @ 4x4GHz (oc'ed to 4x4,5 GHz on air)
be quiet! Dark Rock Pro 3 CPU Cooler (250W TDP)
ASUS Z97-C motherboard
ASUS STRIX-GTX970-DC2OC-4GD5
ASUS ROG Xonar Phoebus Solo Soundcard, PCIe
2 x 4GB GEIL DDR3 Value RAM
ANTEC PSU (750W)
Toshiba 37" LCD TV (1920x1080x32)
Win 7 Home Pro (64bit)
240 GB Corsair SSD (Force Series 3)
TrackIR4 Pro
HOTAS Cougar + "Uber NxT advanced" gimbal mod
SIMPED F-16 Pedals
SAITEK Throttle Quadrant
A2 leather jacket & leather gloves
#2678898 - 02/24/09 12:29 PM Re: System Requirements Redux [Re: BuddyWoof]  
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 393
=FB=VikS Offline
Member
=FB=VikS  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 393
Originally Posted By: BuddyWoof
Viks, I remember a while back asking if a E6600 oc'ed to 3.4 ghz + 8800
GTX and 3 gigs was enough to run this simulation with all the eye-candy on at 30+ fps. I think at that time you said it should be ok. In fact, I think it was you at the Gennedich forum who told me to Oc my E6600 and I've been running Oc'ed since then (thanks for that).

I'm just wondering how the optimization is coming along. Are you guys seeing good framerates with the beta code? Is the requirements posted on Riseofflight.com still accurate or were you able to bring the requirement down a bit since that was posted?

Processor: Core 2 Duo (Intel) 2.8 HGz
RAM : 3Gb
Hard disk: 6 Gb
Videocard: 512 Mb video RAM(GF9800 series or AMD ATI Radeon 4850 series)
Access to the Internet: At least 512 Kb/s

Thanks for your response.



Your rig should hold ROF ok (most of our office workstations are close to your specs, and we run it ok till 1920x1200).


VikS
Flying BARANS Forever!
"All wool - to the front!"
www.barans.ru
www.riseofflight.com
#2678899 - 02/24/09 12:30 PM Re: System Requirements Redux [Re: VF-2 John Banks]  
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 393
=FB=VikS Offline
Member
=FB=VikS  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 393
Originally Posted By: VF-2 John Banks
Btw guys, is RoF going to support current multicore CPUs? I have a quad and would like to see RoF taking advantage of it, atleast a little bit more than other sims right now.


Yes, we are support multicore CPU`s.


VikS
Flying BARANS Forever!
"All wool - to the front!"
www.barans.ru
www.riseofflight.com
#2678913 - 02/24/09 01:12 PM Re: System Requirements Redux [Re: =FB=VikS]  
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 10,618
Ming_EAF19 Offline
Babelfish Immune
Ming_EAF19  Offline
Babelfish Immune
Veteran

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 10,618
London
Does RoF use the cores effectively and for strictly simulation purposes, one core dedicated to running physics for example

Il-2 supports more than one core. But that support word can mean that one core runs the whole sim while the other core 'only' handles background Windows applications

Will the two cores of a Core Duo CPU be actively working on simulation tasks rather than one core doing operating system housekeeping and not actively making the sim run at higher framerate

Has the PhysX API any chance of being used under RoF and future son-of-RoF simulations btw?

Ming


'You are either a hater or you are not' Roman Halter
#2678938 - 02/24/09 01:51 PM Re: System Requirements Redux [Re: Ming_EAF19]  
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,380
FlyRetired Offline
Senior Member
FlyRetired  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,380
I think they've worked with Intel to optimize multi-core processing Ming. Smile2

Intel Software Partner & RoF translated here

If the Google translation above doesn't work, try the original site:

Intel Software Partner & RoF in Russian here

It has been said that AMD multi-cores work with RoF nicely too.


#2678954 - 02/24/09 02:26 PM Re: System Requirements Redux [Re: Ming_EAF19]  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 13,361
Freycinet Offline
Veteran
Freycinet  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 13,361
Originally Posted By: Ming_EAF19
Does RoF use the cores effectively and for strictly simulation purposes, one core dedicated to running physics for example

Il-2 supports more than one core. But that support word can mean that one core runs the whole sim while the other core 'only' handles background Windows applications

Will the two cores of a Core Duo CPU be actively working on simulation tasks rather than one core doing operating system housekeeping and not actively making the sim run at higher framerate

Has the PhysX API any chance of being used under RoF and future son-of-RoF simulations btw?

Ming


Funny how eminently clearly you can express yourself when you actually want to be understood wink


My Il-2 CoD movie web site: www.flightsimvids.com
#2678955 - 02/24/09 02:28 PM Re: System Requirements Redux [Re: =FB=VikS]  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 13,361
Freycinet Offline
Veteran
Freycinet  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 13,361
Originally Posted By: =FB=VikS


Yes, we are support multicore CPU`s.


Ming, from what I understand here, Viks is saying that the little mouse arrow flittering about the screen will be supported by at least one, if not both cores. You can rest assured that mouse functionality will remain unimpaired, even with a high graphics load.

neaner


My Il-2 CoD movie web site: www.flightsimvids.com
#2678978 - 02/24/09 02:54 PM Re: System Requirements Redux [Re: Ming_EAF19]  
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 393
=FB=VikS Offline
Member
=FB=VikS  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 393
Originally Posted By: Ming_EAF19

Will the two cores of a Core Duo CPU be actively working on simulation tasks rather than one core doing operating system housekeeping and not actively making the sim run at higher framerate


ROF have separated threads architecture, so two/four cores will work. Actually we have exact numbers of trials of core duo vs core quad, and core quad works 30-40% faster than core duo with ROF

Quote:

Has the PhysX API any chance of being used under RoF and future son-of-RoF simulations btw?
Ming


Negative for release (we just havnt time to do it right now).

Last edited by =FB=VikS; 02/24/09 02:55 PM.

VikS
Flying BARANS Forever!
"All wool - to the front!"
www.barans.ru
www.riseofflight.com
#2679041 - 02/24/09 04:06 PM Re: System Requirements Redux [Re: =FB=VikS]  
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,496
VF-2 John Banks Offline
Member
VF-2 John Banks  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,496
Berlin, Germany
Good to hear Viks! smile I am glad i invested for the Quadcore. 30-40% is quite alot for a simulation. Right now i am trying to overclock my videocard to the absolute maximum. I am on 720/1020 Mhz. Although my card is mediocre at best, i hope it wont be stressed too much by RoF and that the sim but's more load to the CPU rather than the GPU, especially with multicore support, where visual stuff could be put into CPU #3 or #4.


Intel Core I7-4790K @ 4x4GHz (oc'ed to 4x4,5 GHz on air)
be quiet! Dark Rock Pro 3 CPU Cooler (250W TDP)
ASUS Z97-C motherboard
ASUS STRIX-GTX970-DC2OC-4GD5
ASUS ROG Xonar Phoebus Solo Soundcard, PCIe
2 x 4GB GEIL DDR3 Value RAM
ANTEC PSU (750W)
Toshiba 37" LCD TV (1920x1080x32)
Win 7 Home Pro (64bit)
240 GB Corsair SSD (Force Series 3)
TrackIR4 Pro
HOTAS Cougar + "Uber NxT advanced" gimbal mod
SIMPED F-16 Pedals
SAITEK Throttle Quadrant
A2 leather jacket & leather gloves
#2679051 - 02/24/09 04:17 PM Re: System Requirements Redux [Re: VF-2 John Banks]  
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 273
franksvalli Offline
Member
franksvalli  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 273
Awesome! I knew this quad core would come in handy smile

#2679121 - 02/24/09 05:48 PM Re: System Requirements Redux [Re: franksvalli]  
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 10,618
Ming_EAF19 Offline
Babelfish Immune
Ming_EAF19  Offline
Babelfish Immune
Veteran

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 10,618
London
Thanks VikS and I promise not to mention FMB triggers again almost Smile2

Quote:
100% realistic physical model, 100% realistic graphics, 100% realistic damage model and aerodynamics!
I'm going rabid in a minute stand back Smile2 I believe it too, gets better the more I hear about it. Shooting for the stars I'm in

Quote:
The war in heaven
Very nice I like that, shades of Milton and Blake

Same here frank or franks, quad core next time. Not sure my EVGA 680i SLI motherboard can handle quad core though, Core 2 Duo E6700 at 3.33GHz at the moment. Someone will know Smile2

Ming


'You are either a hater or you are not' Roman Halter
#2679228 - 02/24/09 08:28 PM Re: System Requirements Redux [Re: Ming_EAF19]  
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,380
FlyRetired Offline
Senior Member
FlyRetired  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,380
Originally Posted By: Ming_EAF19
Quote:
100% realistic physical model, 100% realistic graphics, 100% realistic damage model and aerodynamics!

That's 300% realism! That's not rabid Ming, you just turned into The Blog! exitstageleft

#2679232 - 02/24/09 08:32 PM Re: System Requirements Redux [Re: Ming_EAF19]  
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 393
=FB=VikS Offline
Member
=FB=VikS  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 393
Originally Posted By: Ming_EAF19
Thanks VikS and I promise not to mention FMB triggers again almost Smile2


FMB triggers? We have some, actually ROF FMB had wide range of triggers sistem, so you can make almost a dinamic style mission. yep


VikS
Flying BARANS Forever!
"All wool - to the front!"
www.barans.ru
www.riseofflight.com
#2679306 - 02/24/09 09:34 PM Re: System Requirements Redux [Re: =FB=VikS]  
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 10,618
Ming_EAF19 Offline
Babelfish Immune
Ming_EAF19  Offline
Babelfish Immune
Veteran

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 10,618
London
ROF FMB had wide range of triggers

That sounds interesting VikS, can you tell us more and maybe give us an example please? Could an AI flight detect incoming enemy planes and scramble to take off to intercept them?

I am hoping that your triggers are my triggers, to avoid ambiguity and perhaps disappointment

101% real will do me FR Smile2

Ming


'You are either a hater or you are not' Roman Halter
#2679346 - 02/24/09 10:30 PM Re: System Requirements Redux [Re: =FB=VikS]  
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,024
Chivas Offline
Senior Member
Chivas  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,024
B.C. Canada
Originally Posted By: =FB=VikS
Originally Posted By: Ming_EAF19
Thanks VikS and I promise not to mention FMB triggers again almost Smile2


FMB triggers? We have some, actually ROF FMB had wide range of triggers sistem, so you can make almost a dinamic style mission. yep


Hi Viks

I quess you missed the Topic posted by Ming a couple of days ago.

http://simhq.com/forum/ubbthreads.php/topics/2677296/Any_news_on_triggers_Reviewing.html#Post2677296

~Salute~
Chivas


Intel core I7 4790K @ 4.4
Asus Maximus Hero VII Motherboard
16 gigs DDR3 2133
EVGA GTX980Ti
Oculus Rift
LG 37" LCD
BLack Mamba III Joystick
Cougar Throttle/X55 Throttle/Saitek Levers
Saitek Pro Rudder pedals
Voice Activation Controls
#2679483 - 02/25/09 03:01 AM Re: System Requirements Redux [Re: =FB=VikS]  
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 620
BuddyWoof Offline
Member
BuddyWoof  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 620
Originally Posted By: =FB=VikS


Your rig should hold ROF ok (most of our office workstations are close to your specs, and we run it ok till 1920x1200).


That's great great news Viks. thanks a lot!

#2679486 - 02/25/09 03:04 AM Re: System Requirements Redux [Re: BuddyWoof]  
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 620
BuddyWoof Offline
Member
BuddyWoof  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 620
Viks, one more question on the multicore.....

In DCS:BS, currently windows vista owners are enjoying higher framerates with the same multicore setup as windows XP owners. Have you noticed any performance differences between XP and Vista? Will vista perform better than XP with same multicore hardware as we see in DCS:BS?

Thank you.

Last edited by BuddyWoof; 02/25/09 03:05 AM.
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

Moderated by  Avimimus, RacerGT, Wklink 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Pen!s Pilots
by Timothy. 11/18/17 05:23 AM
Justice League, no spoilers
by Raw Kryptonite. 11/18/17 04:55 AM
Longmire fans, Today is Season 6 release
by JimK. 11/17/17 06:57 PM
OMG would you shoot this gun ?
by JimK. 11/17/17 01:49 PM
looking for a new RPG
by No105_Archie. 11/16/17 06:15 PM
Game developers by country
by PanzerMeyer. 11/16/17 12:34 PM
Clint & Lee
by Haggart. 11/15/17 02:49 PM
Outcast Second Contact Released
by Tom_Weiss. 11/14/17 08:22 PM
Joke: The Talking Clock
by Bill_Grant. 11/14/17 05:15 PM
Lord of the Rings series on Amazon
by PanzerMeyer. 11/14/17 11:49 AM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0