Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#1712164 - 09/01/05 10:41 AM Laserlok Protection ???  
pceltuk Offline
pceltuk  Offline

Searching my Bob 2 GMX CD today with ("hidden folders"- off) I noticed a folder (hidden) called "Laserlok" which is a copy-protection utility.
Bearing in mind all the appalling CDTs and low fps many of us are getting from the GMX UK version I am wondering whether this utility applied to the GMX version might in any way be responsible for all these very strange and puzzling faults---presumably not occurring on the pre-release versions (pre Laserlok) the testers had.
I am no computer expert but would invite any more knowledgable members or GMX themselves to comment on this please.
Many thanks

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#1712165 - 09/01/05 04:19 PM Re: Laserlok Protection ???  
Cas141 Offline
Cas141  Offline

Northern hemisphere
A very good point which I would hope will elicit a reply from GMX and Shockwave.
And if I were a betting man..... I mean, how can a beta seem satisfactory to users and then the final sold version be such a problem.?

Mankind's problem is not failing to know the difference between right and wrong; - It is failing to know the difference between different and wrong
#1712166 - 09/01/05 05:09 PM Re: Laserlok Protection ???  
MadBadVlad Offline
MadBadVlad  Offline

Wales, UK
Quite a few people now have had copy protection errors or simply cannot run the game in their DVD drives, which can be a symptom of incompatability with the copy protection utility. Errors with Starforce are well known, we know less about Laserlock.

GMX really should comment on the issue, but I guess they will wait for feedback from Shockwave now that GMX have been asked to supply distributed copies to them for checking.

#1712167 - 09/01/05 05:54 PM Re: Laserlok Protection ???  
mutt13y Offline
mutt13y  Offline

Melton Mowbray