Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#2469153 - 03/13/08 06:28 PM Flying problems in IL2 1946  
Jay Hall Offline
Jay Hall  Offline

Hello Fellow Simmers,
I am fairly new to IL2 (this is week two) and for some reason, I seem to have some simple problems that I am sure some of you more experienced pilots will know how to quickly remedy. They include:

1 - Every time I choose single mission with the US Navy and try the carrier landing missions, I seem to have no ability to select my landing gear to unfold. Therefore, I can almost always get aboard the carrier with my tailhook but my engine is always 'inoperable' and my prop is torn up. In almost all other single missions, I can just toggle my appropriate joystick button to raise or lower my landing gear, but that does not seem to work in the carrier missions. What am I doing wrong?

2 - Using my CH Fighterstick and Pro Throttle (without the CH Manager software) in the game works fine but I cannot get the Input section of the game to recognize my sticks. I do not see the little red square and changing the filters or dead band seems to do nothing.

3 - When I do a normal landing on the ground, I get my airspeed correct, and glidepath, deploy my landing gear and flaps, then touch down (with a 'flare'), hit the wheel brakes while pulling back on the stick, and then toggle the engine to off (to help slow down) but I still either pitch forward into a somersault or tear off the propeller eight out of ten landings. What am I doing wrong?

I know this sounds like stupid noob questions, but that is what I am at this point, so any help would be appreciated,
Jay

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#2469177 - 03/13/08 07:01 PM Re: Flying problems in IL2 1946 [Re: Jay Hall]  
RAF Moustache Offline
RAF Moustache  Offline