Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#1779425 - 12/22/06 07:51 PM Santa, please bring me better reflexes & a new brain  
franx Offline
Impersonal pronoun
franx  Offline
Impersonal pronoun

Philadelphia
Guys, I love this sim but I've got a bad case of n00balogical brainmeltosis. Background: I picked up a copy of F4-AF six months ago, tried it out and gave up from confusion and fatigue. Then two weeks ago I got the bug again. I started playing in simplified avionics so I could get some of the enjoyment along with the learning headaches. Hosted a few easy-mode dogfights on Hyperlobby. OK, I'm hooked now.

But I'm frustrated with Lesson 13. I think I understand the differences between CRM and its submodes, and ACM and its submodes. I also understand that when I stare into the CRM/RWS B-display (or the others), I'm looking straight ahead into a widening 60 (or 30 or 10) degree azimuth spectrum, and a similar spectrum in elevation.

My problem is that I can't process the info and react fast enough. I know that will come with experience, but so far -- every single time -- a fighter drops in behind me unseen and shoots me down with its cannon. I think I've splashed a few bandits with missiles, but the sim doesn't tell me that. I have no idea where the targets go when they disappear from my screen. I'm especially frustrated trying to handle the joystick, the keystrokes and then the mouse to press the buttons to switch between CRM and ACM.

Has anyone mapped his controller to quickly cycle through the radar modes and avoid the cockpit buttons? I'm using a Logitech 3D Force Pro. How do I prevent bandits from dropping in behind me? Anyone have any suggestions for joystick mapping and video tutorials? I really love this sim, but I'm languishing on Lesson 13.

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#1779426 - 12/22/06 08:16 PM Re: Santa, please bring me better reflexes & a new brain  
chronoPilot Offline
chronoPilot  Offline