Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#2356168 - 10/12/07 06:22 AM Slow Loading of "Terrain Data" and "Auto-Gen-Scenery"  
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 5
chrism Offline
Junior Member
chrism  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 5
BKK, Thailand
I have FSX SP1 and have been flying happly with 40FPS avg for couple of months.

I have built a new machine in order to achieve this. SE-MB, Core2Duo, fast memory, RAID-0 Op Sys Drv

I have question for community ?

I have no payware installed though I plan on getting NAV product in near future.

I have many FREEWARE Mesh, Scenery and Aerodomes installed.

They are all in Europe and North-Atlantic.

I don't fly USA or South America.

I really enjoy going from one detailed airport to the next.

Nice scenery on takeoff and approach are appreciated.

Since I have loaded many Freewares my loading sequence for my flights takes considerably longer.

5 to 8 minutes sometimes.

All the flights work good and FPS are ok in the flight but the "Loading Terrain Data" and

"Loading Autogen Scenery" takes a long time now.

I have all the tweeks and have also deactivated the areas I don't fly in.

Still long load times.

I am using RAID ZERO as my operating system drive but still I have this problem.

I wonder does anyone else have this problem?

A discussion on this topic would be great,hopfully we can find what are the solutions.

Regards all,


K C Pacific Enterprise Co., Ltd
SE Asia and Beyond
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#2356347 - 10/12/07 12:34 PM Re: Slow Loading of "Terrain Data" and "Auto-Gen-Scenery" [Re: chrism]  
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,801
Heretic Offline
Member
Heretic  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,801
GER
A harddisk defragmentation should help.

#2356409 - 10/12/07 01:14 PM Re: Slow Loading of "Terrain Data" and "Auto-Gen-Scenery" [Re: Heretic]  
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 5
chrism Offline
Junior Member
chrism  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 5
BKK, Thailand
I defrag regularly, I think I'll end up having to disable a bunch of the addons to find out what is my limit, I thought it wouldn't happen if I just stuck to Europe and the North Atlantic region.

I wonder what is the limit for loading the addons ?

I just checked my add-on directory and I have 2.7Gig of addons in there.

That doesn't include the stuff like trees and the Grass add-on.

Oh well back to the drawing board.

Regards,

Last edited by chrism; 10/12/07 01:16 PM.

K C Pacific Enterprise Co., Ltd
SE Asia and Beyond
#2356562 - 10/12/07 03:20 PM Re: Slow Loading of "Terrain Data" and "Auto-Gen-Scenery" [Re: chrism]  
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 210
Harsh Offline
Member
Harsh  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 210
Indiana, USA
How much RAM do you have?

#2356936 - 10/13/07 12:04 AM Re: Slow Loading of "Terrain Data" and "Auto-Gen-Scenery" [Re: Harsh]  
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 5
chrism Offline
Junior Member
chrism  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 5
BKK, Thailand
I have 2gig of G-Skill_PC8500 and it's clocked to 866mz, I didn't go 1066mz cuz I didn't want it to burn right away.

My rig as follows:

Striker-Extreme_MB, C2D_E6600@3.00gz, 2gig_pc8500@866mz,
320gig_RAID-0 array for the operating system, nVidia 8800gts_320mb-DDR3_Proc@533mz Mem@866mz,

Regards,


K C Pacific Enterprise Co., Ltd
SE Asia and Beyond
#2357029 - 10/13/07 04:19 AM Re: Slow Loading of "Terrain Data" and "Auto-Gen-Scenery" [Re: chrism]  
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 210
Harsh Offline
Member
Harsh  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 210
Indiana, USA
I've got 2GB of PC2-6400, clocked at about 850MHz. The speed doesn't make as much difference as the amount of RAM. If you had 1GB or less, that would have been a problem.

If your RAM is rated at 1066 (8500), you shouldn't have any trouble running it at that speed. You would probably get a decent performance boost, but I don't think it will affect your load times very much.

#2357132 - 10/13/07 11:49 AM Re: Slow Loading of "Terrain Data" and "Auto-Gen-Scenery" [Re: Harsh]  
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 5
chrism Offline
Junior Member
chrism  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 5
BKK, Thailand
OK I found a solution;

I changed the Buffer Pool size to 9000000 in FSX Config.

Now load times are less than one minute.

Even though I have approx: 3.0gig of scenery, landcless, Mesh and aerodromes active

I also found out something else;

I was playing with the Max Texture Load= under GRAPHICS in FSX Config.

I tried to use 512mb since my card only has 320mb

This caused the Virtual Cockpit to become LOW REZ in FSX, so... I changed it back to 1024mb

and viola the VC rez came back to HIGH REZ again

Funny my card only has 320mb but the setting needs to be higher to get hi rez VC

Live and Learn

Regards, all

Last edited by chrism; 10/13/07 11:50 AM.

K C Pacific Enterprise Co., Ltd
SE Asia and Beyond
#2357329 - 10/13/07 07:54 PM Re: Slow Loading of "Terrain Data" and "Auto-Gen-Scenery" [Re: chrism]  
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,801
Heretic Offline
Member
Heretic  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,801
GER
"Texture Max Load" has nothing to do with your GFX card's memory, it only limits the general texture size in the sim.

#2358052 - 10/15/07 04:51 AM Re: Slow Loading of "Terrain Data" and "Auto-Gen-Scenery" [Re: Heretic]  
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 5
chrism Offline
Junior Member
chrism  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 5
BKK, Thailand
OK I understand this now,

Regards,


K C Pacific Enterprise Co., Ltd
SE Asia and Beyond

Moderated by  RacerGT, Stormtrooper 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
New 2.35:1 Screen and 3D theater ;)
by The Nephilim. 09/20/17 12:42 AM
Russian Helicopter fires on spectators.
by Bill_Grant. 09/19/17 06:56 PM
IJN Mogami poem
by Fungezap. 09/19/17 05:17 PM
Movie Maker Again.
by RedToo. 09/19/17 03:09 PM
retired husband
by KraziKanuK. 09/19/17 02:38 PM
Don't kill Mike Tyson in COD.
by TerribleTwo. 09/19/17 01:13 PM
Be careful when you drink....
by Bill_Grant. 09/19/17 01:10 PM
The Skunk works, 75 years of Innovation
by JimK. 09/19/17 12:51 AM
Thor Ragnarok -1987 trailer spoof
by Blade_RJ. 09/19/17 12:33 AM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0