Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#1652617 - 10/17/05 02:31 PM First successful mission in F4:Allied Force  
RFT Offline
RFT  Offline

Leamington Spa UK
I'm something of a newbie at F4:AF- I've maybe got 5-6 hours on it now. after a couple of abortive campaign attempts, I thought I'd try the "Power Station Strike" TE that ships with the game. here's how it went...

I studied the breifing closely- my main concern to start with was the selected weapon of GBUs- I swapped these for the dumb equivalent, the Mk-84. With the bombsight modes the F-16 provides, I'm finding the ease of use of the iron bombs to outweigh the extra accuracy of the laser guidance, particularly as we're attacking a large, well defended building, I did't want all the faffing around with lasers. I made a careful note of the target building's co-ordinates in order to zero-in the approriate steerpoint to make things even easier, a tactic i'd used with success on a bridge strike I'd done a few days ago (shortly before a pair of MiG-29s blew my out fo the sky)

The first hiccup occurred on the ramp- I couldn't remeber how to enter the steerpoint info. after a minute's stabbing at the ICP, and mindful of the need to get going, I decided to leave it and use the radar to pick out the right target.

after what seemed like a long taxi to hold short of the runway, I missed the braking point and stuck my nose out over the main runway. I was beginning to think this may not be my day.

Anyway, with the aircraft properly lined up and the appropriate permissions, it was time to go. Full afterburner pull on the stick, and.. man, this thing is heavy. Those big droptanks and bombs did thier best to prevent me taking flight, but finally we got off the ground. Gear Up, I turned to head to the push point.